Season 20/21 - Page 141 - Football related - Discussion of non TA football - Tartan Army Message Board Jump to content

On 3/6/2021 at 8:11 AM, Big Ramy 1314 said:

I have been so caught up in the Celtic disaster that I did not even realize how much trouble Kilmarnock are in. Was just speaking to ma best pal Billy, who is Killie daft, and he is shitting himself. With the league already won, the battle to stay up is something to keep an eye on. I hope Kilmarnock can stay up for the sake of ma pal Billy....

It's been a rapid decline since Stevie Clarke left.

1 hour ago, wheres the pies said:

Aye Killie have been in free fall since Clarke left I fear our 28 year stay in the premiership is coming to an end 

Was surprised a team struggling to score goals let Brophy go but Lafferty looks like he will make a difference. Have also been surprised with the impact John Hughes has had and my third surprise has been how well Hamilton have played every time I have seen them. 

I don't think there is much to choose between all three teams but if I were to offer a prediction I would say that Wright is  the better manager of all three and his overall squad is decent  - I think therefore Killie will at least make it to the play off spot and then stay up.

Hughes'" impact will possibly wane and he seems to be quite a one dimensional manager in that when he can't motivate by shouting then he doesn't have a lot left in his locker. I've never been impressed with Brian Rice and this is perhaps prejudiced by his demeanour and way of communication but as said, Hamilton have been decent whenever I have seen them - they may grind their way to safety at the expense of County. 

would fine both Sevco 2012 and their business partners 60 points since both sets of lovely supporters have, for different reasons, contributed superspreader events outside their respective stadiums this season.

Should make the relegation battle interesting for one thing.

Pish from United for over and hour. A total lack of ambition against a bang average Celtic team. Should have pulled forward from the first minute. Rangers deserved title winners..... your welcome.

On another note, when the fuck did Bob Malcolm get a pilots licence ?  

A total hollow victory imo, when Ryan Kent costs more than the entire st mirren squad and probably a few other SPL squads you think to yourself what’s the point surely. The gap is absolute light years again. Ok Celtic have had 1 “disaster” season in 10, am sure they’ll improve next season but f**k me there has been absolutely zero challenge, there has to be a new European league set up pronto for clubs like Rangers and Celtic. Fans are essentially celebrating their club is way richer than the rest of the league.

5 minutes ago, JECK said:

A total hollow victory imo, when Ryan Kent costs more than the entire st mirren squad and probably a few other SPL squads you think to yourself what’s the point surely. The gap is absolute light years again. Ok Celtic have had 1 “disaster” season in 10, am sure they’ll improve next season but f**k me there has been absolutely zero challenge, there has to be a new European league set up pronto for clubs like Rangers and Celtic. Fans are essentially celebrating their club is way richer than the rest of the league.

Apart from a minor blip in the 80’s, you e pretty much summed up 150 years of Scottish football. Nothing will change as the others accept 3rd place is as high until they can go. Until that mindset is gone, Scottish football will always be like this unfortunately. 

10 minutes ago, dandydunn said:

Apart from a minor blip in the 80’s, you e pretty much summed up 150 years of Scottish football. Nothing will change as the others accept 3rd place is as high until they can go. Until that mindset is gone, Scottish football will always be like this unfortunately. 

What a fukin 'Blip' it was though DD 😂

I was thinking earlier that Rangers this season have been as good as, if not better, than any Celtic side in their absence (Yes, I know 🙄)

Celtic's 'Invincible' tag was 'achieved' without Rangers in the league too - If Rangers were to go the season undefeated that absolutely trumps Celtic's effort 

Slippy and his staff / team have done a pretty impressive job all things considered.........

53 minutes ago, JECK said:

I kind of get your point however you’re pretty much describing every top league in Europe.  It’s pretty much always the teams with the greater finances winning the league however Leicester showed what’s possible and if Aberdeen had a bit more belief when Delia was at Celtic I think they were there for the taking. 

From a personal point of view I can assure you there is absolutely nothing hollow feeling about this victory given the “journey” we’ve been on over the last 10 years. :beer2:

7 hours ago, Return of Yermaw said:

Was surprised a team struggling to score goals let Brophy go but Lafferty looks like he will make a difference. Have also been surprised with the impact John Hughes has had and my third surprise has been how well Hamilton have played every time I have seen them. 

I don't think there is much to choose between all three teams but if I were to offer a prediction I would say that Wright is  the better manager of all three and his overall squad is decent  - I think therefore Killie will at least make it to the play off spot and then stay up.

Hughes'" impact will possibly wane and he seems to be quite a one dimensional manager in that when he can't motivate by shouting then he doesn't have a lot left in his locker. I've never been impressed with Brian Rice and this is perhaps prejudiced by his demeanour and way of communication but as said, Hamilton have been decent whenever I have seen them - they may grind their way to safety at the expense of County. 

Think the writing was on the wall when killie got rid of Allesio some folk to quick to compare him to Clarke was 6th in league when he got the sack then there’s the player’s they also take some responsibility the board as well to think where we are now to season 18-19 is unbelievable finishing 3rd in the league 

19 minutes ago, Fairbairn said:

I kind of get your point however you’re pretty much describing every top league in Europe.  It’s pretty much always the teams with the greater finances winning the league however Leicester showed what’s possible and if Aberdeen had a bit more belief when Delia was at Celtic I think they were there for the taking. 

From a personal point of view I can assure you there is absolutely nothing hollow feeling about this victory given the “journey” we’ve been on over the last 10 years. :beer2:

A journey to an inevitable league win. Rangers were always going to win again, it was a matter of when not if and that's why it's hollow. No doubt the narrative will about how rangers fought against all odds but everyone knows that's shite. 

As for European leagues, I don't think you can compare Scotland to other leagues. Even the Italian and French leagues are competitive this year. Scotland has seen the same boring pish for 36 seasons in a row. 

I am sure you will enjoy tonight FB so I'll say, enjoy yer night. 

1 hour ago, Redz said:

I was thinking earlier that Rangers this season have been as good as, if not better, than any Celtic side in their absence (Yes, I know 🙄)

Celtic's 'Invincible' tag was 'achieved' without Rangers in the league too - If Rangers were to go the season undefeated that absolutely trumps Celtic's effort 

Slippy and his staff / team have done a pretty impressive job all things considered.........

Oh dear. Lay aff the glue.. Enjoy your 1st ever league title, but dinnae get carried away there pal..