Croatia - TA specific - Tartan Army Message Board Jump to content

Croatia

Bobby Russell's Lovechild

32 minutes ago, mccaughey85 said:

Quite incredible how they produce such good players and perform so well as a team.

Without a shadow of a doubt the majority is down to coaching with a sprinkling of fierce Nationalistic pride

2 hours ago, Debian said:

Imagine how good yugoslavia would be these days 

Probably not as good. I'm no expert on the former Yugoslavia but as subsequent events demonstrated it seemed to be held together by Tito rather than any natural togetherness. Becoming an independent country may have been a catalyst for the sort of team spirit and resilience that we've seen in so many tournaments. 

3 hours ago, Ally Bongo said:

Without a shadow of a doubt the majority is down to coaching with a sprinkling of fierce Nationalistic pride

Apparently their goalie, Livakovic, plays in the tiny Croatian league. I'd never heard of him before this tournament. Today he was phenomenal. And they've got similarly high-quality players all over the park.
I just get this hunch that Eastern European countries (at least the more southerly ones with good weather) just are more into sport, all sports, from a very young age. Take a look a Hungary, pumping England home and away in the Nation's league. (And countries such as Croatia, Hungary and Serbia are good at other sports too: men and women's handball, waterpolo, basketball, fencing, canoeing...the list is a long one).

We need a total culture change in Scotland. Get all kids playing sport. Competitive sports in school as well as in clubs.  Provide them with good coaching in whatever sport they fancy and a place to play.  (Just my view, sorry for the rant).

22 minutes ago, Barney Rubble said:

Croatia - a country many of us couldn't have located on a map before 1992.

Speak for yourself