Boxing thread - Page 2 - Other Sports - Tartan Army Message Board Jump to content

7 minutes ago, Bzzzz said:

No, Ngannou won that hands down, lots of envelopes flying aboot. I struggle to remember a round I thought Fury won. 

Thought so by the reaction of the crowd.. Fuckin typical mate....

• Replies 69

Posted (edited)

I'd be interested to hear the thoughts of @morrie21on this latest "event" 

Both furys in my opinion are making a mockery of the sport. Tommy fury by entertaining this youtuber nonsense but last night was the final straw for me. The build up was laughable and over the top, the pundits and presenter were waxing lyrical about the event but you could tell they weren't genuine, when celebs were interviewed they were the same. Talking about how awesome it all was but you could tell it wasn't sincere. 

There's hyping a fight/sports event and then there was last night. 

I switched off just before the fight as I was almost laughing at how pathetic it was. 

I've read the reports and it now seems like fury arguably lost but the judges gave him the fight. 

If there's any justice in sport, usyk beats him and he retires. Another justice would be never staging a fight in Saudi again. Its nothing more than big celeb bash and each celeb is paid to come and say good things about saudi

Boxing in general is a farce.

Too many of these 'show bouts'.

Way too many crooked decisions by the judges as we have seen multiple times in the past.

Also the biggest bouts on pay-per-view taking it further away from the fans.

Also so many of the best possible fights we never see as boxers and promoters refuse to make them happen because of fear and money.

On top of that the multitide of world champions there are at the same weights  - another farce.

Need I go on?

45 minutes ago, Caledonian Craig said:

Boxing in general is a farce.

Too many of these 'show bouts'.

Way too many crooked decisions by the judges as we have seen multiple times in the past.

Also the biggest bouts on pay-per-view taking it further away from the fans.

Also so many of the best possible fights we never see as boxers and promoters refuse to make them happen because of fear and money.

On top of that the multitide of world champions there are at the same weights  - another farce.

Need I go on?

It is a farce. In fact so is football if you think about it but that's another debate

However last night felt like a new level of farcical. Anyone who paid for that needs to get themselves checked out because gullible doesn't cover it.

Wasnt planning on watching last night but wasnt much else on so switched over. Build up was a joke. An opening ceremony FFS. Agree with the above about the Saudis, was the 1st time for me when the sportswashing was so obvious.

Fury was very poor and struggled because he couldnt use his weight to lean on and manhandle his opponent.

As a layperson it didnt look like he won the fight however I can actually understand how he did. Even though he didnt do much of substance each round his jab alone was scoring points. His opponent had at best a few scoring shots each round purely because he wasnt a boxer. If he landed the same shots but also used some point scoring jabs then he would have nicked the rounds and won the fight.

That being said, its not a good look. Even though I can understand the scorecard going the way they did, your eyes tell you something different and the vast majority of people watching wont be boxers so most will feel that Fury lost. That alone isnt good for the sport.

It wont happen but having 1 belt per weight class would transform boxing. 

4 hours ago, vanderark14 said:

I'd be interested to hear the thoughts of @morrie21on this latest "event" 

Both furys in my opinion are making a mockery of the sport. Tommy fury by entertaining this youtuber nonsense but last night was the final straw for me. The build up was laughable and over the top, the pundits and presenter were waxing lyrical about the event but you could tell they weren't genuine, when celebs were interviewed they were the same. Talking about how awesome it all was but you could tell it wasn't sincere. 

There's hyping a fight/sports event and then there was last night. 

I switched off just before the fight as I was almost laughing at how pathetic it was. 

I've read the reports and it now seems like fury arguably lost but the judges gave him the fight. 

If there's any justice in sport, usyk beats him and he retires. Another justice would be never staging a fight in Saudi again. Its nothing more than big celeb bash and each celeb is paid to come and say good things about saudi

I had no interest in it mate. Some of my writing colleagues were working on it so I supported their articles, read their work etc but didn't get involved myself. I haven't seen the fight but it sounds like Fury was woefully under prepared and was lucky to win the split decision.

What a shambles.

One curious thing I picked up on was Fury claiming to be rusty after 11 months out the ring. 1)  it's his choice to not box for that long and 2) his opponent was having his first ever boxing match so making that statement doesn't make a lot of sense to me.

Obviously Ngannou has had success in another combat sport and is a strong athlete in phenomenal shape but it seems like he highlighted Fury's slide. The big man's skills are eroding and Usyk is favourite in my book to defeat him. Although this coming week there will probably be an excuse postponing that bout.

As for the paid atendees speaking positively about the event and Saudi - that pish is as transparent as clear water. Even Teddy Atlas was at it so he sold out to them too. Hope they enjoyed their paydays.

1 hour ago, dan cake said:

Genuine question how far away are we from seeing Fury fight a bear or one of those boxing kangaroos

If someone is willing to pay a site fee to host it, it would happen.

Joshua v Wallin

Wilder v Parker 

On the same card in Saudi on the 23rd of December. Zzzzzzzzzzz

Absolute nonsense. Boxing can do one

• 3 months later...
5 hours ago, Ally Bongo said:

Wonder if those that still think Fury would beat Joshua might want to reconsider ...

If fury takes the fight seriously he beats joshua. 

I wouldn't measure wither of them on a saudi panto show performance

On another note I struggle to watch these saudi shows. It's one massive celeb bash to massage a rich cunts ego, it has fuck all to do with the sport.  🤢 🤮 

19 minutes ago, vanderark14 said:

If fury takes the fight seriously he beats joshua. 

I wouldn't measure wither of them on a saudi panto show performance

On another note I struggle to watch these saudi shows. It's one massive celeb bash to massage a rich cunts ego, it has fuck all to do with the sport.  🤢 🤮 

I note the woman who oversaw the Newcastle takeover says she reckons a Saudi team will be in the Champions League sooner rather than later. Money talks.

4 minutes ago, Hertsscot said:

I note the woman who oversaw the Newcastle takeover says she reckons a Saudi team will be in the Champions League sooner rather than later. Money talks.

I reckon she's right. The champions league stopped being sport a long time ago. It's an entertainment show now. 

I wouldn't mind if the boxers and promoters openly said it's about the money but please spare us the shite about it being a great atmosphere and great for the sport. It's not. 

10 hours ago, Hertsscot said:

Were Newcastle not on the "Champions" League this year? 😉

• 5 weeks later...
18 hours ago, Big Ramy 1314 said:

John Fury headbutts a young fella at Tyson Fury media conference. What a fuckin gutless  prick if a human being !!!!

Aye saw that, the guy is a prick and a complete riddy to his son and the camp, the Hall of Famer (Karl Froch) was getting tore into John Fury saying he is an embarrassment to the sport (which I agree with)

He was ridiculing John Fury, putting on his gravelly voice, shouting, "I'M A FIGHTING MAN, I LOVE THIS SHIT, I'LL FIGHT ON THE COBBLED PAVEMENTS 7 DAYS A WEEK"  ETC ETC ETC ETC 🤣🤣

2 hours ago, glasgow jock said:

Aye saw that, the guy is a prick and a complete riddy to his son and the camp, the Hall of Famer (Karl Froch) was getting tore into John Fury saying he is an embarrassment to the sport (which I agree with)

He was ridiculing John Fury, putting on his gravelly voice, shouting, "I'M A FIGHTING MAN, I LOVE THIS SHIT, I'LL FIGHT ON THE COBBLED PAVEMENTS 7 DAYS A WEEK"  ETC ETC ETC ETC 🤣🤣

JF's latest rant is quite something. 

On 5/14/2024 at 2:51 PM, Big Ramy 1314 said:

John Fury headbutts a young fella at Tyson Fury media conference. What a fuckin gutless  prick if a human being !!!!

5 hours ago, glasgow jock said:

Here is the rant from John Fury

Screenshot_20240515_150920_Brave.jpg

Great win for usyk last night. I thought fury was going to walk in after the first half of the fight. Usyk found something and deservedly won IMO.

There's an argument the fight could be bee stopped in round 9 because fury wasn't protecting himself at all and his legs were jelly.

Fury showed his usual class by saying the judges gave it to usyk because his country is at war. 

Fury was battered last night and should be rightly slapping JF about after the fight, his whole behaviour this week has made it look a travelling circus, absolute joke of a man. 

• 4 months later...