The news thread - Page 134 - Anything Goes - Other topics not covered elsewhere - Tartan Army Message Board Jump to content

1 hour ago, SamP said:

And you think the words used are leading to UK getting the gas chambers built???

Nobody is saying that.

We are saying words matter.

Suella Braverman uses hostile language.

Everything the Nazis did began with hostile language.

• Replies 6.2k

Posted Images

4 hours ago, SamP said:

Why reference Nazi Germany?

Lineker was completely accurate in what he said, but some people don't understand or are shit stirrers (Conservatives, GBNEWS, Nadine Dorries, etc...)

Look at what happened to Ken Livingstone. He nonchalantly said the Nazis planned for a Jewish state in Madagascar. That is a historical fact, but people with an axe to grind against Livingstone used it against him by twisting what he said.

Livingstone and Lineker were both 100% correct, but yes, it would have been best avoided.

Lineker didn't say the Tories are Nazis because they're not. They're not really fascists either because most strands of fascism have a cult of the strong leader-and that's not happening with Sunak at the fore!

What they are, are a deeply unpleasant corrupt anti-democratic right wing party who want to quash dissent, are only interested in plundering the UK for their own benefit and demonise others in the process, aided and abetted by the mainstream media.

If Lineker had tweeted support for the Government's policy he would not have been dropped. Apparently you only get dropped for controversial tweets that the Government don't like.

6 hours ago, Ally Bongo said:

Your only point is wrong because Lineker was right - The language used by certain political parties and individuals IS eerily similar to the Nazi Party in 1930s Germany

Once you take away someone's rights you can do whatever you like with them

However you can't take someone's rights away at the flick of a switch - you have to have public support

You get that by propaganda and language so that you debase the people you want to "get rid of"

There was no plan for extermination at the beginning - it just developed over time because it became the natural outcome

But it started with an ideology and language

Who knows where the UK will be in 10-15 years - but as soon as you start the ball rolling on this sort of shit it becomes very easy to go down a dangerous road

This is perhaps the most accurate post I think I have ever seen on this message board, if there was ever an event that could be compared to 1930's germany , this is it it. It's not overstating or hyperbole, it's exactly what the National socialists did in their rise to power.

The hypocrisy on both sides of the Lineker argument would be hysterical if it didn’t mirror what is going on across the board in society as a whole.

Im seriously considering throwing my phone in a river because losing touch with reality social or otherwise is much more appealing!

Maybe I’d miss the tamb too much 🤔

7 minutes ago, dan cake said:

I watched Motd this morning for about the first time in 10 years, thought it was excellent with no commentary and just the crowd noise pumped up

I always fancied being a football commentator when I was younger. Spent about two minutes trying to do commentary on MotD this morning before my wife told me I wasn't very good :(

29 minutes ago, Hertsscot said:

I always fancied being a football commentator when I was younger. Spent about two minutes trying to do commentary on MotD this morning before my wife told me I wasn't very good :(

😄 Did you remember to give your opinion on tactics, formations, etc  I miss the old commentators who just told you who was on the ball Arthur Montford style. "McQueen... Rioch.....Dalglish.....GOAL!!!"

38 minutes ago, Hertsscot said:

I still shout over my tunes thinking I’m a superstar DJ 👍

22 minutes ago, Och Aye said:

😄 Did you remember to give your opinion on tactics, formations, etc  I miss the old commentators who just told you who was on the ball Arthur Montford style. "McQueen... Rioch.....Dalglish.....GOAL!!!"

Or David Francie, "Oh fuck he's missed it" or words to that effect. 😂

31 minutes ago, Och Aye said:

Not really but seeing my wife supports Spurs, Kane, Richarlison etc got a bit of stick!

10 minutes ago, Hertsscot said:

Not really but seeing my wife supports Spurs, Kane, Richarlison etc got a bit of stick!

That's a howler. She actually supports  Arsenal, that's why I was having a go at Spurs! I think she'd divorce me if she saw my previous post.

10 minutes ago, Hertsscot said:

That's a howler. She actually supports  Arsenal, that's why I was having a go at Spurs! I think she'd divorce me if she saw my previous post.

😂  prime example of why the time on the edit option needs to be extended. 

3 hours ago, dan cake said:

I watched Motd this morning for about the first time in 10 years, thought it was excellent with no commentary and just the crowd noise pumped up

I thought it was terrible tbh. Really sterile, lacking information and explanation. 

I do think MOTD is overly long (prefer MOTD2) but last night was like the kind of thing you used to get via the red button. 

On 3/11/2023 at 12:04 PM, Rich NATA said:

Lineker was completely accurate in what he said, but some people don't understand or are shit stirrers (Conservatives, GBNEWS, Nadine Dorries, etc...)

Look at what happened to Ken Livingstone. He nonchalantly said the Nazis planned for a Jewish state in Madagascar. That is a historical fact, but people with an axe to grind against Livingstone used it against him by twisting what he said.

Livingstone and Lineker were both 100% correct, but yes, it would have been best avoided.

Goes to show the power of the media. They turned Jeremy Corbyn, a well-meaning but leaden-footed Labour leader, into an anti-Semite; in our country they turned the GRR, a piece of legislation similar to that in operation in other countries - something they barely if ever mentioned - into some whackjob SNP vanity project.

The BBC had no issue with its employees expressing political opinions back in 2014 when it came to the independence referendum.  According to this, BBC employee Gabby Logan, along with her glaikit husband, signed a letter against Scottish independence:

https://www.theguardian.com/politics/2014/aug/07/celebrities-open-letter-scotland-independence-full-text

It's funny, too, how few days ago the headlines were all about Matt Hancock's WhatsApp messages and how they shone a light on how the government behaved during the covid pandemic. Now we're talking about something a TV sports presenter tweeted in his spare time.

It's also interesting that the controversy focuses much more on Lineker and how he's being treated by his employer than the issue to which he was referring to.

If Lineker hadn't referenced Nazi Germany and the comparison then nothing would have been spoken about this weekend.  It's not rocket science.  As I said in my original post it was this reference that done it.  As for the first poster who responded and called me a moron.  When you resort to name calling you have already lost the argument.

36 minutes ago, scotlad said:

Goes to show the power of the media. They turned Jeremy Corbyn, a well-meaning but leaden-footed Labour leader, into an anti-Semite; in our country they turned the GRR, a piece of legislation similar to that in operation in other countries - something they barely if ever mentioned - into some whackjob SNP vanity project.

The BBC had no issue with its employees expressing political opinions back in 2014 when it came to the independence referendum.  According to this, BBC employee Gabby Logan, along with her glaikit husband, signed a letter against Scottish independence:

https://www.theguardian.com/politics/2014/aug/07/celebrities-open-letter-scotland-independence-full-text

It's funny, too, how few days ago the headlines were all about Matt Hancock's WhatsApp messages and how they shone a light on how the government behaved during the covid pandemic. Now we're talking about something a TV sports presenter tweeted in his spare time.

It's also interesting that the controversy focuses much more on Lineker and how he's being treated by his employer than the issue to which he was referring to.

I have never heard of half the folk on that list of names. The fact that the rest are mainly made up of Sirs, Dames., Lords  and Baronesses and C list celebrities says it all. 
Davina McCall’s signature alone would be a stick on reason for voting Yes. Who on earth would be swayed by utter bollox like this 😂

36 minutes ago, SamP said:

If Lineker hadn't referenced Nazi Germany and the comparison then nothing would have been spoken about this weekend.  It's not rocket science.  As I said in my original post it was this reference that done it.  As for the first poster who responded and called me a moron.  When you resort to name calling you have already lost the argument.

Yeah , and nothing would be spoken about the governments shitty immigration plans either. Despite most of the focus being on Lineker at least some of it has been on the government . 

He said nothing wrong. The wording used is most definitely similar to that used by the nazis.  Yes, its an uncomfortable subject to reference but he is not wrong. 

2 minutes ago, TDYER63 said:

Yeah , and nothing would be spoken about the governments shitty immigration plans either. Despite most of the focus being on Lineker at least some of it has been on the government . 

He said nothing wrong. The wording used is most definitely similar to that used by the nazis.  Yes, its an uncomfortable subject to reference but he is not wrong. 

I respect your opinion.  What is similar?  Did Hitler want to stop illegal immigrants entering Germany?  I don't know but just searching for this similarity Tyder.  I was taught at school that Hitler ordered the wholesale murder of the Jews in Germany and Poland.  I watched the debates on this last night and this morning before going to game.  I haven't seen any reference to the UK government wanting to do that.  Simple to stop the gangmasters from making loads of money and risking families lives by taking their money and putting them to sea in a lilo.  Comparing anything in the Scottish or UK Government to Nazi Germany is simply wrong.  What do the polls say in the UK about stopping illegal immigrants btw?