Best goal live you have seen - Football related - Discussion of non TA football - Tartan Army Message Board Jump to content

Best goal live you have seen

Roofes goal was sensational and maybe the best goal ever.  Archie Gemmell?.  Best goal I witnessed live was Paul Sturrock in a Scottish Cup final (think it was a replay then Cooper rann the show and won 4-1)  but it got disallowed as a Utd player was offside and deemed to be interfering with play.  Other one I witnessed first hand was Gazza's against Dons when he scored the hat trick to win the league.  But that strike from Roofe the other day was sensational.  Plus Zidanes at Hampden.  Special players.  

1983, Love Street, Saints 2-0 down against Celtic, came back to win 4-2, last goal scored by Ian Scanlon.

Roy Aitken cleared the ball from his box, Scanlon caught it on the full volley from around 40 yards, postage stamp Bonner in goals stranded and bemused.

Incredible strike which unfortunately no TV Coverage exists, I know these things can be become urban myths ( it was only 20 yards etc ) especially as there were no cameras, but on my family’s life it was fully 40 yards and the most sensational strike of a football I’ve ever witnessed. 

Mario Kempes scored a fantastic goal for Valencia against Rangers in 1979 in a 3 1 win for Valencia. Cant see it on you tube butfrom what I remember he had his back to goal about 22 yards out.spun round  and curled it into top corner. Amazing player. But you cant beat Faddys goal in Paris. Best goal Ive seen on TV has to be Zidane in European cup final at Hampden..

10 minutes ago, Jersey Jim said:

1983, Love Street, Saints 2-0 down against Celtic, came back to win 4-2, last goal scored by Ian Scanlon.

Roy Aitken cleared the ball from his box, Scanlon caught it on the full volley from around 40 yards, postage stamp Bonner in goals stranded and bemused.

Incredible strike which unfortunately no TV Coverage exists, I know these things can be become urban myths ( it was only 20 yards etc ) especially as there were no cameras, but on my family’s life it was fully 40 yards and the most sensational strike of a football I’ve ever witnessed. 

Aye sounds like a good one Jim. Just remembered Coopers in Glasgow Cup Final playing keepy uppy against the Celtic defence and scoring.

4 minutes ago, irnbruman said:

Mario Kempes scored a fantastic goal for Valencia against Rangers in 1979 in a 3 1 win for Valencia. Cant see it on you tube butfrom what I remember he had his back to goal about 22 yards out.spun round  and curled it into top corner. Amazing player. But you cant beat Faddys goal in Paris. Best goal Ive seen on TV has to be Zidane in European cup final at Hampden..

Aye forgot about McFaddens.  I was again, just in line with him at the park when he shot. (sober tae as I had a kip in the afternoon).  My claim to fame is that I taught Faddy when he was at Motherwell.

Mcleish's goal in the 82 cup final must be up there? I thought this was about club football but Kenny's goal against Spain, fletch and faddy against Holland, Kenny Miller against England, faddy v France I couldn't pick a  favourite but I seen them all live. 

Kemar Roofes goal was the best halfway line goal I’ve ever seen. Beckham etc. didn’t pick the ball up on the edge of their own penalty area,beat 3 men and then dig the ball out 4 inches of water to hit theirs! 😂

Best goals I’ve seen in the flesh:

significance  

banger  

cult hero  

Colin O’Neil v Celtic; Scottish cup semi final 1991

I’m struggling to think of anything other than Faddy in Paris but if I’m 100% honest I’ve always thought the keeper should have done better. 

Other than that, McCoist in the League Cup Final against Hibs, purely for its Roy of the Rovers nature, is the one that comes to one. 

7 hours ago, bonzo said:

Mcleish's goal in the 82 cup final must be up there? I thought this was about club football but Kenny's goal against Spain, fletch and faddy against Holland, Kenny Miller against England, faddy v France I couldn't pick a  favourite but I seen them all live. 

Was that McLeish against Rangers?  I was in line with it nd knew it was going in as soon as it left his ffoot.  4-1 I think that day?  Th Rangers fans stayed on that day in a wwierd show of defiance even although we got humped.  Good old terracing days.  Aye Dalglish against Spain was a cracker as well.

I saw an absolute cracker yesterday at Golcar United v Lower Breck (North West Counties League)...the Golcar lad picked the ball up on the half way line on a very soggy, heavy pitch; was fouled (lino flagging like crazy), got up, outran his marker, put a cross from the corner onto the penalty spot & a diving header finished it off.

This sticks in the mind as probably the best though...this was the best footage I could find:

16 minutes ago, Huddersfield said:

I saw an absolute cracker yesterday at Golcar United v Lower Breck (North West Counties League)...the Golcar lad picked the ball up on the half way line on a very soggy, heavy pitch; was fouled (lino flagging like crazy), got up, outran his marker, put a cross from the corner onto the penalty spot & a diving header finished it off.

This sticks in the mind as probably the best though...this was the best footage I could find:

Cracker!

15 hours ago, Jersey Jim said:

Agree that was the best I’ve see too Jimmy, but this one wisnae bad either. At Parkhead. Wee Lex Richardson had put us 1-0 up after about 70 odd minutes, then as usual with about 5 minutes to go Celtic got a dodgy penalty which George McLuskey scored. Then in injury time wee Alex Beckett came up with this beauty to win it in injury time.

https://twitter.com/CairtersSMFC/status/882376259833036801?s=20

11 minutes ago, Marky said:

Agree that was the best I’ve see too Jimmy, but this one wisnae bad either. At Parkhead. Wee Lex Richardson had put us 1-0 up after about 70 odd minutes, then as usual with about 5 minutes to go Celtic got a dodgy penalty which George McLuskey scored. Then in injury time wee Alex Beckett came up with this beauty to win it in injury time.

https://twitter.com/CairtersSMFC/status/882376259833036801?s=20

Aye cracker that, we sacked the manager straight after the game as well lol.

Only St Mirren would do that after winning away to one of the OF. 

5 hours ago, Rolling hIlls said:

Was that McLeish against Rangers?  I was in line with it nd knew it was going in as soon as it left his ffoot.  4-1 I think that day?  Th Rangers fans stayed on that day in a wwierd show of defiance even although we got humped.  Good old terracing days.  Aye Dalglish against Spain was a cracker as well.

I hope you stayed on that day, it went to extra time 😁

1 minute ago, bonzo said:

I hope you stayed on that day, it went to extra time 😁

The only two things I remember were McLeishes goal and the Rangers end singing we shall not be moved when Dons lifted the Cup..  (I was quite young!).  Didnt realise it had went to extra time though.  Did it end up 4-1?

4 minutes ago, Rolling hIlls said:

The only two things I remember were McLeishes goal and the Rangers end singing we shall not be moved when Dons lifted the Cup..  (I was quite young!).  Didnt realise it had went to extra time though.  Did it end up 4-1?

It did indeed, I was quite young myself (16) jeez feeling auld 😭