Jermy Corbyn - Page 7 - Anything Goes - Other topics not covered elsewhere - Tartan Army Message Board Jump to content

If some has worked hard to get in a position where they earn over £50k good luck to them - they don't deserve to be hammered for grafting. The politics of envy.

if I were lucky enough to earn over £50k, I would gladly pay a higher percentage of NI and Tax.

• Replies 642

I'll say again: voting for Burnham - or Labour will again be unelectable in the rest of the UK.

It hurts - but as an exile... it's fuqqin' there.

I'm used to losing a as a Scotland fan - but, fae time, tae time... gie's a brek!!!

I'll say again: voting for Burnham - or Labour will again be unelectable in the rest of the UK.

It hurts - but as an exile... it's fuqqin' there.

I'm used to losing a as a Scotland fan - but, fae time, tae time... gie's a brek!!!

I'd rather lose with Corbyn than lose with feckin Burnham

If Labour could motivate the English electorate who didn't vote at all at the last election to vote Labour they'd get a Labour government, without having to bother about persuading swing voters in marginal constituencies to back Labour again. It'll never happen but it illustrates the effect of not voting.

Corbyn probably has more chance of attracting some of those potential voters to actually vote than the other candidates though.

Edited by neilser

Labour have lost millions of voters since 97 who don't vote conservative, yet as a party they seem obsessed with trying to win votes from Torries :blink:

At its core a party that stands for all outside around 30 or 40 decent people who at least have a backbone to represent the poor people in their constituencies.

I hope Corbyn wins, one because most of his policies are common sense and would better the UK and secondly because it will show that the majority of labour MPs are snakes only interested in power and respesting business before people. There would be mutiny and he'd be thrown out within months.

The current policies being enacted by the Conservatives are unbelievably harsh on the young and the poor and heaven forbid being young, poor and chronically ill. Regardless of which Labour leader would be best for independence, I'd like Corbyn to win. There is going to be a lost generation in the UK and I include Scotland in that since with Barnett consequentials due to Osbourne's cost cutting on various departments, it's only a matter of time before Holyrood ends up having to do something with tuition fees in my opinion.

Corbyn represents the last chance for the next generation of school leavers in the UK to actually have a fecking chance.

A Corbyn win might give some short-term impetus to those still thinking Labour can be a party of the traditional left. But that won't last, as the socialism it espouses can't compete with modern-day aspiration and capita;ism. Labour hasn't a hope in hell of winning the 2020 GE, regardless of who leads them.

Kendall is the best hope for an indyref2. She's a crypto-Tory and Scotland will only turn to independence when the population finally realises that Westminster is a Tory domain, regardless of what party is in government.

Income != Wealth

I'd rather he came out in favour of LVT as a redistributive policy.

The problem as I see it is that any tax based on land value has to take into account pensioners who bought their property ages ago for a fraction of today's value but have limited resources to pay a tax based on the value of the land.

Valuing the land is also problematical.

The easiest way to collect a tax is to take it at source.

And close down all tax avoidance loopholes and seriously punish those that under declare.

Labour Party will be finished in England as a serious contender for power for a very long time to come if Corbyn gets in.

That's basically Tory right wing propaganda there and what they want you to believe

Demonising Corbyn early doors

When the Tory ideology impact is eventually realised there will need to be an alternative

As someone said earlier - Corbyn's policies arent revolutionary or outrageous and are supported by a great deal of people

And the question nobody has answered is if Corbyn was going to be such a gift to the Tory party why are they and their right wing media lampooning him before he even gets the job ?

The establishment are nervous

Remember - only 30% or so voted for the Tories

And the question nobody has answered is if Corbyn was going to be such a gift to the Tory party why are they and their right wing media lampooning him before he even gets the job ?

The establishment are nervous

Remember - only 30% or so voted for the Tories

Yes but 30% of people who will always vote. Getting the other 70% to vote / vote the same way must be a tough job. We need a crisis/ war for a new government or independence

The problem as I see it is that any tax based on land value has to take into account pensioners who bought their property ages ago for a fraction of today's value but have limited resources to pay a tax based on the value of the land.

Valuing the land is also problematical.

The easiest way to collect a tax is to take it at source.

And close down all tax avoidance loopholes and seriously punish those that under declare.

I can't quite get my head around LVT. Andy Wightman produced a paper for the Scottish Greens, but it seems to suggest that LVT is based around a kind of 'banding' system, similar to Council Tax.

The SSP favour a form of local income tax (know as the Scottish Service Tax) which disregards the first £10k of income and then taxes the remainder at 5% (I think). I suspect that is based on total household income but I am not sure if it also disregards pensions and state benefits.

That's basically Tory right wing propaganda there and what they want you to believe

Demonising Corbyn early doors

When the Tory ideology impact is eventually realised there will need to be an alternative

As someone said earlier - Corbyn's policies arent revolutionary or outrageous and are supported by a great deal of people.

That was me. :D

Corbyn is more of a Michael Foot than a Tony Benn, albeit without the former's intellect or the latter's charisma. That's not to say that he is a dumpling or that he lacks charisma - he absolutely is not and does not - but to me he doesn't seem like a natural leader of men.

However, I think he could be a good 'caretaker' leader of the Labour party, capable of shifting it back to its roots. That there is a genuine, viable alternative to the Tories is vital for democracy in the UK.

At the last GE voters had a choice between Cameron and Milliband as PM. Both were promising austerity; the electorate opted for the more competent man to deliver that austerity. I don't blame them - if I was told I needed an amputation I'd want the most competent surgeon available to perform the operation. However, if I was offered the alternative of a doctor who promised a cure, then I'd want to listen to him first.

The media panic continues unabated, check out paragraph 4!!! :yikes3:

CKyiAvdXAAQG-xU.jpg

That sounds horrific but when you consider the fate of poor auld Robin Cook (allegedly), it is not all that far fetched.

Build more houses, improve wages, re distribute wealth, maintain the welfare state and NHS, don't waste money on nuclear weapons and a foreign policy based on non violence.

In 2015 this isn't mainstream for the fu!cking Labour Party.

Down, radical man, down! :yikes3: