It’s Time For a Grown Up Conversation - Page 3 - TA specific - Tartan Army Message Board Jump to content

It’s Time For a Grown Up Conversation

DoonTheSlope

52 minutes ago, Toepoke said:

Been going to Hampden since the 70s and don't remember a Scotland game ever being PATG.

The Home Internationals against Wales and NI were PATG back in the 70s. It was never anywhere near a full house for those games.

• Replies 84

18 minutes ago, kwhitelaw said:

Bugger that lol! Did that at the Greenock Safeway for the Holland play off in 2003 and missed out.  The staff at the time clearly sold the few tickets they had to themselves and/or to their mates.

Remember some poor sod got sent out at 9am after us being queued there for hours to tell us "sorry but there were never any tickets for sale here".  Aye right! 🤣🤣

The Safeway tickets were always open to such abuse, it really was quite shocking. Could turn up at Safeway at opening time on the day they went on sale, even be very first in the queue and they were all gone already. I have a foggy memory of it but seem to remember that happening at least 2 or 3 times.

To be frank, I assume no one is seriously advocating for these old methods of PATG and/or Safeway (or other sales via sponsors) to be brought back.

I had high hopes for this thread based on the title but it has been a total load of shite.

2 hours ago, N4Footsoldier said:

I had high hopes for this thread based on the title but it has been a total load of shite.

I know someone who worked in Safeway and if folk are moaning about harvesting now then the last thing they want reintroduced is a supermarket selling tickets ….

And no, I didn’t know the person then ! 

3 hours ago, Orraloon said:

The Home Internationals against Wales and NI were PATG back in the 70s. It was never anywhere near a full house for those games.

Fair doos, my old man used to take me to the stand back then 😀

18 minutes ago, Toepoke said:

Fair doos, my old man used to take me to the stand back then 😀

I'm guessing here, but I think that the PATG probably ended in the late 70s early 80s. The capacity got cut to 85,000 and I'm thinking that the 1980 Cup Final might have been the catalyst to finally make all Hampden games all ticket. Could be wrong though. 

10 hours ago, kwhitelaw said:

Bugger that lol! Did that at the Greenock Safeway for the Holland play off in 2003 and missed out.  The staff at the time clearly sold the few tickets they had to themselves and/or to their mates.

Remember some poor sod got sent out at 9am after us being queued there for hours to tell us "sorry but there were never any tickets for sale here".  Aye right! 🤣🤣

Same but Safeway in Paisley and then Anniesland. Had been to every game for about 4 years before that, was only 14 and absolutely gutted. That's when we joined the supporters club

13 hours ago, Kirk said:

Same but Safeway in Paisley and then Anniesland. Had been to every game for about 4 years before that, was only 14 and absolutely gutted. That's when we joined the supporters club

Yeah that's why me and my Dad joined up and all.  I'd been to every home game for those qualifiers and missed out on the playoff.  One of my mates, who'd not been to a single qualifier that campaign, went to straight to Anniesland Safeway after his night out at 3am to queue and got a ticket.  Raging is an understatement.  Fast forward a few years and I had to listen to the same mate moan about how hard it was to get a ticket due to the size of the SSC 😂

Since it looks like there is going to be a robust system in place to deter harvesting at home games it’s high time there was a crackdown on harvesting at away games

Everyone should be made to meet at a central location a few hours before the game and get bussed to the ground and you only get your match brief or Bluetooth ticket app activated on the bus with valid ID

Id gladly pay a £10-£15 premium per away ticket for transport to and from the stadium at away games

This way you’re getting something for your buck. You get getting transported to and from the match and is a god send considering some of the stadiums in past have been in some hell forsaken places to get to. More importantly it’s maintaining the integrity of the supporters club

2 hours ago, DoonTheSlope said:

Since it looks like there is going to be a robust system in place to deter harvesting at home games it’s high time there was a crackdown on harvesting at away games

Everyone should be made to meet at a central location a few hours before the game and get bussed to the ground and you only get your match brief or Bluetooth ticket app activated on the bus with valid ID

Id gladly pay a £10-£15 premium per away ticket for transport to and from the stadium at away games

This way you’re getting something for your buck. You get getting transported to and from the match and is a god send considering some of the stadiums in past have been in some hell forsaken places to get to. More importantly it’s maintaining the integrity of the supporters club

😆😆,  you are great value DTS . 

What about folk that can’t afford the premium £10 -£15 ?  

3 hours ago, DoonTheSlope said:

Need a lot of buses!

55 minutes ago, TDYER63 said:

😆😆,  you are great value DTS . 

What about folk that can’t afford the premium £10 -£15 ?  

To paraphrase our Conservative MP earlier in the thread

UEFA give everyone plenty of notice when games are. Months and often a year in advance. If £10-£15 is a struggle then they can put it on the credit card. What’s £10-£15? Entry and a pint or two at Teds gig, a TACA T-shirt that’ll be a duster within a fortnight, a small beer/prosecco and Pringles on the flight there, a night of refreshments out of the hotel mini bar or the fare of a Davy Bus. Whatever it is if people want to travel away following Scotland then it’s not an insurmountable task for people to have their finances in order to do so. If they are financially solvent enough to afford flights, digs, spending money and time off work then they can afford £10-£15

39 minutes ago, DoonTheSlope said:

To paraphrase our Conservative MP earlier in the thread

UEFA give everyone plenty of notice when games are. Months and often a year in advance. If £10-£15 is a struggle then they can put it on the credit card. What’s £10-£15? Entry and a pint or two at Teds gig, a TACA T-shirt that’ll be a duster within a fortnight, a small beer/prosecco and Pringles on the flight there, a night of refreshments out of the hotel mini bar or the fare of a Davy Bus. Whatever it is if people want to travel away following Scotland then it’s not an insurmountable task for people to have their finances in order to do so. If they are financially solvent enough to afford flights, digs, spending money and time off work then they can afford £10-£15

But you are our socialist representative. You cant be having it both ways  😉

And what about folk that get travel sick on buses? They will be forced into buying one of this wee copper bracelets in order to get to the match . Or a packet of ginger biscuits. McVities will be extortionate abroad. More money . 

But you are our socialist representative. You cant be having it both ways  😉

And what about folk that get travel sick on buses? They will be forced into buying one of this wee copper bracelets in order to get to the match . Or a packet of ginger biscuits. McVities will be extortionate abroad. More money . 

That’s money doonthepan 😜

12 hours ago, kwhitelaw said:

Yeah that's why me and my Dad joined up and all.  I'd been to every home game for those qualifiers and missed out on the playoff.  One of my mates, who'd not been to a single qualifier that campaign, went to straight to Anniesland Safeway after his night out at 3am to queue and got a ticket.  Raging is an understatement.  Fast forward a few years and I had to listen to the same mate moan about how hard it was to get a ticket due to the size of the SSC 😂

Haha that's brutal man, I just remember being so disappointed 😞

At least you've got the upper hand on him now

22 hours ago, euan2020 said:

2 points away 0.5 home - lot more of a struggle going to an away match and plenty of folk home matches are a shuffle along the road from their house 

...and screw those that don't live nearby? Nice one Maggie Thatcher! 👌

18 minutes ago, Miike said:

...and screw those that don't live nearby? Nice one Maggie Thatcher! 👌

what  you speaking about ?  you mean home matches and folk that stay outside glasgow ? 

still a lot closer to get 1 point, than travelling to likes of Bosnia/Belarus/Moldova/Latvia/Lithuania/Lithuania for 2 points

It was after all started as the Scotland Travel Club (STC) 

Feel like i have been savaged by a dead sheep, Geoffrey Howe

On 3/1/2024 at 2:42 PM, DoonTheSlope said:

Thankfully like all the other suggestions you make on this thread, this won't happen either.

I may be a Tory MP according to your logic but the input from yourself is more akin to a bipolar George Galloway

10 hours ago, N4Footsoldier said:

Thankfully like all the other suggestions you make on this thread, this won't happen either.

I may be a Tory MP according to your logic but the input from yourself is more akin to a bipolar George Galloway

I’m guessing that sounded like a humorous quip in your head but it wasn’t. It was crass and uncalled for

Mental health is no laughing matter and it’s certainly not a topic to try and gain any oneupmanship in a discussion 

Its ok not to be ok

On 2/27/2024 at 3:12 PM, DoonTheSlope said:

There’s some strong evidence of the Tartan Army rich/poor divide on the new ticketing system thread. One stand out comment being “if you desperately want a point then buy a ticket” but not everyone is in a financial position to spend three figures on tickets they aren’t likely to use just to climb the point ladder. Some are also mindful that the harvesting of points has a detrimental effect on good honest fellow patrons on the lower end of the scale

People buying ticket packages which often go unused or given/sold to someone else while the SSC member gains a point which goes a long way to future away games and finals sales priority

I’m sure most of us on the board are of a socialist political mindset and want to see a fairer society for all at all walks of life, even at the fitbaw

Perhaps it’s maybe time to have a period of levelling up. Members on a higher number of points ie elite perhaps only gain 1 point for away games while those on a lower number ie riff raff continue to gain 2. Similarly with home games the elite gain zero whereas the riff raff still gain 1

Another option might be to go all out socialist and half elite members points. Maybe even have a clean slate and all members start at zero. Tax the rich if you will. A fairer opportunity for all

This would be a great deterrent to those who are harvesting points at home games which for the last 6 years has gone unpoliced. Thankfully it looks like all away games are now 100% pick up so this new procedure of the app allocating points per attendance for home games is a welcome addition 

Please be mindful of the threads title. A grown up conversation.

Discuss

Greater degree of pick up always seems like a great idea but ultimately requires personnel and would add extra cost. There will always be harvesting etc but the current system is as good as it gets in my opinion.

We’ve all got a story about missing out on certain games and whether we like it or not the answer is to pick a random away game and start building the points up.

Levelling up is an awful idea.

8 hours ago, DoonTheSlope said:

I’m guessing that sounded like a humorous quip in your head but it wasn’t. It was crass and uncalled for

Mental health is no laughing matter and it’s certainly not a topic to try and gain any oneupmanship in a discussion 

Its ok not to be ok

Away and don't talk more pish.

One minute you're the socialist representative of the page then you're talking about happily paying £15 excess to avoid harvesting, hence the George Galloway reference, nothing to do with mental health other than a reference to bipolar.

Trying to frame this as a grown up conversation and hitting out with relatively niche Conservative MP gags when somebody calls out yer shite. Bed time

On 3/1/2024 at 2:42 PM, DoonTheSlope said:

You are at it, absolutely no chance you are serious. 

If you are, you have my sympathies.