Coronavirus - Page 363 - Anything Goes - Other topics not covered elsewhere - Tartan Army Message Board Jump to content

Coronavirus

7 hours ago, DAVIDB46 said:

Oh sturgeon is absolutely itching to get things closed again.

an opportunity to get her state sponsored party political brodcast daily back on screen she can’t wait 

anyone who thinks otherwise is deluded 

I don’t think people are going to take it this time , although we do what we are told in Scotland with little pushback 

🤣🤣🤣🤣

This post can't be serious.

Just don't watch it if she does a daily briefing. I hardly watched it. Just a few times for a minute to see what the numbers were at various points.

I imagine hospitality get's it bad is a function of it's risk profile as opposed to any prejudice Sturgeon has towards it.

I'd ask for whatever evidence but we tried that already and it didn't work.

10 hours ago, hampden_loon2878 said:

As a Nationalist I certainly dont want her anywhere near the screen everyday 

Im not sure that I was in Scotland when there were daily statements, so I may not be correct here..

Its not on every station, with mandatory forced viewing, Id guess its incredibly easy not to watch it, in fact, Id say that you had to go out of your way to watch it. 

10 hours ago, slasher said:

What do you want? The whole world is wrestling with this. Countries like Sweden & Brazil who've tried something different have had a fuckin nightmare. You just seem to criticise without offering an alternative 🙅‍♂️

But doing this constantly has been a failure though and if something doesn’t work you don’t go back doing the same thing time and time again.

You can’t just keep shutting society for a few months a year 

Just now, DAVIDB46 said:

But doing this constantly has been a failure though and if something doesn’t work you don’t go back doing the same thing time and time again.

You can’t just keep shutting society for a few months a year 

I tend to agree, where does it stop? Yes protect the vulnerable but give folk the choice. I bumped into a lad i used to play football with a few days back, hes worked his way up in the police force, he was saying by far the most call outs is now for suicide and predominantly middle aged males, pretty sobering   

There were less suicides in Scotland in 2020 than 2019.

805 versus 833.

Also the police deal with tens of thousands of call outs for dishonesty and 10's of thousands of peace issues a year according to their statistcs, so if suicide was now in the 10's of thousands it would have appeared in the data.

Which it hasn't.

Anecdotes aren't a good way to parse reality.

13 minutes ago, phart said:

There were less suicides in Scotland in 2020 than 2019.

805 versus 833.

Also the police deal with tens of thousands of call outs for dishonesty and 10's of thousands of peace issues a year according to their statistcs, so if suicide was now in the 10's of thousands it would have appeared in the data.

Which it hasn't.

Anecdotes aren't a good way to parse reality.

Just quoting what he said, i have no reason to doubt him

50 minutes ago, hampden_loon2878 said:

I tend to agree, where does it stop? Yes protect the vulnerable but give folk the choice. I bumped into a lad i used to play football with a few days back, hes worked his way up in the police force, he was saying by far the most call outs is now for suicide and predominantly middle aged males, pretty sobering   

There is a whole age group of middle age and older people who are not getting the medical attention for conditions physical and mental that can effect into middle and old age and it’s hugely concerning.

once we get to two years with the only covid matters philosophy it’s frightening 

The overwhelm the NHS line also suggests they were never overwhelmed before COVID when clearly they were .

The responsibility of the NHS line seems to be the hands of the public not the government with this statement .

Edited by DAVIDB46

Going by this the moment she gets some cash things will be closed even if they are not completely closed in England .

https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/scottish-news/sturgeon-told-draw-up-financial-25735103

I don’t work in hospitality but I feel for them as they seem an easy and obvious target to hit every time even if there is little data to support it.

2 hours ago, kumnio said:

Im not sure that I was in Scotland when there were daily statements, so I may not be correct here..

Its not on every station, with mandatory forced viewing, Id guess its incredibly easy not to watch it, in fact, Id say that you had to go out of your way to watch it. 

I can say , hand on heart,  I have not seen one broadcast since Covid started. Its extremely easy to avoid,  I dont even go out of my way to avoid them. 

Herald saying the Scottish Parliament is being recalled

https://www.heraldscotland.com/politics/19794758.covid-scotland-sturgeon-set-recall-msps-discuss-restrictions-new-year/

But from the BBC

However, the first minister said she had no plans to recall Holyrood to discuss further measures.

She said the situation was "unpredictable" and that parliament "will sit as necessary", following a report in The Herald on Sunday.

She tweeted: "No idea what basis of this headline is, and it's not helpful to add to anxiety people already feel. It's a week before @ScotParl is even in recess."

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-59717594

Newspapers whipping up a storm. Who would have thought it. 
I wouldn’t be the least bit surprised to see more restrictions but folk just jump the gun constantly without a shred of evidence . 

The hospitality sector has,  without a shadow of a doubt, been impacted to a far higher degree than any other sector. There really should be extra help for them. I dont think anyone would begrudge  this.
At the other end of the spectrum however there are companies making a fookin fortune from the pandemic.  

44 minutes ago, TDYER63 said:

Herald saying the Scottish Parliament is being recalled

https://www.heraldscotland.com/politics/19794758.covid-scotland-sturgeon-set-recall-msps-discuss-restrictions-new-year/

But from the BBC

However, the first minister said she had no plans to recall Holyrood to discuss further measures.

She said the situation was "unpredictable" and that parliament "will sit as necessary", following a report in The Herald on Sunday.

She tweeted: "No idea what basis of this headline is, and it's not helpful to add to anxiety people already feel. It's a week before @ScotParl is even in recess."

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-59717594

Newspapers whipping up a storm. Who would have thought it. 
I wouldn’t be the least bit surprised to see more restrictions but folk just jump the gun constantly without a shred of evidence . 

The hospitality sector has,  without a shadow of a doubt, been impacted to a far higher degree than any other sector. There really should be extra help for them. I dont think anyone would begrudge  this.
At the other end of the spectrum however there are companies making a fookin fortune from the pandemic.  

There's reports down here of alot of cancellations at restaurants. 

I can only see one outcome, a lockdown down of some sort either just before or just after Christmas. Either way I reckon my trip to Scotland is fucked

2 hours ago, DAVIDB46 said:

Going by this the moment she gets some cash things will be closed even if they are not completely closed in England .

https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/scottish-news/sturgeon-told-draw-up-financial-25735103

I don’t work in hospitality but I feel for them as they seem an easy and obvious target to hit every time even if there is little data to support it.

So she's potentially looking to stop people gathering in large numbers, the hospitality industry is an easy target because people tend to gather in large numbers at this time of year in pubs and clubs. She's looking for a financial package to help that industry. 

Sounds like the right thing to do to me 

So she's potentially looking to stop people gathering in large numbers, the hospitality industry is an easy target because people tend to gather in large numbers at this time of year in pubs and clubs. She's looking for a financial package to help that industry. 

Sounds like the right thing to do to me 

Aye, target an industry where there is little evidence the spread comes from the likes of pubs. 

We were told vaccines and boosters were our only way of this. 2.5m have had their booster and rising rapidly and yet we here scientists saying this isn't enough. And against a variant which South African doctors have repeatedly said is a less severe version. 

Still, the celebrity dentist etc know best

7 minutes ago, King Of Paisley said:

Aye, target an industry where there is little evidence the spread comes from the likes of pubs. 

We were told vaccines and boosters were our only way of this. 2.5m have had their booster and rising rapidly and yet we here scientists saying this isn't enough. And against a variant which South African doctors have repeatedly said is a less severe version. 

Still, the celebrity dentist etc know best

I guess you know better?

you better get on the phone to sturgeon since she's gagging to lock you down and the dentist, you better get him telt. it would be better than greetin like a bairn on here at least.

I guess you know better?

you better get on the phone to sturgeon since she's gagging to lock you down and the dentist, you better get him telt. it would be better than greetin like a bairn on here at least.

Who is saying I know better. Or greeting like a bairn. 

Fact is all of this is way over the top. So are we just supposed to disappear down a rabbit hole every time a new variant appears? As it happens I backed Sturgeon and Leitch four square for the most part of all of this pandemic. As mentioned previously, Im quadruple jagged and abided by all the rules last year. But they can go and ram this circuit breaker. And you conveniently ignore my comments about what South African experts have been saying. But hey ho... 

Just now, King Of Paisley said:

Who is saying I know better. Or greeting like a bairn. 

Fact is all of this is way over the top. So are we just supposed to disappear down a rabbit hole every time a new variant appears? As it happens I backed Sturgeon and Leitch four square for the most part of all of this pandemic. As mentioned previously, Im quadruple jagged and abided by all the rules last year. But they can go and ram this circuit breaker. And you conveniently ignore my comments about what South African experts have been saying. But hey ho... 

I haven't ignored anything, I'm not offering an opinion on the severity of this strain because I'm not am expert or even a novice when it comes to diseases and I don't what source you get your info from

You're definitely greetin like a bairn, just yesterday you spewed some pish about sturgeon gagging to lock down Scotland. When you spout irrational garbage like that, don't expect to be taken seriously 

Thinking anyone is desperate for a lockdown is totally ludicrous. Nicola Sturgeon got a lot of praise for the way she handled the pandemic for the most part . So, as well as unnecessarily killing the economy , why on earth would she continue  to risk that goodwill by pushing the boundaries? Question the science by all means if you feel you have the knowledge or information to challenge it , or her decision making , but to say she is desperate to lock the country down  is just not true.
Its amazing how everyone has become viral experts over the past 24 months, the scientists must be shitting themselves from the competition . Is there no end to our newly acquired talents . One month Vidal Sassoon , next month Albert Einstein. 

There's reports down here of alot of cancellations at restaurants. 

I can only see one outcome, a lockdown down of some sort either just before or just after Christmas. Either way I reckon my trip to Scotland is fucked

Some sort of lockdown is inevitable. There have been loads of cancellations here too. My emails are full of messages from restaurants saying ‘ last minute availability’. Its an absolute shit situation. Had our Christmas night out a week past on Friday in a really popular restaurant in Glasgow and it was very quiet. 

The public are not going to put up with this for much longer. There will need to be evidence of serious bed shortages for people to adhere to any more lock downs. I am beginning to think people have forgot how to socialise which in itself is a concern. 

4 minutes ago, TDYER63 said:

Some sort of lockdown is inevitable. There have been loads of cancellations here too. My emails are full of messages from restaurants saying ‘ last minute availability’. Its an absolute shit situation. Had our Christmas night out a week past on Friday in a really popular restaurant in Glasgow and it was very quiet. 

The public are not going to put up with this for much longer. There will need to be evidence of serious bed shortages for people to adhere to any more lock downs. I am beginning to think people have forgot how to socialise which in itself is a concern. 

We had our night out last Friday too. I was surprised at the lack of people in town, it was still busy but not the usual huge crowds you expect at Christmas. 

Last year didn't bother me but if I'm honest I'll be gutted if we have to lockdown over all or part of the festive period. We made a lot of plans over Christmas and New year with people we've not seen alot lately. 

I'm sure I'll get over it

7 hours ago, hampden_loon2878 said:

Made up nonsense.

19 hours ago, King Of Paisley said:

Is it? At her briefing last Friday she more or less hinted that if she had the funds she would shut down hospitality. 

Im an SNP man to my bootstraps and always will be but in my eyes Sturgeon always sees hospitality as the sector to give a kicking when this pandemic takes a turn for the worst. 

Agreed. Usually that or football. 

Unless she can latch onto football when Scotland win.