General Election 2019 - Page 60 - Anything Goes - Other topics not covered elsewhere - Tartan Army Message Board Jump to content

General Election 2019

14 minutes ago, Orraloon said:

Do you think Boris will go after a different deal (or even No Deal) now that he has got a majority, or just stick with what he has already agreed with the EU?

It's one crumb of comfort I'm clinging to, that BawJaws now has a large enough majority to ignore the ERG hard line Brexiteers and we might end up with a softer exit from the EU.

11 minutes ago, thplinth said:

I think we are now getting some form of hard BREXIT. 

If it was a hung parliament we would have got a new referendum. 

I think he will go with the deal that has already been agreed. Unless you are talking about the next stage of negotiations (the trade deal). We will never know what the trade deal would have looked like if Boris had had to go into negotiations without an overall majority.

6 minutes ago, Toepoke said:

It's one crumb of comfort I'm clinging to, that BawJaws now has a large enough majority to ignore the ERG hard line Brexiteers and we might end up with a softer exit from the EU.

I reckon the opposite - total narcissist and will play to the galleries sticking it to Johnny Foreigner.  

7 minutes ago, Toepoke said:

He isn't going to do that. The Tory parliamentary party is now full of them.

14 minutes ago, Orraloon said:

Boris was getting his election no matter what the SNP did. The SNP didn't vote for this election. 

Yeah so you claim. But my memory is that he had tried and failed to get it and the SNP handed it to him on a plate and let him out of his trap. Either way why help the cunt and for this outcome.

And we will see what deal he does.

3 minutes ago, thplinth said:

Yeah so you claim. But my memory is that he had tried and failed to get it and the SNP handed it to him on a plate and let him out off his trap. Either way why help the cunt and for this outcome.

No the election was voted for by a massive amount. The Tories voted for it as did Labour and Lib Dems. It was passed 438 votes to 20.

Edited by Caledonian Craig

49 minutes ago, thplinth said:

From Wings. Is he not right here? Plus the deal was staying in the EU in all but name... now we will get a proper hard BREXIT. And all for what? these new MPs which are effectively useless.

I think he's wide of the mark.

He's again done the thing Aaid pointed out, which is selecting only certain bits of evidence to try to make out that the SNP never made it clear that a vote for the SNP meant a vote for indyref2. Every voter that was even remotely engaged knew that's what they stood for.

It's bizarre that he characterises the SNP as failing (when they had a brilliant night electorally) because they 'failed to stop Brexit'. The fact is the SNP's messaging worked well.

If the Tories need Scotland to finance a full blown Brexit and the Labour party need Scotland to finance a UK wide "socialism" why the fuck would any of them agree to an Independence referendum that they are likely to lose ?

The first one was only granted because Cameron gambled on not losing and just won

Wings is talking pish in this instance

1 minute ago, thplinth said:

Yeah so you claim. But my memory is that he had tried and failed to get it and the SNP handed it to him on a plate and let him out of his trap. Either way why help the cunt and for this outcome.

No need to rely on memory. It's all recorded in the voting records. The SNP abstained (one of them voted against) on Boris's election Bill. Even if they had all voted against it wouldn't have made any difference. It still passed by over 400 votes.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-politics-50227455

23 minutes ago, Orraloon said:

No need to rely on memory. It's all recorded in the voting records. The SNP abstained (one of them voted against) on Boris's election Bill. Even if they had all voted against it wouldn't have made any difference. It still passed by over 400 votes.

He needed two thirds of MP to vote for it.

That amounts to .6666*648=432 votes

He got 437.

Passed by 400 votes... yeah sure.

29 minutes ago, thplinth said:

He needed two thirds of MP to vote for it.

That amounts to .6666*648=432 votes

He got 437.

Passed by 400 votes... yeah sure.

No he didn't. That was the previous vote which was under the Fixed Term Parliament Act. He managed to bypass that with another vote which only needed a majority. 

I am quoting the numbers in the BBC article you posted to me! 

We are not going to agree on this. The SNP (and more so Labour to be fair) allowed him out the box IMHO. Three times was it he was knocked back on a new GE. Then suddenly it all went through. It was a mistake, especially on Labour's part. He was withering on the vine... now we have this, ascendant, empowered to utterly go tory radge. 

Honestly do you think we are better off now we have had this GE than before when the tories were reaping the fruits of their fuck ups. BJ must be wondering how he pulled it off.

I think he will go with the deal that has already been agreed. Unless you are talking about the next stage of negotiations (the trade deal). We will never know what the trade deal would have looked like if Boris had had to go into negotiations without an overall majority.

Got it in one, no change to the withdrawal agreement and since there's no detail on what the future relationship will look like it's impossible to say if it's harder or softer.    

He might make concessions to the EU that the ERG would be unhappy with in order to resolve difficulties in Ireland, then again he might not. All depends on what his ultimate end game is and that's not clear. 

I have said it before if Wings thinks he could do better - there is nothing stopping him doing a Scottish Farage and forming his own party.

Hopefully the results from last night and in particular that SNP supporters don't seem to be as outraged at the parties policies on things like GRA reform than he seems to think is the case will put paid to all this StuKIP nonsense.    

The rest of that Wings article is worth a read. One thing he said that stopped me in my tracks was that the tories did not just win this election (in this election) but also the next one (as good as). Labour are now in total disarray. As bad as the 80's. The chances of them mounting a serious challenge 10 years from now let alone 5 years form now are slim.

This really could be a 1979 again. We could be facing a decade of harsh tory power and politically left out in the cold after we misplayed our hand. In the meantime they rape and pillage the economy as usual.

1 hour ago, thplinth said:

I am quoting the numbers in the BBC article you posted to me! 

We are not going to agree on this. The SNP (and more so Labour to be fair) allowed him out the box IMHO. Three times was it he was knocked back on a new GE. Then suddenly it all went through. It was a mistake, especially on Labour's part. He was withering on the vine... now we have this, ascendant, empowered to utterly go tory radge. 

Honestly do you think we are better off now we have had this GE than before when the tories were reaping the fruits of their fuck ups. BJ must be wondering how he pulled it off.

Aye OK I see what you mean. The article said the Gov got over two thirds of the vote. But he didn't need two thirds. He only needed a majority. Honestly, I'm not making this stuff up.

1 hour ago, aaid said:

Hopefully the results from last night and in particular that SNP supporters don't seem to be as outraged at the parties policies on things like GRA reform than he seems to think is the case will put paid to all this StuKIP nonsense.    

Swinson stuck her head above the parapet on GRA and lost her seat whilst getting pelters for trying unsuccessfully to define a woman. I'd more lean toward SNP barely mentioning it as more hinting they know it's a hobby sandwich still to be tackled.

Just now, Grim Jim said:

What did he say?

Mr Gove, who received 34,358 votes  in his constituency of Surrey Heath yesterday, said in a direct message to Britain's Jewish population: "I also want to say something to a very special group of people, our Jewish friends and neighbours.

"You have had to live in fear for months now concerns we will have a prime minister who trafficked in anti-Jewish rhetoric and embraced anti-Jewish terrorists. You should never have to live in fear again."