Transfers, Rumours and Delusional Pish 2016/17/18 - Page 18 - Football related - Discussion of non TA football - Tartan Army Message Board Jump to content

Transfers, Rumours and Delusional Pish 2016/17/18

1 hour ago, Rossy said:

A weird one that, until you realise that Aberdeen specialise in signing central defenders who are complete pussies, prone to lapses of concentration, and who can't defend cross balls.

Hanlon fits the bill perfectly.

Not sure what he's been playing for Hibs but he played for us as a left back. 

4 hours ago, stocky said:

http://www.heraldscotland.com/sport/14526173.Celtic_leading_the_race_to_sign_Sunderland_and_Scotland_striker_Steven_Fletcher

Would it be better if he stayed in France, or got a Crack at C.L. With Celtic...

A good signing for Celtic if it comes thru..

Would cost a fair few quid, has chocolate knees and doesn't score very many goals. Utter waste of cash for Celtic as they're much cheaper options out there.

1 hour ago, RenfrewBlue said:

Would cost a fair few quid, has chocolate knees and doesn't score very many goals. Utter waste of cash for Celtic as they're much cheaper options out there.

I'm sure he is out of contract this summer. Wages would be relatively high but I think it would be a cracking deal for them. I know the English transfer market is mental but a 12 million pound player a few years ago for nowt and for me he is still a quality player. Our best forward by a mile, in my opinion. 

12 hours ago, Rossy said:

A weird one that, until you realise that Aberdeen specialise in signing central defenders who are complete pussies, prone to lapses of concentration, and who can't defend cross balls.

Hanlon fits the bill perfectly.

Left sided centre half who specialises in getting beat to Headers.  

Is comfortable on the ball though and put some decent performances in midfield when we were short of resources.

no matter what, now a Hibee immortal.

49 minutes ago, Squirrelhumper said:

Just like there are much cheaper options than Joey Barton.....

There are always cheaper options, but that doesnt make them better.  Barton was a great deal.

7 minutes ago, BlueGaz said:

There are always cheaper options, but that doesnt make them better.  Barton was a great deal.

Barton is a good Deal for Rangers, (his baggage is a wee bit questionable tho, but we will see)

Steven Fletcher will be good deal for Celtic.. he does more than score goals (well he would need to as he doesnt score many)

17 minutes ago, stocky said:

Barton is a good Deal for Rangers, (his baggage is a wee bit questionable tho, but we will see)

He will always be a risk. Fingers crossed.

2 minutes ago, Squirrelhumper said:

We'll see how good a deal it is after he's been here a few months and had a couple of nights out in Glasgow, not to mention a couple of old firm matches.

Did you go to college for your Diploma in Stating the Obvious?  Or do it online?

Brendan Rodgers is a big appointment and Joey Barton is a controversial character and as much as I don't like the Old Firm it's giving Scottish football some much needed attention and by God it certainly needs some oomph. 

4 hours ago, Och Aye said:

Brendan Rodgers is a big appointment and Joey Barton is a controversial character and as much as I don't like the Old Firm it's giving Scottish football some much needed attention and by God it certainly needs some oomph. 

It gives the Old Firm attention.

Just like the good old days :unsure:

1 hour ago, Rossy said:

It gives the Old Firm attention.

Just like the good old days :unsure:

Barton aside Warburtons signings have been relatively unknown players from England's lower divisions. Forrester is an excellent signing and the three/four coming on pre contracts are very low key. Barton could be an excellent buy.

39 minutes ago, AberdeenAngus said:

McLean from a team who got relegated. 

Think new players will come from a range of clubs. 

Aye, but McLean was an obvious stand-out. Has Slater stood out for Killie ? FFS, big Josh is their best player...:lol:

Hanlon was 50% responsible for Hibs being relegated, and he's helped them stay down. Dinnae touch him with a bargepole...

47 minutes ago, Rossy said:

P&J linking the Dons with Craig Slater.

Killie and Hibs players ? Hardly the players to take us to the next level, unless the next level is relegation.

What do you consider your 'next level' ?

1 minute ago, Rossy said:

Aye, but McLean was an obvious stand-out. Has Slater stood out for Killie ? FFS, big Josh is their best player...:lol:

Hanlon was 50% responsible for Hibs being relegated, and he's helped them stay down. Dinnae touch him with a bargepole...

Can't see the attraction of Hanlon either.

Slater maybe - still young and has been rated by McInnes for a while.

Have heard so many names mentioned though it's hard to work out which could possibly be genuine.

9 minutes ago, macy37 said:

What do you consider your 'next level' ?

Could be measured a few ways but realistically:

1. Making the group stage of the Europa League in consecutive seasons

2. Being in a position to seriously push for the top spot and maintain that past March 

3. Make a much better fist of the cup competitions

Feeling is we've run out of steam in April the last 3 seasons because of the small squad - a slighter bigger squad allied with every team starting early due to Europe or the new league cup set might help us be competitive until the season finishes.

12 minutes ago, GRBear said:

Rangers apparently looking at fernado adi of Portland Timbers 

'Can you hear the huns Fanendo' ??

:guitar:

Edit : It was better as Fernando. 

Edited by Rossy

53 minutes ago, AberdeenAngus said:

Could be measured a few ways but realistically:

1. Making the group stage of the Europa League in consecutive seasons

2. Being in a position to seriously push for the top spot and maintain that past March 

3. Make a much better fist of the cup competitions

Feeling is we've run out of steam in April the last 3 seasons because of the small squad - a slighter bigger squad allied with every team starting early due to Europe or the new league cup set might help us be competitive until the season finishes.

Admire the ambition but I only see 3 as achievable.

Europa League in consecutive seasons? You didn't make it last year or did you? Don't think you did? Without checking is that a wish to do it next year then again the following one?

3 minutes ago, macy37 said:

Admire the ambition but I only see 3 as achievable.

Europa League in consecutive seasons? You didn't make it last year or did you? Don't think you did? Without checking is that a wish to do it next year then again the following one?

Yeah, you're right about the Europa league.

I don't think any Dons fan believes that we will achieve all that, but it's certainly the level we should be aiming for. Are players like Slater and Hanlon capable of really improving the team ?

Maybe. I have my doubts though.