Polls - Page 15 - Anything Goes - Other topics not covered elsewhere - Tartan Army Message Board Jump to content

• Replies 1.2k

"That Davidson and the wee witch Curran are top of my wishlist"

Mine too, I hate that wee c Davidson and would never tire of seeing him getting a good kicking.

If you don't believe it is that bad for labour, then have a look at some on the spot polling by channel 4 news on the streets of Glasgow.

In true Glaswegian style..."shove your in Labour up your a**e".

It's first up on the YESnhs facebook page.

https://www.facebook.com/yesnhsscotland?fref=ts

Pure class. Enjoy.

Edited by antidote

Mine too, I hate that wee c Davidson and would never tire of seeing him getting a good kicking.

This is exactly the type of rhetoric that is champagne mousse to those who want to take potshots at pro-independence and/or pro-SNP people.

Handing them ammunition like this means that it comes right back at us and broadsides us.

The only positive thing I can say about the auld witch in that interview is that she was smart enough to deflect the "deal with the SNP" question with the "I'm contemplating nothing but a Labour majority" response. I think that's the line Milliband should have taken last night, rather than making a rod for his own back by totally ruling it out.

This is exactly the type of rhetoric that is champagne mousse to those who want to take potshots at pro-independence and/or pro-SNP people.

Handing them ammunition like this means that it comes right back at us and broadsides us.

Whereas this abuse I took today never gets reported. Asked the normally vociferous #SNPout for an opinion ... silence.

https://twitter.com/elmerthepea/status/589063233128005632(sorry, won't accept pic)

Can't agree with that. Your general point is valid but it fails to recoginse how humans think. Extend the principle and you'll understand why socialism can't ever work (the latter point is a general one & not aimed at your particular response. But I know who'll bite first :wink2: ),

I've always had doubts about polling too but you can't deny that they got it right for the referendum.

But if I switch on the results programme at 10pm and see any of those Scot-Lab troughers looking relieved after some kind of unexpected postal vote landslide the tv is going straight back off again and I'm going to bed. And I'm giving up on Scottish society.

I will honestly emigrate if I have that feeling again.

"This is exactly the type of rhetoric that is champagne mousse to those who want to take potshots at pro-independence and/or pro-SNP people.

Handing them ammunition like this means that it comes right back at us and broadsides us."

I can see your point if I actually said I was doing the kicking, but...I...didn't.

My fear

September 2014 part 2.

Don't get me wrong i'm as cynical and negative as the next person.

But the polls were nothing like this in the run up to referendum. Not saying SNP will win 50 plus, but i'd be surprised if less than 30

If you're looking for reasons why it may be too good to be true

1. Ashcroft polls don't necessarily refer to candidate so could underestimate personal loyalty factor.

2. large proportion of undecideds who could swing in over three weeks.

3. Some says incumbents have advantage in those circumstances.

Only polls that matter will be on May 7th. I think anything over 30 seats for SNP will be an excellent result, even better if one or two high profile SLAB, Lib Dems went in the process. I just wonder what the Unionist parties and their friends in the media have got to chuck at the SNP in the run up - hopefully enough people have wised up to their tactics.

Ashcroft's polling during indyref predicted 57-43 in favour of No.

I'm usually very sceptical about opinion polls but Ashcrofts last two are pointing towards heavy SNP gains. Outwith that, poll after poll has the SNP way out in front. I'd be amazed if there was such a big late swing back towards the unionists but nothing would surprise me in politics.

My only fears are around the so-called silent majority and possible tactical voting.