Murphy Stops Soapbox Tour - Page 4 - Anything Goes - Other topics not covered elsewhere - Tartan Army Message Board Jump to content

Murphy Stops Soapbox Tour

• Replies 276

Or you could focus on a lot of the positive stuff that's happening? Has there ever been a political debate that's lasted a few years without the odd lovely cuddly bunny doing something daft?

The legacy of this campaign will be how each sides deals with the result.

your last point is spot on. But before the board was wiped the loons on the board where already laying the ground for "dodgy count" accusations.

do you really want me to post some of the garbage that doing the rounds from complete morons on either side?

You can do whatever you want, but it sounds like you'd like to trawl the gutter. I suspect if you focus on that, you'll find shite. In life, I prefer to look at what can be done, I don't think spending time on what complete morons say or post is a worthwhile use of anyone's time.

Jonny been on the adult lemonade last night. He ignores the SNP neo-liberal economic policy. The planned cut in corporation tax. The tax freezes in Scottish Parliament. Also the UK is recovering better than the majority of Eurozone countries.

Open debate, discourse and campaigning has been damaged by aggressive and intimidating Yes supporters be it street debates or meetings. Even on this board it's not pleasant at times. That is an unfortunate example of nationalism in any politics.

I don't think most of us ignores the SNP's policies. It's been said and Alan you will know this, it's not a vote for anyone's policies. I'm not supporting a yes vote because of Westminster's policies, sure they don't help but it's bigger and more important than party policies. The type of Scotland I want to see can only happen with independence. And probably not with a SNP government.

What about British nationalism Alan? Again there's an ugly side to that but as Jonny said above why focus on it? There's a lot to be proud about how the people of Scotland have behaved in this debate.

Edited by ParisInAKilt

Open debate, discourse and campaigning has been damaged by aggressive and intimidating Yes supporters be it street debates or meetings. Even on this board it's not pleasant at times. That is an unfortunate example of nationalism in any politics.

I think you overstepped the mark there.

Your point in the first 2 sentences in danger of being eclipsed by the third.

Jonny been on the adult lemonade last night. He ignores the SNP neo-liberal economic policy. The planned cut in corporation tax. The tax freezes in Scottish Parliament. Also the UK is recovering better than the majority of Eurozone countries.

Alan, there are many SNP policies I disagree with, including the council tax freeze but I voted for them to get a referendum on Independence. Along with the cutting of the bridge tolls, they put in populist policies to get themselves in a position whereby they could show that they were competent in government. I believe they've shown that.

And I make no apologies for the 'adult lemonade' points, you're obviously a bright enough guy but you're either aware of the political direction of travel towards the right that is happening in the UK or you're wilfully choosing to ignore and therefore accept it. The Tory led UK is a morally bankrupt state and I want Scotland to have no part of it. I hope that England will follow and demand change for itself. But there is no way anything is going to change if Scotland remains part of the UK.

Nationalism skews judgement. It's emotional. Normally politics is boring in a democracy. There are various political spheres be it Left, centre, right, socialist, conservative, liberal etc which overlap at times and ultimately are about how to spend money of the public.

However there has been co-ordinated plans to drown out and intimidate debate due to the very nature of nationalism. It's been posted on here with board members posturing and planning to meet Jim Murphy's tour. The debate is shutdown. It's a shouting match. Aggressive and intimidating. And no SNP politician has tried to stop it.

It's not positive. It's horrible.

Alan, that's just complete shite.

Murphy ran round scotland shouting through a megaphone a load of guff, usually to nobody but if challenged refused to answer any questions and verbally abused a number of the public. Who was intimidating who? He's an Erse with minders yet somehow someone walked up egged his back then walked away unchallenged by said minders?

apparently the guy was just on his way to the bookies to put £20 on a yes result when Jim crossed his path and everyone knows ........................

you cant make a home rule bet without breaking eggs .

Tim Vine would pay you for that one...

Nationalism skews judgement. It's emotional. Normally politics is boring in a democracy. There are various political spheres be it Left, centre, right, socialist, conservative, liberal etc which overlap at times and ultimately are about how to spend money of the public.

However there has been co-ordinated plans to drown out and intimidate debate due to the very nature of nationalism. It's been posted on here with board members posturing and planning to meet Jim Murphy's tour. The debate is shutdown. It's a shouting match. Aggressive and intimidating. And no SNP politician has tried to stop it.

This is what Independence is about ...

She will be on Tuesday's STV Independence debate.

Alan, free your mind and think of how much better Scotland could be.

Is the no campaign negative because that's what the no voters want, or are no voters negative because of the no campaign?

Nothing positive at all. Even the arguments about what happened here, so quick to blame it on nationalism and make it more important and widespread than what it really is.

Is the no campaign negative because that's what the no voters want, or are no voters negative because of the no campaign?

Nothing positive at all. Even the arguments about what happened here, so quick to blame it on nationalism and make it more important and widespread than what it really is.

its down to the Yes campaign to change their mindset. Calling them billy Brits,cringers etc wont work. Also the opposite applies. Some Yes voters put nationalism and independence above all else. Even at the expense of the economic future of the country.Their minds will never be changed.

It's the yes campaigns fault that the no campaign and no voters are negative? :blink:

I could make the same point about no voters.

Edited by ParisInAKilt

Honestly, where to start with this?

Nationalism skews judgement. What exactly does that mean? What is this Nationalism that is skewing judgement? Vacuous. It's emotional. Well last time I checked, every single human being is emotional, God forbid we supress emotion in our judgement.

Normally politics is boring in a democracy. No it's not, politics is part of everybody's life, normally. In countries with a proper democracy where people are engaged beyond the 30% we get here in local elections. Read Blossom if you can be bothered widening your horizons. If this referendum has shown anything at all, it's that people want to be involved, they want to shape their own communities.

However there has been co-ordinated plans to drown out and intimidate debate due to the very nature of nationalism. Jesus. Have. If you must post unfounded nonsense like this atleast sort your grammar out. By whom, where, when, how? Complete pretentious drivel.

You might want to read some Boole basics before posting any more of this pish.

Alan has a destination and has no idea how to get their, hence why in the process of talking about his destination the directions he gives to get there are absolute mince and make no sense.

thats what happens when the answer comes before the working, saw it in school all the time someone copies someone and have the answer, in this case vote no yes is bad. So you ask them to write on the big board how they got that answer, since they copied it they dont know, normally at this point sound minded people admit they copied it and we move on, Alan et al are the folk that go on the blackboard and attempt to show the working hence the non-sequitur scribblings contained in here.

Board members planning to listen to a man who pretends he wants people to listen Alan ?

How dare these Jocks be allowed to go and be lectured to by the lying racist Murphy.Just stay in your place .You have no right to listen to this man who stands up in a public highway.You have no right to voice concern over your own future.You have no right to free speech in your own country.You have no right to a country of your own and the normal status for 99% of people on the planet.

When a warmongering racist with blood on his hands who supports weapons of mass destruction over an increase in child poverty starts to cry because food is thrown at him you really have to laugh.The irony is i bet the children who rely on foodbanks would have better use for an egg.

If you have ever debated anything in your life Alan you will realise that Murphy is not debating he is screaming at the top of his voice through a megaphone.There is no debate here .

You say you agree with Ghandi .here's another one to ponder your voting intentions with.

“I can retain neither respect nor affection for government which has been moving from wrong to wrong in order to defend its immorality”

Mahatma Gandhi

Edited by Wine bibber

I am starting to think that the whole thing was a set up. If he was serious about what he was doing then why cancel the tour just because one numpty threw an egg? Murphy was getting nowhere with his soapbox tour and the only attention he was getting was from Yes supporters who had turned up to heckle him; so he decided to turn the tables, knowing full well that the 'assault' would ensure wall to wall media coverage for days.

Put it this way, the image of the guy who egged him is now all over the internet. I'd expect the culprit to be named and lifted within the next couple of days. If he isn't, then you have to wonder why.

I don't think it was a set-up but Murphy is certainly milking it and probably realised his soapbox tour wasn't getting anywhere and needed an excuse to call it quits.

Some folk do need to calm it slightly, but it has been a very good natured debate and conversation in general. Anyone saying that the country is divided quite honestly it shit stirring. I've had several heated debates with pals and family about it but we're all still friendly afterwards. There will of course be numpties who take it too far but that's human nature.

I did hear about a walking/debating tour that Micheal Moore and an SNP councillor were doing through the borders and it was very nice to hear about.