Games You've Attended Being A Neutral - Page 2 - Football related - Discussion of non TA football - Tartan Army Message Board Jump to content

Games You've Attended Being A Neutral

A good one I went to was the Aberdiddy v Bayern Munich match and I was going in the away end with my pal.

He had his kilt and Bayern Munich home top on and we got stopped by the local Police entering. The female bobbie proceeded to speak in broken German and very very slow English. It was like Uncle Albert out of Only Fools and Horses !

Vere are you from bitte ?

Doon the road hen ! :lol:

Edited by jock strap

• Replies 95

Apart from working at Tannadice for about 6 months, I've always been a Billy Daintee! :ok:

Yeah yeah.

Next thing you'll be denying that you won't wake up tomorrow morning and start your day with the following words, " Sunday morning, up with the lark......" :sing:

Yeah yeah.

Next thing you'll be denying that you won't wake up tomorrow morning and start your day with the following words, " Sunday morning, up with the lark......" :sing:

It'll make me really start to worry if I skip showering and start calling roondaboots circles! :shocked:

Never been a big neutral fan

Even on tv unless real interest

We went to see a Dundee derby in mid 80s as Dons were playing end of season game away to Morton 85 season ; am sure Dundee won

1st half of Ajax v Volendam in old small stadium 1990 ; left at h/t v drab

Few when living in London

Fulham v PNE 97ish

Sheff Wed v Chelsea Fa cup

Same day of sheff Utd v Arsenal game that never was

In the last 2 or 3 years:

Scarborough Athletic v. Brighouse Town

Droylesden v. Darlington

East Fife v. Stenhousemuir (although not completely neutral; East Fife have always been my second team)

Celtic v. St. Johnstone

Bridlington v. Liversedge

Albion Rovers v. Clyde

Annan Athletic v. Berwick

Berwick v. Queen's Park

Berwick v. Annan

Whitby Town v. Chorley

Ossett Albion v. Someone or other I can't remember.

Couple of Halifax Town games

Probably a few other obscure ones as well!!

Been to a few over the years but one that sticks out was 1980 Scottish cup final. Mate at college got a couple of spare tickets for the west end terrace so off we went for a day in the Glasgow sunshine.these were the days before the SFA took a hard line on drink and sectarian pish so a quiet day has had by all

Rangers v Osasuna ;) lol neutral..

Hibs v Raith Rovers ;) neutral aye..

Raith Rovers v St Johnstone

Dunfermline A v hafnarfjörður

Fulham v Northampton

QPR v Peterboro

Northampton v Cambridge Utd

Arka Gdynia v Lech Gdansk

Morecambe v Motherwell

Brentford v Peterboro

Blackburn R v Barnsley

Raith R v Dunfermline Ath

PNE v loads

Coventry C v loads

I've been to hundreds as a neutral.

Over 150 Queens Park games

Over 60 Celtic games

Over 50 Partick games

and 20-50 other random matches

But the two that stand out for me are the two European finals held at Hampden in the past 15 years.

I was lucky enough to be sat directly behind it when Zidane hit that stunning volley for Real Madrid to beat Bayer Leverkusen.

I also thoroughly enjoyed the UEFA CUp FInal when Sevilla beat Espanyol on penalties. It was the first time I had seen Dani Alves in the flesh and I had never seen a full back be the furthest player forward so often before.

Amongst others:

New York Cosmos v Vancouver Whitecaps (1982)

Dundee utd v Werder Bremen (1984)

Hearts v Bayern Munich (1988)

Hearts v Burnley (Texaco Cup)

Dunfermline v Falkirk (circa 1988)

Airdrie v Falkirk (as above)

Hibs v Hearts (1989)

Celtic v Rangers (1989 Cup Final....horrible atmosphere)

QPR v Chelsea (1988...shocking crowd trouble)

chelsea v Middlesborough (play off 2nd leg 1989.....shocking crowd trouble)

Hibs v Man Utd (Gordon Rae testimonial...around 1989)

Brondby v Copenhagen (post Copenhagen Marathon 1991)

Atletico Madrid v Tenerife (post Madrid Marathon 1997)

Russia v Cyprus (post moscow Marathon 1996)

Bayern v B Dortmund (2000)

Bayern v Schalke (2001)

Kaiserslautern v Hamburg (2003)

Venezia v Crotone (on way to Zagreb 2000)

Approx 10 Man Utd games (1987/8)

Approx 10 Man City games (1987/8)

Oldham v Spurs (1988)

Universidad de Chile v Colo Colo (post Santiago marathon 2005...5 red cards, 60,000 fans, terrible violence)

Boca Juniors v Crotone (2005)

Palmerias v Brasiliense (2005)