Season 23/24 - Page 38 - Football related - Discussion of non TA football - Tartan Army Message Board Jump to content

1 hour ago, EddardStark said:

Aberdeen is his 20th management appointment. 7th in the last 10 year, one of those was for 3 years. He is a nasty piece of work. Can't believe some Rangers fans wanted him in post Beale.  

That reminds me of the factual rant Eamon Dunphy went on RTE when Terry Venables (RIP) was linked with the Republic of Ireland job 

Souness was in the studio and he had virtually nothing to say after it

• Replies 1.6k

On 2/27/2024 at 8:15 PM, Big Ramy 1314 said:

Sitting in Ottawa, Canada, watching Ross County v St.Mirren live on Sky Sports.. How many empty seats?? First goal, absolute howler from the defender..... Great for Scottish football....

I sat in Scotland and watched Celtic v Buckie. How many empty seats??

7 hours ago, DesiScotsman said:

Done an excellent job at Killie and hope they can catch Hearts to take that 3rd place spot.

Talking about McInnes, I wonder how Aberdeen fans are thinking about it now when you consider the mess they have been in since he left? They hounded McInness out when they were fourth, despite all he’d achieved there. Looks how it’s went since as they now find themselves in a relegation battle with an absolute dinosaur of a manager in charge.

What exactly did he achieve?

One cup win, what else?

11 hours ago, Toepoke said:

We had a good second penalty shout for the trip on Donnelly. And what looked like a professional foul by Diamonte on Polworth went unpunished.

Anyway it's good to be giving the Old Firm a challenge after some of the games last season. McInnes has needed time but is now putting his stamp on the team.

Aye could have been a penalty and diamonde should have been booked. Killie TV were shouting for a red but it would have been very harsh. Nothing at all is just bizarre though.

Aye we are having a go at them with some success instead of just sitting back soaking it up for 90 mins. He's done great and the recruitment has been brilliant too.

One cup win, what else?

What do you realistically expect Aberdeen to achieve. You can't win the league or come second really. So your aim is 3rd every season and a cup run if you can. He won you a cup, that's pretty much the best you can do.

4 minutes ago, Kirk said:

Aye could have been a penalty and diamonde should have been booked. Killie TV were shouting for a red but it would have been very harsh. Nothing at all is just bizarre though.

Aye we are having a go at them with some success instead of just sitting back soaking it up for 90 mins. He's done great and the recruitment has been brilliant too.

What do you realistically expect Aberdeen to achieve. You can't win the league or come second really. So your aim is 3rd every season and a cup run if you can. He won you a cup, that's pretty much the best you can do.

Disagree with that last part. Aberdeen have the resources to win more cups than one every 25 years. Mcinnes had plenty opportunity to win another and he failed. He also failed at every attempt to get to groups in Europe. 

The problem at aberdeen wasn't getting rid of mcinnes, it was how the club has been managed since. I'd also add mcinnes wanted to leave at the end of the season too.

4 hours ago, dandydunn said:

One cup win, what else?

"What exactly did he achieve?"

Ok since you asked...

When he took over, Aberdeen were a consistent bottom 6 side under Mark McGhee and then Craig Brown who he succeeded. 

2013/14 - He got Aberdeen to finish 3rd in his first full season in charge(narrowly missed out on 2nd place in the very last minute on the final day to a good Motherwell team). That 3rd place finish resulted in Aberdeen qualifying for Europe for the first time since 2009 after a 5 year absence in which during those years had come nowehere near close to qualifying for Europe as they had finished comfortably and consistently in the bottom 6. Won Aberdeen the League Cup that season (their first piece of silverware in nearly 20 years). Also his Aberdeen team ended Fraser Forster's Scottish clean sheet record that season. Not bad for a first full season after a fair few seasons of mediocrity.

2014/15 - Aberdeen progressed through two qualifying rounds of the Europa League (the last time they achieved this feat was in back in 1996 in the old UEFA Cup format). Aberdeen finished comfortably in 2nd resulting in them qualifying for back to back European competition (the last time they had acheived back to back European qualification was back in 93/94-94/95). 

2015/16 - His Aberdeen team pushed Celtic nearly all the way in the Premiership that year with Celtic eventually but only narrowly beating them 3-2 in the end with 2 games to spare to seal the title. A second consecutive 2nd place finish and qualifying for Europe for the 3rd consecutive year (the last time they qualified for Europe 3 years on the bounce was back in their most succesful decade of the 80's).

2016/17 - Aberdeen had become regulars in Europe and this not something that had even been muttered in this millenium. Always winning their opening two rounds but narrowly missing out when the more difficult sides entered in the 3rd qualifyinground/play-off round. No non Old Firm side has ever managed to reach the group stages via this qualifying format that I know of. In today's format based on the co-efficient, with such a qualification feat, you wouldn't have to worry about navigating through all these extra rounds as you'd be guranteed European group stage football every year for finishing in the top 3.  Anyways onto 2016/17 now and Rangers had now come back into the Premiership and his Aberdeen team still continued to finish comfortably in 2nd place and qualify for European football once more (at this rate those passports must have been running out of pages to stamp them with these regular European trips and that's not even including travelling with the Scotland TA 😅). Reached two cup finals that season and lost both to a Celtic team that were simply unstoppable as they had just gone invincible that domestic season with a record league points tally too. The Scottish Cup final, his team took Celtic to the very last minute to win it.

2017/18 - Hibs had been promoted back and therefore for the first time since 2012 - we had both Edinburgh clubs and Rangers in the top flight so it was a much more competitive league now. Both Rangers & Hibs challenged for 2nd place with Aberdeen that year and still despite that, McInnes' Aberdeen finished 2nd once again by, on the last day, defeating Celtic away from home ending Brendan Rodgers' unbeaten home record and the first time Celtic had lost a domestic home fixture in 3 years. 

2018/19 - For the first time in McInnes' tenure at Aberdeen, they finished outside the top three by goal difference to Steve Clarke's Kilmarnock. Lost the league cup final to Brendan Rodgers' Celtic team who would win the treble treble that season and were still far too strong for everyone domestically to lay a glove on. Still yet again had qualified for Europe for the 5th season on the trot (hadn't qualified this amount of times consecutively for continental competition since the clubs most succesful period in the 80's).

2019/20 - Was cut short due to Covid. Aberdeen were in 4th place at the time, only one point behind Motherwell with 8 games to go before the season was ended due to the pandemic. The league places at the time were deemed the final league finishes and his Aberdeen team yet again had qualified for Europe. 

2020/21 - Last season in charge and was sacked depsite sitting in 4th place and only being 3 points behind 3rd placed Hibs at the time of his sacking.

Post McInnes:

Glass took over and well I'm sure you know how he did - not exactly that great to put it kindly.

Goodwin then took over and left a broken man after two absolute thrashings in the space of a week - 5-0 by Hearts followed with a 6-0 by Hibs. Sandwiched inbetween those pumpings was the most embarrising and shock result in Scottish Cup history by non-league part times Darvel.

Robson was at the wheel and had a honeymoon period similar to the one Ole Gunnar Solskjær had at Man Utd and as soon as he got given the job permanently, it showed he was well out of his depth.

Now you have an absolute dinosaur of a man in charge in Warnock who is only up here to top up his pension and is literally at the helm for a bit of fun with the journos up here. That 14/1 for an Aberdeen bottom two finish on Sky Bet is certainly tempting...

Edited by DesiScotsman

Ok since you asked...

When he took over, Aberdeen were a consistent bottom 6 side under Mark McGhee and then Craig Brown who he succeeded. 

2013/14 - He got Aberdeen to finish 3rd in his first full season in charge(narrowly missed out on 2nd place in the very last minute on the final day to a good Motherwell team). That 3rd place finish resulted in Aberdeen qualifying for Europe for the first time since 2009 after a 5 year absence in which during those years had come nowehere near close to qualifying for Europe as they had finished comfortably and consistently in the bottom 6. Won Aberdeen the League Cup that season (their first piece of silverware in nearly 20 years). Also his Aberdeen team ended Fraser Forster's Scottish clean sheet record that season. Not bad for a first full season after a fair few seasons of mediocrity.

Definitely his best season at Aberdeen however there were failings, losing at home to Motherwell being pipped for 2nd place is nothing to give credit for. He got away with and rightly so because he had credit in the bank. He also failed in what would the biggest chance to win the Scottish cup for years. Aberdeen lost 2-1 to St Johnstone in the semi final at Ibrox having dominated the first half of the game. Considering where Aberdeen were this was considered a good season by the majority of dons fans. 

2014/15 - Aberdeen progressed through two qualifying rounds of the Europa League (the last time they achieved this feat was in back in 1996 in the old UEFA Cup format). Aberdeen finished comfortably in 2nd resulting in them qualifying for back to back European competition (the last time they had acheived back to back European qualification was back in 93/94-94/95). 

Mcinness benefited hugely from the Absence of Rangers, Hearts and Hibs, as did other teams. 2nd was the target in the league and he got it. Knocked out in the semi of the league cup against Dundee United. Knocked out in the 1st round of the Scottish cup, well the 1st round with the big boys in it. Beaten by Dundee, this was a competition Fans really wanted to go at. Mcinnes failed here. Overall a reasonable season

2015/16 - His Aberdeen team pushed Celtic nearly all the way in the Premiership that year with Celtic eventually but only narrowly beating them 3-2 in the end with 2 games to spare to seal the title. A second consecutive 2nd place finish and qualifying for Europe for the 3rd consecutive year (the last time they qualified for Europe 3 years on the bounce was back in their most succesful decade of the 80's).

Knocked out in early rounds of the league cup by Hibs, Ross County went on to win this cup. Out in the early rounds of the Scottish cup - Hibs won it despite being a championship side. The cups are where Aberdeen could have had great success but he failed here

2016/17 - Aberdeen had become regulars in Europe and this not something that had even been muttered in this millenium. Always winning their opening two rounds but narrowly missing out when the more difficult sides entered in the 3rd qualifyinground/play-off round. No non Old Firm side has ever managed to reach the group stages via this qualifying format that I know of. In today's format based on the co-efficient, with such a qualification feat, you wouldn't have to worry about navigating through all these extra rounds as you'd be guranteed European group stage football every year for finishing in the top 3. 

Regulars in Europe? not really. They never made it out of the playoffs to the groups. beaten in league cup final easily by celtic. We never got near them that day. Got to the scottish cup final and made a good account of ourselves but lost to a last minute Rogic goal. A good season when all things are considered

Anyways onto 2016/17 now and Rangers had now come back into the Premiership and his Aberdeen team still continued to finish comfortably in 2nd place and qualify for European football once more (at this rate those passports must have been running out of pages to stamp them with these regular European trips and that's not even including travelling with the Scotland TA 😅). Reached two cup finals that season and lost both to a Celtic team that were simply unstoppable as they had just gone invincible that domestic season with a record league points tally too. The Scottish Cup final, his team took Celtic to the very last minute to win it.

2017/18 - Hibs had been promoted back and therefore for the first time since 2012 - we had both Edinburgh clubs and Rangers in the top flight so it was a much more competitive league now. Both Rangers & Hibs challenged for 2nd place with Aberdeen that year and still despite that, McInnes' Aberdeen finished 2nd once again by, on the last day, defeating Celtic away from home ending Brendan Rodgers' unbeaten home record and the first time Celtic had lost a domestic home fixture in 3 years. 

As much as I celebrated that final league win, Celtic had nothing to play for and they knew aberdeen winning would fuck Rangers. 

2018/19 - For the first time in McInnes' tenure at Aberdeen, they finished outside the top three by goal difference to Steve Clarke's Kilmarnock. Lost the league cup final to Brendan Rodgers' Celtic team who would win the treble treble that season and were still far too strong for everyone domestically to lay a glove on. Still yet again had qualified for Europe for the 5th season on the trot (hadn't qualified this amount of times consecutively for continental competition since the clubs most succesful period in the 80's).

2019/20 - Was cut short due to Covid. Aberdeen were in 4th place at the time, only one point behind Motherwell with 8 games to go before the season was ended due to the pandemic. The league places at the time were deemed the final league finishes and his Aberdeen team yet again had qualified for Europe. 

2020/21 - Last season in charge and was sacked depsite sitting in 4th place and only being 3 points behind 3rd placed Hibs at the time of his sacking.

Knocked out of the league cup in first round, beaten 3 nil at home to Dundee united in the scottish cup quarter final. Went 9 games scoring only one goal, the form was alarming. Considering you copied and pasted a lot from wiki, I am surprised you left this very vital piece of information out. 

Post McInnes:

Glass took over and well I'm sure you know how he did - not exactly that great to put it kindly. 

An Absolute disaster of an appointment

Goodwin then took over and left a broken man after two absolute thrashings in the space of a week - 5-0 by Hearts followed with a 6-0 by Hibs. Sandwiched inbetween those pumpings was the most embarrising and shock result in Scottish Cup history by non-league part times Darvel.

I was genuinely enthusiastic about this appointment but holy fuck did it turn out bad

Robson was at the wheel and had a honeymoon period similar to the one Ole Gunnar Solskjær had at Man Utd and as soon as he got given the job permanently, it showed he was well out of his depth.

Robson's tenure was just bizarre, the come back to finish 3rd in the league was just so unexpected and then a cup final too...............................it all fell to pieces after that

Now you have an absolute dinosaur of a man in charge in Warnock who is only up here to top up his pension and is literally at the helm for a bit of fun with the journos up here. That 14/1 for an Aberdeen bottom two finish on Sky Bet is certainly tempting...

You've left out a lot of the negatives from Mcinnes tenure as Aberdeen boss and fluffed up a lot of his achievements, like stopping Fraser Forsters clean sheet. Thats not a managerial achievement, any manager with that on their CV would be rightly mocked, although I don't disagree with a lot of what is said you are definitely not offering a balanced view on his time at Aberdeen.

Overall in Europe he had a lot of chances but never once punched above his weight depsite other clubs in Europe doing so. His biggest failing in my opinion was not securing another cup. With Rangers absent for a portion of his tenure the chance was their to get another cup. Considering the absence of Rangers for a period and Hearts and Hibs, he only bagged one trophy. St Johnstone bagged 3 during his time at Aberdeen

Mcinnes had a great few seasons at Aberdeen but failed to build on the cup win and was on the decline at the end. The problem wasn't sacking him, its how the whole club has been managed since. 

18 hours ago, Ally Bongo said:

That reminds me of the factual rant Eamon Dunphy went on RTE when Terry Venables (RIP) was linked with the Republic of Ireland job 

I never really got the hype about Venables. I can understand how Euro 96 must have been great for England fans, hosting the tournament, reaching the semis, etc, but I thought they only actually played well in two out of five games, and as hosts they didn’t have to qualify either. 

8 hours ago, DesiScotsman said:

Ok since you asked...

2016/17 - Aberdeen had become regulars in Europe and this not something that had even been muttered in this millenium. Always winning their opening two rounds but narrowly missing out when the more difficult sides entered in the 3rd qualifyinground/play-off round. No non Old Firm side has ever managed to reach the group stages via this qualifying format that I know of. In today's format based on the co-efficient, with such a qualification feat, you wouldn't have to worry about navigating through all these extra rounds as you'd be guranteed European group stage football every year for finishing in the top 3.  Anyways onto 2016/17 now and Rangers had now come back into the Premiership and his Aberdeen team still continued to finish comfortably in 2nd place and qualify for European football once more (at this rate those passports must have been running out of pages to stamp them with these regular European trips and that's not even including travelling with the Scotland TA 😅). Reached two cup finals that season and lost both to a Celtic team that were simply unstoppable as they had just gone invincible that domestic season with a record league points tally too. The Scottish Cup final, his team took Celtic to the very last minute to win it.

Post McInnes:

So in a nutshell, he started off with a team left to him by brown, Hayes, McGinn etc, signed Rooney, left him in the left wing after scoring a bucket full of goals and won one cup in a league that mainly was without at least one of Rangers/Hearts/Hibs/Dundee Utd, I’d say 2nd should’ve been a given every season. 

He never progressed us in Europe, the furthest we got was ironically, this season. 

He signed some absolute duds from the lower leagues of England and left under a cloud after the fans were unhappy and letting him know that negative football wasn’t wanted, typically by seeing a CH of the OF stroll up to the halfway line or beyond with the ball, allowing us to be pinned back for the entire 90 minutes at home.  

Im glad we agree 👍🏽

21 hours ago, Ally Bongo said:

It's funny watching that knowing Ireland eventually appointed Giovanni Trappatoni and we appointed George Burley. 🙄 😂

I like Dunphy. His rant about Martin O'Neill, shortly after Ireland had been hammered by Denmark, is entertaining too.

3 hours ago, dan cake said:

I’d imagine Moyes will be Scotland’s next manager if the timing works

Moyes is the only Scottish manager I'd be happy with (but hopefully Clarke will be around for a wee while longer).

Apparently FIFA president Infantino will be at the St Mirren v Aberdeen game today, wonder what he’ll think when he hears “fuck the SFA fuck the SFA” coming fae both sets of supporters who hopefully follow it with a rendition of “fuck FIFA” as well 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿 Welcome to Scotland you corrupt prick.

5 hours ago, EddardStark said:

My first trip to Ibrox today for a long time. 530 mile round trips take their toll. Although I’m not driving this time. 😊

Cos they're top of the league. You glory hunter you 😉

6 minutes ago, RDFH64 said:

Sky sports saying Rangers fortunate to get a penalty, Boyd will be having a word with them to put them right 🤔

Disgrace penalty.. Hunbelievable, but no surprise. Cheatin cnuts !!!!