Xmas songs. - Anything Goes - Other topics not covered elsewhere - Tartan Army Message Board Jump to content

Xmas songs.

Jona Lewie and Shaky for me! It's maybe a lot to do with nostalgia about being wee and what feels Christmassy from back then. I like the old and wintry sound of Stop the Cavalry. Love the whole Phil Spector album too. 

Got sent this great mix the other day:

Edited by StirlingEgg

1 hour ago, Hertsscot said:

Darlene Love has stated that this is her favourite cover version of the song she made famous.

More than anyone else's version, I think Bono's vocal conveys the heartache of the lyrics.

You hear others do it and you can almost hear them smiling. Aye, I'm talking about you Bublé ya fud.

I Believe in Father Christmas - Greg Lake (written about the commercialisation of Christmas - 50 years ago! 😮)

God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen - Ronnie James Dio

And an honourable mention for this:

Which isn't a song, technically, but I can remember hearing it being played in the house at lot when I was wee, and I guess it just brings back happy memories of this time of year. 😊