Back of the envelope - Page 2 - TA specific - Tartan Army Message Board Jump to content

Back of the envelope

biffer

• Replies 53

31 minutes ago, ceudmilefailte said:

I said a while back that with no friendlies the only chance we would get to try out new players would be in dead rubbers.

Anyone know the last time we qualified with games to spare? 

We have got France and England friendlies.

44 minutes ago, ceudmilefailte said:

I said a while back that with no friendlies the only chance we would get to try out new players would be in dead rubbers.

Anyone know the last time we qualified with games to spare? 

Spain 82. We had a dead rubber in Portugal after drawing in Belfast to qualify.

For Italia 90 we just needed one point from the last 3 games (nearly blew it as well! 😬 )

For us to qualify in September, will need the following to play out:

8th Sept - Cyprus v Scotland - Scotland Win
8th Sept - Georgia v Spain - Spain Win
12th Sept - Norway v Georgia - Draw
12th Sept - Spain v Cyprus - Result not important, probably a Spain win though
12th Sept - Scotland v England - Party, whatever the result

Table on September 13th:

Scotland - Played: 5 - Points: 15
Spain - Played: 4 - Points: 9
Georgia - Played: 5 - Points: 5
Norway - Played: 5 - Points: 5
Cyprus - Played: 5 - Points: 0

5 minutes ago, Toepoke said:

For Italia 90 we just needed one point from the last 3 games (nearly blew it as well! 😬 )

To be fair, two of the games were away to Yugoslavia and France. This time we only have three away games in a row. Oh aye, wait a minute............ 

Then an easy home game against Norway again. We might be going into that game "only" needing a point, again. Nae Super Ally to bale us out this time though. Whit could go wrong?????

2 minutes ago, Orraloon said:

To be fair, two of the games were away to Yugoslavia and France. This time we only have three away games in a row. Oh aye, wait a minute............ 

Tough games, although I thought we were home and hosed when Jukebox gave us the lead in Zagreb.

45 minutes ago, Orraloon said:

We have got France and England friendlies.

We didn't at the time but at this rate the England game will have both teams trying to prove they are the best home nation. A group one nations league side against a group two one. 

Can't wait to see what crowds England get against the Isreals of the world. 

Edited by ceudmilefailte

We seem to be doing a fairly decent job of spreading the bookings about. Twelve cautions so far and only two players sitting on two. Porteous and Robbo. There must be a fair chance that somebody will miss a game, due to suspension, over the final three games though?

5 minutes ago, Orraloon said:

We seem to be doing a fairly decent job of spreading the bookings about. Twelve cautions so far and only two players sitting on two. Porteous and Robbo. There must be a fair chance that somebody will miss a game, due to suspension, over the final three games though?

If we've already qualified, suspensions might not be the worst thing. It could allow us a greater opportunity to have a look at players like Doig, Ferguson and Turnbull (among others) in competitive matches. Perhaps trying Hickey at left-back, with Patterson at right-back, if Robertson gets suspended.

23 minutes ago, Clyde1998 said:

If we've already qualified, suspensions might not be the worst thing. It could allow us a greater opportunity to have a look at players like Doig, Ferguson and Turnbull (among others) in competitive matches. Perhaps trying Hickey at left-back, with Patterson at right-back, if Robertson gets suspended.

No we must go with our best/strongest side available and not let up. Our seeding for the tournament is worked out on our qualifying matches record and at present we would be top seeds. If we do qualify say with a couple of matches to spare we cannot afford to experiment and drop points and slip down the seedings.

Yeah as mentioned above, it is very possible we could have qualification confirmed in the dying minutes of injury time in our friendly vs England on 12th September. We need to beat Cyprus and hope Spain beat Georgia on the 8th September. Then while we are playing v England hope that Norway and Georgia draw. 

4 minutes ago, immcinto said:

Or even 2-0 I reckon. We aren't properly pumping Cyprus/Georgia and I reckon Spain will at some point so they would take 1st. 

We are building up a pretty decent GD and, if we are going to be in contention for 1st place, that's only going to get better. I'm not sure anybody is going to give Cyprus or Georgia a good pumping. 

1 hour ago, Ak91 said:

Yeah as mentioned above, it is very possible we could have qualification confirmed in the dying minutes of injury time in our friendly vs England on 12th September. We need to beat Cyprus and hope Spain beat Georgia on the 8th September. Then while we are playing v England hope that Norway and Georgia draw. 

Wow how much of a bounce would that be!