Ukraine - Page 35 - Anything Goes - Other topics not covered elsewhere - Tartan Army Message Board Jump to content

I am now free to tell you that yesterday 4631 Russians were arrested yesterday in 64 cities for opposing Putin’s war. Russian charity OVD calculates 13,028 Russians have now been arrested.    

• Replies 1.9k

2 minutes ago, Ally Bongo said:

I am now free to tell you that yesterday 4631 Russians were arrested yesterday in 64 cities for opposing Putin’s war. Russian charity OVD calculates 13,028 Russians have now been arrested.    

This war, well genocide, is getting right out of hand. Now the Russians are battering fuck out each other. Wait until the sanctions imposed on them really kick in.. Fuck me this is sad......

On 3/6/2022 at 1:23 PM, aaid said:

Two things.  Firstly, a network like Al Jazeera will more than likely give more prominence to any intervention by Israel for pretty obvious reasons as it's a regional power.   Secondly, by your own admission you only watched 5 minutes of Al Jazeera but you seem to think that this was being treated as a major story.  It may well have been but you don't know as you only watched 5 minutes of it.

Cheers for clarifying who Al Jazeera are – I’d just presumed they were owned by some bloke called Alan who really liked the music of the 1920’s and 30’s. 

On the second bit there’s no need to presume as all you have to do is ask.  Wasn’t what I was getting at and the prevalence in reporting over there wasn’t particularly of interest but merely how a different angle on the same event is often fruitful.   However, your presumption does raise an interesting discussion point because in the 3 hour meeting Ukraine must have been top of the shop with Iran and Syria (cheeking little missile attack went their way this morning) being ‘AOB’ on the meeting agenda.  Although obviously Ukraine has economic implications for AJ’s region with a few of the ‘Stans’ feeling the pinch of sanctions I had a look this morning and it continues to be reported there:

Russia’s invasion of Ukraine: List of key events from day twelve | Russia-Ukraine war News | Al Jazeera

Diplomatic efforts

• Israeli Prime Minister Naftali Bennett has said his country will continue trying to mediate between Russia and Ukraine even if success seems unlikely. Turkish President Recep Tayyip Erdogan urged Russian President Vladimir Putin to declare a ceasefire in Ukraine, open humanitarian corridors and sign a peace agreement, his office said.

Given Bennett (I think) is the first state leader to meet Putin in person since it kicked off plus looks to be the mediator going forwards; the US connections typically levied at Israel and; this coming via a meeting arranged through Germany where Bennett then flew to straight afterwards it begs the question whether it’s under reporting here is because it’s not seen as relevant or alternatively because it suggests we’re not seen as relevant.  The BBC instead are reporting Boris is meeting World leaders from Canada and Netherlands to discuss further sanctions which potentially further illustrates our position in new hierarchy. 

When stations have to fill 24 hour with content and are constantly competing to break stories first I can't grasp why they'd not be analysing the meeting in greater depth and its implications moving forwards.  

41 minutes ago, ThistleWhistle said:

Cheers for clarifying who Al Jazeera are – I’d just presumed they were owned by some bloke called Alan who really liked the music of the 1920’s and 30’s. 

On the second bit there’s no need to presume as all you have to do is ask.  Wasn’t what I was getting at and the prevalence in reporting over there wasn’t particularly of interest but merely how a different angle on the same event is often fruitful.   However, your presumption does raise an interesting discussion point because in the 3 hour meeting Ukraine must have been top of the shop with Iran and Syria (cheeking little missile attack went their way this morning) being ‘AOB’ on the meeting agenda.  Although obviously Ukraine has economic implications for AJ’s region with a few of the ‘Stans’ feeling the pinch of sanctions I had a look this morning and it continues to be reported there:

Russia’s invasion of Ukraine: List of key events from day twelve | Russia-Ukraine war News | Al Jazeera

Diplomatic efforts

• Israeli Prime Minister Naftali Bennett has said his country will continue trying to mediate between Russia and Ukraine even if success seems unlikely. Turkish President Recep Tayyip Erdogan urged Russian President Vladimir Putin to declare a ceasefire in Ukraine, open humanitarian corridors and sign a peace agreement, his office said.

Given Bennett (I think) is the first state leader to meet Putin in person since it kicked off plus looks to be the mediator going forwards; the US connections typically levied at Israel and; this coming via a meeting arranged through Germany where Bennett then flew to straight afterwards it begs the question whether it’s under reporting here is because it’s not seen as relevant or alternatively because it suggests we’re not seen as relevant.  The BBC instead are reporting Boris is meeting World leaders from Canada and Netherlands to discuss further sanctions which potentially further illustrates our position in new hierarchy. 

When stations have to fill 24 hour with content and are constantly competing to break stories first I can't grasp why they'd not be analysing the meeting in greater depth and its implications moving forwards.  

there's also a decent sized Jewish population in Ukraine - I'm sure part of his mission was to assure their safety. But if he can get Putin to stop murdering people then good for him.

49 minutes ago, ThistleWhistle said:

Took me a minute... 😀

34 minutes ago, SpecialisedOutsourcing said:

there's also a decent sized Jewish population in Ukraine - I'm sure part of his mission was to assure their safety. But if he can get Putin to stop murdering people then good for him.

Yeah mate you're right that'll be a factor too:

About 100 Ukrainian Jews have arrived in Israel and government officials say some 10,000 are expected in the coming weeks.

‘A real opportunity’: Israel urges Ukrainian Jews to immigrate | Israel-Palestine conflict News | Al Jazeera

Anyone interested in the condition of the average Russian conscript would do well to read Arkady Babchenko's One Soldier's War in Chechnya.  These poor grunts are going to start making up the bulk of the occupying forces and if his account is to be believed, then the brutalisation of Russian conscripts - routine beatings, no information about where they are going, or what they are doing, very limited food - is extreme, but fits with the low value placed on human life there.  My sense is that already we are seeing the break down in Russia's strategy and communication.  See their inability to maintain ceasefires to allow civilians to flee.  It takes much more motivation to attack another country than it does to defend your own, and I'm not sure Russians now will have the stomach for a long, hard fight.  Putin will undoubtedly keep going, cause he has nothing to lose, but will the Russian people and soldiers?  Gary Kasparov's insights in to Russian strategy is worth a listen too.

15 minutes ago, Potted Heid said:

Anyone interested in the condition of the average Russian conscript would do well to read Arkady Babchenko's One Soldier's War in Chechnya.  These poor grunts are going to start making up the bulk of the occupying forces and if his account is to be believed, then the brutalisation of Russian conscripts - routine beatings, no information about where they are going, or what they are doing, very limited food - is extreme, but fits with the low value placed on human life there.  My sense is that already we are seeing the break down in Russia's strategy and communication.  See their inability to maintain ceasefires to allow civilians to flee.  It takes much more motivation to attack another country than it does to defend your own, and I'm not sure Russians now will have the stomach for a long, hard fight.  Putin will undoubtedly keep going, cause he has nothing to lose, but will the Russian people and soldiers?  Gary Kasparov's insights in to Russian strategy is worth a listen too.

Very good post....

I'm Dissapointed to read Ian Blackford's comments today, that "Scotland needs to be mindful of where we are" and that the priorities for the Scottish Government - Indy Ref 2 - are secondary to the SNPs "focus on Ukraine". 

If the SNP want to open the borders for refugees, well they need Independence. 

If the SNP want to move the nuclear weapons. Then they will need Independence. 

The Scottish Government can not implement its own foreign policy without Independence. Blackford contradicts himself. 

I listened to an extremely interesting discussion with Jim Sillars on an Independent Scotland's foreign policy. I accept that Scotland will always be in the UKs sphere of Influence. I also accept that, Britain will always be in the United States sphere of Influence. 

An advantage of Independence would be that we pose no threat to anyone. I find that nuclear weapons offensive not defensive. They do not make us safer. Let alone the radiation risks. 

Fastlane should be closed down. Filthy manky, cold war relics polluting the Clyde and Holy Loch. 

The SNP should be launching a Bairns over Bombs campaign on the back of this war. 

Linked below is a discussion with Jim Sillars on what an Independent Scotland's foreign policy could look like. 

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=gkQKgmfc_ZI

Edited by Tartan_Tonna

16 minutes ago, Tartan_Tonna said:

I'm Dissapointed to read Ian Blackford's comments today, that "Scotland needs to be mindful of where we are" and that the priorities for the Scottish Government - Indy Ref 2 - are secondary to the SNPs "focus on Ukraine". 

If the SNP want to open the borders for refugees, well they need Independence. 

If the SNP want to move the nuclear weapons. Then they will need Independence. 

The Scottish Government can not implement its own foreign policy without Independence. Blackford contradicts himself. 

I listened to an extremely interesting discussion with Jim Sillars on an Independent Scotland's foreign policy. I accept that Scotland will always be in the UKs sphere of Influence. I also accept that, Britain will always be in the United States sphere of Influence. 

An advantage of Independence would be that we pose no threat to anyone. I find that nuclear weapons offensive not defensive. They do not make us safer. Let alone the radiation risks. 

Fastlane should be closed down. Filthy manky, cold war relics polluting the Clyde and Holy Loch. 

The SNP should be launching a Bairns over Bombs campaign on the back of this war. 

Linked below is a discussion with Jim Sillars on what an Independent Scotland's foreign policy could look like. 

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=gkQKgmfc_ZI

It has already been debunked

The SNP have confirmed that the next referendum will be as planned in 2023 and that only the First Minister can change that - and there are currently no reasons

That being said an Independence referendum may become moot if the War in Ukraine turns into a Nuclear Holocaust

And the level of Jim Sillers cuntery increased when he contributed to Jackie Baillie's campaign 

Not to be trusted

19 minutes ago, Tartan_Tonna said:

I listened to an extremely interesting discussion with Jim Sillars on an Independent Scotland's foreign policy.

That'd be the same Jim Sillars who contributed to Jackie Ballie's election campaign, who despite being an avid Unionist is probably one of the biggest proponents of Trident in Labour Party.

Yes, let's listen to him.

Just now, SpecialisedOutsourcing said:

The USSR lost 15,000 soldiers in its years long invasion of Afghanistan. 

in only 10 days estimates range that they’ve lost up to 11,000 soldiers so far in Ukraine. 

100% of Russian combat power is now in Ukraine (that was placed on the border beforehand).

They can’t keep this up. 

Do you believe those numbers, and what are your sources? No being funny, but that seems an awful lot...

6 hours ago, thplinth said:

They wanted Russia to invade and they just kept ratcheting it up to the point Russia felt it had no choice. That guy Zelensky knew exactly what he was doing, suicidal but he wont care. 

Interesting perspective in your post.

NATO have abandoned Zelensky! He wanted Ukraine to join the club. 

The media are saying Putin should be trialled for war crimes. Well, this isn't the first time.

Putin has done this in Chechnya I'm sure. His soldiers bombed Syria. He has annexed parts of Georgia, The Crimera region of Ukraine was next. 

NATO are just as bad. They destroyed Libya I was speaking to an African taxi driver. He grew up in Solamia and had to constantly move because of war. He said they used to dream of moving to Libya under Gadaffi. Its now unlivable. NATO bombed it back to the stone age to take out a dictator that doesn't like them. 

I don't think an Independent Scotland should have anything to do with NATO. I think England will want to keep it's place on the UN security Council. Move the Bombs down south. 

Edited by Tartan_Tonna

9 minutes ago, Tartan_Tonna said:

The media are saying Putin should be trialled for war crimes. Well, this isn't the first time.

Putin has done this in Chechnya I'm sure. His soldiers bombed Syria. He has annexed parts of Georgia, The Crimera region of Ukraine was next. 

NATO are just as bad. They destroyed Libya. I was speaking to an African taxi driver. He grew up in Solamia and had to constantly move because of war. He said they used to dream of moving to Lybia under Gadaffi. Its now unlivable. NATO bombed it back go the stone age. 

I don't think an Independent Scotland should have anything to do with NATO. I think England will want to keep it's place on the UN security Council. Move the Bombs down south. 

Awkward

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/av/uk-scotland-scotland-politics-19995166

13 minutes ago, Tartan_Tonna said:

NATO are just as bad. They destroyed Libya I was speaking to an African taxi driver. He grew up in Solamia and had to constantly move because of war. He said they used to dream of moving to Libya under Gadaffi. Its now unlivable. NATO bombed it back to the stone age to take out a dictator that doesn't like them. 

I would only be interested in an independent scotland that was part of nato and had an operational nuclear deterrent.

30 minutes ago, SpecialisedOutsourcing said:

The USSR lost 15,000 soldiers in its years long invasion of Afghanistan. 

in only 10 days estimates range that they’ve lost up to 11,000 soldiers so far in Ukraine. 

100% of Russian combat power is now in Ukraine (that was placed on the border beforehand).

They can’t keep this up. 

Did they aye? 

c’mon man you have talked a massive amount of shit calling people all sorts of names traitors cowards nazis commies and thrown out a lot of personal abuse with it…

are you really such a wanker that you are too scared to reveal your original identity (not even your real identity just your tamb name) on a poxy message board that no cunt even reads anymore?

😀

32 minutes ago, Tartan_Tonna said:

Not sure where to begin with this one! The poor Grammar and Spelling suggests English isn't its first language but with regards to Libya you are completely misinformed. 

There is currently a proxy war ongoing in Libya - and guess who's prominently involved? Mad Vlad yet again:

The LNA has military and political support from the United Arab Emirates, Egypt, Jordan, and according to the UN, Russia. Because of this support, particularly from the UAE, they have a massive amount of air power. The LNA also has contracts with fighters from Sudan and Chad, the UN says.

On the other side, the GNA has signed a memorandum with Turkey, which is providing them with weapons, armed drones, and ammunition. The GNA has contracted foreign fighters from Sudan and Chad, the UN says. Thousands of Turkey-backed Syrian fighters are supporting the GNA and are fighting on the frontline.

31 minutes ago, aaid said:

I don't agree with the SNPs  rationale on NATO membership. I think Alex Salmond is wrong. 

NATO makes Glasgow a target for a nuclear attack. I watched BBC film, Threads (1984), surviving a nuclear attack on Sheffield. It has freaked me out. I didn't grow up in the 80s I was born in 93.

Ireland isn't in NATO.  They pose no threat to anyone. Everyone loves the Irish world wide. We should be like them! 

Edited by Tartan_Tonna

37 minutes ago, Tartan_Tonna said:

actually, coming on a Scottish message Board to praise Colonel Gaddafi is a new low given how many Scots he murdered in Lockerbie. Maybe you should have done some proper research on Libya first rather than just talk to African taxi drivers?