London Is The Greatest City In The World - Page 5 - Anything Goes - Other topics not covered elsewhere - Tartan Army Message Board Jump to content

London Is The Greatest City In The World

Joking aside, I find you generally get a decent pint in most Wetherspoons pubs, as they tend to keep them clean. It's just everything else that makes drinking in them a depressing experience!

I'm sure you're right, I haven't been in a Wetherspoons for years. Didn't they keep it cheap by buying barrels that were almost on the turn?

Anyroad, the explosion of microbreweries in recent years, and the pubs that look after their cellars and stock a decent range while not having the atmosphere of an airport terminal are a couple of the factors that make modern life worth living so feck knows what macy37 was on about.

• Replies 164

Harry Potter,Sea Life,Tower of London,pictures in Leicester Sq already booked

I've done nearly all the museums ,art galleries,HoP,Hampton Court ,parks,zoo so I'm trying to find other things to do

Book the Sky Garden as well (top of the walkie talkie building) its free and if you let me know when you are there I'll buy you a pint in Leadenhall Market :-)

EDIT- if the kids like Harry Potter a bit was filmed in Leadenhall market

Edited by Nobby

Book the Sky Garden as well (top of the walkie talkie building) its free and if you let me know when you are there I'll buy you a pint in Leadenhall Market :-)

EDIT- if the kids like Harry Potter a bit was filmed in Leadenhall market

Anything over 3ft and my arse collapses mate :-)

Harry Potter,Sea Life,Tower of London,pictures in Leicester Sq already booked

I've done nearly all the museums ,art galleries,HoP,Hampton Court ,parks,zoo so I'm trying to find other things to do

Have you done many of the small museums? If the kids are into skeletons & natural history the Grant Museum is a bit of a gem.

The SIr John Soane Museum in Lincoln's Inn Fields might not grip young 'uns but it's a stunner.

Naw. It isnae.

My youngest lad works in the North Sea oil industry. He lived/worked in London at his head office for a couple of years. He quite enjoyed it for eating out/kicking place for young folk etc etc.

He now works 2 weeks on/3 off. He decided he wanted to try living in Berlin for most of his time off rather than London. He says there is absolutely no comparison as Berlin is far better - especially for quality/value of rented accommodation. Been across for a long weekend recently(as well as previous Tartan Army visits gaun via Berlin) and have to agree . Public transport is much cheaper/cleaner. Micro-breweries everywhere. Every nationality under the sun has cafes/restaurants/bars in the city. The place is chilled oot tae fck compared to so much of London/Londoners who still think its the centre of a fckn Empire.

Berlin hammers London particularly when applied to the fitba. Went to see Union Berlin and was a great all day experience. We both loved the terracing, excellent & affordable beer and food. Headn back to visit him soon to take in two home games at Hertha & Union. Cannae wait. Visit London ? Only if paid.

Close the thread. Spot on.

London is shit.

Have you done many of the small museums? If the kids are into skeletons & natural history the Grant Museum is a bit of a gem.

The SIr John Soane Museum in Lincoln's Inn Fields might not grip young 'uns but it's a stunner.

I quite fancy that Sir John Soane museum ,I haven't heard of the other but would the Hunterian not be better for giving him nightmares ?

I keep meaning to go to the Wallace Collection but never seem to get to it.

My missus and the wee man want to go to the Olympic Park so I've promised them we'd go.I've been to the park during the Olympics for work and pleasure.

Is the Hunterian the one full of formaldehyded body bits? Not been but it might do the trick. I take it you've hoicked him into the London Dungeon. Been to the Wallace but so long ago I remember nowt about it.

Aye it is,we have one in Glasgow,Hunter was a Jock.

He doesn't want to go to the dungeons even though I get really cheap tickets through my work,that's why we are going to Sea Life.

Have you ever been to Somerset House ?

Aye it is,we have one in Glasgow,Hunter was a Jock.

He doesn't want to go to the dungeons even though I get really cheap tickets through my work,that's why we are going to Sea Life.

Have you ever been to Somerset House ?

Have I buggery; ask the London-based mob. The Soane Museum is the one I keep returning to but it'd probably bore the tits off your nipper.

Never really thought about before but I lived in London for 3 years and left in 1995. Since then the only times I have been back are in and out jobs for job interviews (maybe twice) never overnight.

Sure there is tonnes of options for things to do but invariably it is very expensive. Public transport is good but again wildly expensive. Not especially fond of Londoners neither. Seems to breed a certain attitude which perhaps like New York takes a bit of getting used to.

To move back there I would have to be paid an absolute shit load and even then you'd know it would be rat race land. Even in 90's a short commute was 45 minutes. Anywhere in London seems to take the same unless you can walk it.

If i was uber wealthy it would be great like New York. Having to make a living... naw it is a shit hole.

Never really thought about before but I lived in London for 3 years and left in 1995. Since then the only times I have been back are in and out jobs for job interviews (maybe twice) never overnight.

Sure there is tonnes of options for things to do but invariably it is very expensive. Public transport is good but again wildly expensive. Not especially fond of Londoners neither. Seems to breed a certain attitude which perhaps like New York takes a bit of getting used to.

To move back there I would have to be paid an absolute shit load and even then you'd know it would be rat race land. Even in 90's a short commute was 45 minutes. Anywhere in London seems to take the same unless you can walk it.

If i was uber wealthy it would be great like New York. Having to make a living... naw it is a shit hole.

The only thing that is more expensive in London than Glasgow for example is rent and travel. Day to day living, socialising at the weekend etc is the same price as everywhere else. Also, i've read too many times in here about people not liking Londoners which is is just a tired old stereotype. It's no different to Londoners accusing us of being miserable khunts, who eat short bread, drink irn bru and fry all our food.

It's a beautiful city that literally has everything going for it. It's biggest problem however is the price of housing which is pushing out born and bred Londoners and people like myself who had the intention of staying there for the rest of my days but had to move home because there was no realisitic way of affording a gaff.

Having been back in Glasgow for 7 months, there is so much we could learn from London in making this a better city for the people who live and visit here.

Is the Hunterian the one full of formaldehyded body bits? Not been but it might do the trick. I take it you've hoicked him into the London Dungeon. Been to the Wallace but so long ago I remember nowt about it.

Surgeons Hall museum in Edinburgh. All sorts of weird shit in jars.

Sammy Johnson got it bang on - When a man is tired of London, he is tired of life.

Sammy Johnson is a twat then, IMO! I have been to London on plenty of occasions, enjoyed every visit to varying degrees, but if I was never to visit again it would not bother me in the slightest..............and I am FAR from tired of life!

It is never difficult to distinguish between a Scotsman with a grievance and a ray of sunshine :P .