It’s Time For a Grown Up Conversation - Page 2 - TA specific - Tartan Army Message Board Jump to content

It’s Time For a Grown Up Conversation

DoonTheSlope

10 hours ago, DoonTheSlope said:

There’s some strong evidence of the Tartan Army rich/poor divide on the new ticketing system thread. One stand out comment being “if you desperately want a point then buy a ticket” but not everyone is in a financial position to spend three figures on tickets they aren’t likely to use just to climb the point ladder. Some are also mindful that the harvesting of points has a detrimental effect on good honest fellow patrons on the lower end of the scale

People buying ticket packages which often go unused or given/sold to someone else while the SSC member gains a point which goes a long way to future away games and finals sales priority

I’m sure most of us on the board are of a socialist political mindset and want to see a fairer society for all at all walks of life, even at the fitbaw

Perhaps it’s maybe time to have a period of levelling up. Members on a higher number of points ie elite perhaps only gain 1 point for away games while those on a lower number ie riff raff continue to gain 2. Similarly with home games the elite gain zero whereas the riff raff still gain 1

Another option might be to go all out socialist and half elite members points. Maybe even have a clean slate and all members start at zero. Tax the rich if you will. A fairer opportunity for all

This would be a great deterrent to those who are harvesting points at home games which for the last 6 years has gone unpoliced. Thankfully it looks like all away games are now 100% pick up so this new procedure of the app allocating points per attendance for home games is a welcome addition 

Please be mindful of the threads title. A grown up conversation.

Discuss

How about giving points on how far away fae Hampden you live, e.g. Glasgow area = 1/2 point, Perth/Dundee =1 point, north England =1 point, Highlands/north east Scotland =2 points etc. That would be a fair way to reward loyalty for those who incur more expense & time attending games at Hampden.

I'm nae being serious with my suggestions but you obviously weren't either, I hope 🤔

Edited by RDFH64

• Replies 84

Harvesting of points is not an issue now that away pick-up imseems to be 100%. I'm fairly sure if you had been to every home game for more than one season, you had enough points to get some tickets for the Euros. That will be the same again now the world cup if we get there with even bigger stadiums and higher costs of travel. OK, if you want tickets for away nations league or qualifiers, you will need to go to an away friendly with a low threshold but that's inevitable to get above others who have been to one or no away games. There will be no effective way of SSC verifying the identities of those entering hampden and they probably don't want one as it would impact sales if tickets were genuinely non-transferable.

11 hours ago, DoonTheSlope said:

Calm doon Lee Anderson

"Grown up conversation" - I think I'm being too realistic so I must automatically be a tory. Another staple argument from those who bring people's finances into an argument over ability to buy tickets.

I'm not the one overstating a relatively simple issue by masquerading it as some type of social commentary.

Here are several basic (and hopefully common-sense) proposals to improve procedures and practices here below. Perhaps WESTA/Hamish Husband could consider tabling these at their next summit meeting with the SFA.

Home match packages

- Match packages should contain competitive games only (qualifiers/Nations League/play-offs). No bundling of friendlies into packages.

- Match packages should build in a tangible discount for SSC members. Otherwise what's the advantage to members of paying a lump some several months in advance of the fixtures? Has to be win-win for SSC members as well as the SFA.

Friendlies

- Tickets for home friendlies should be sold separately and individually, and priced at less than competitive games. 

Away games

- Information on the negotiations and sale of away tickets must be both timeous and informative; 'in due course' is not sufficient as an update (the ongoing Netherlands friendly is a glaring example of how not to do it).

- No additional so-called 'administration fees' for away ticket pick-up. These are operational costs which are the SFA's responsibility as part of the service to the SSC membership

SSC communications

- In general, the clarity and information provided in SSC communications need to be clearer, more complete and more informative to the SSC membership. For example, the recent communications about the new ticketing system were lacking on all three fronts.

- Ticketing information should be e-mailed as standard to all SSC members. These communications should be classified  separately from marketing communications.

- Marketing communications must be clearly differentiated from ticketing information and all members must be able to opt-out of marketing communications should they wish to do so.

There will be other little procedures that could be tweaked for the benefit of SSC membership and SFA alike, however the above would be a start.

To have any chance of getting a euros ticket any exclusively home fans would need to have been members for last 3 campaigns renewed early for latest campaign and attended every single one of the last 10 games. Missing 1 game would've given a decent chance but only at the higher prices

Suggest an additional point for every campaign you've been a member up to a max of say 5 (10 years). I only missed Ireland and one of the ukraine games and had no chance of a ticket. Ideally i'd have gone to Cyprus then spain and or France but my wife was heavily pregnant. Poor timing i know. 

Either that or allow game points to last longer. 15 or 20 games rather than 10 atm.

The top points earners would still be the top earners but folk who have regularly went to home games for years get a wee boost. 

16 hours ago, The Black Bra said:

That’s before my day. How did they allocate tickets for away games if there was no points system, first come first served?

At one point in time they used how log you had been a member, but I think it only ever applied to a couple of games. For most games at that time there were more tickets than travellers.

For me changing up how we award points is a non-starter, you're basically punishing the loyalty and efforts of some rather than reward it.  Unfortunately attending away games is expensive and that will never change.  It's not right that a fan who goes to Georgia/Lichtenstein/Latvia etc potentially misses out on a glamour trip to Spain/Germany/Italy etc simply because they're better off.

IMO the main problem is the 5 match packages with the SFA wanting to get their grubby little hands on our cash for the next full year.  They know doing it game by game increases the risk of lower ticket demand later on if we have a poor NL campaign.  They don't care about empty seats if they've already been paid for.

I want to be back in the North Stand again after missing out due to not buying the package last time so I've bought it this time.  I wasn't planning on going to the NI game but will now seeing as Nov to June is a long time to wait for A Scotland game

Was anyone consulted on the points changes in 2018?

All I remember was receiving an email outlining the changes to how they would be allocated

As a fully paid up card holding member for more years than I care to remember I’d have expected to be consulted and balloted on any significant changes 

3 minutes ago, DoonTheSlope said:

Was anyone consulted on the points changes in 2018?

All I remember was receiving an email outlining the changes to how they would be allocated

As a fully paid up card holding member for more years than I care to remember I’d have expected to be consulted and balloted on any significant changes 

Yes.

You clearly weren't elite enough at that time. Maybe you are now though?

22 minutes ago, Orraloon said:

Yes.

You clearly weren't elite enough at that time. Maybe you are now though?

Perhaps I am elite enough now since I managed to obtain the instructions and carried out the match package buying process without any issue whatsoever yesterday

2 hours ago, Barney Rubble said:

Home match packages

- Match packages should contain competitive games only (qualifiers/Nations League/play-offs). No bundling of friendlies into packages.

- Match packages should build in a tangible discount for SSC members. Otherwise what's the advantage to members of paying a lump some several months in advance of the fixtures? Has to be win-win for SSC members as well as the SFA.

Friendlies

- Tickets for home friendlies should be sold separately and individually, and priced at less than competitive games. 

Great points, 100% agree 👍

9 hours ago, RDFH64 said:

How about giving points on how far away fae Hampden you live, e.g. Glasgow area = 1/2 point, Perth/Dundee =1 point, north England =1 point, Highlands/north east Scotland =2 points etc. That would be a fair way to reward loyalty for those who incur more expense & time attending games at Hampden.

I'm nae being serious with my suggestions but you obviously weren't either, I hope 🤔

This is point which often overlooked. It’s only a home game in terms of the squads preparation and for fans that live within Rutherglen/Glasgow 

57 minutes ago, DoonTheSlope said:

Perhaps I am elite enough now since I managed to obtain the instructions and carried out the match package buying process without any issue whatsoever yesterday

Aye, I think I must have dropped down the rankings a bit. I did get the email eventually, yesterday evening. I read somewhere that Hampden was sold out by that time, though. 😉

17 minutes ago, DoonTheSlope said:

This is point which often overlooked. It’s only a home game in terms of the squads preparation and for fans that live within Rutherglen/Glasgow 

Two points for a home game. That should be the next step.

Re the 100% pick up at away games, I think this is still open to abuse.

On more than one occassion recentley I've only been asked for address and postcode. No evidence other than that requested.

Must be open to someone not attending to give info to say for example a mate thereby allowing him to collect the ticket.

If full pick up is to become a regular occurence it must be made as watertight as possible, for example photographic evidence being requested in all circumstances.

As for non transferability of home tickets it doesn't make much difference to myself as I attend all of them, however given price of things today it would seem a little harsh that you can't recoup a bit of the cost if there is a genuine reason for non attendance. Re-sale platform possible? Obviously with the purchaser getting the home point as opposed to the original buyer.

9 minutes ago, Old Timer said:

On more than one occassion recentley I've only been asked for address and postcode. No evidence other than that requested.

Must be open to someone not attending to give info to say for example a mate thereby allowing him to collect the ticket.

If full pick up is to become a regular occurence it must be made as watertight as possible, for example photographic evidence being requested in all circumstances.

As for non transferability of home tickets it doesn't make much difference to myself as I attend all of them, however given price of things today it would seem a little harsh that you can't recoup a bit of the cost if there is a genuine reason for non attendance. Re-sale platform possible? Obviously with the purchaser getting the home point as opposed to the original buyer.

Good point regarding the data needed for away pick ups

I mentioned previously that someone collected their ticket with their SSC card which had a photo of Ronald Villiers on it during the Wee Chicken Baws era. The SSC staff member handed over the ticket without as much as a by your leave

I still think back to the poor cunt at Wembley who turned up only to find out that his ticket had been given away in error. Understandably he kicked up fuck and subsequently had his membership revoked

Thankfully these occurrences are rare but I do support a 100% pick up at away games

3 minutes ago, DoonTheSlope said:

Good point regarding the data needed for away pick ups

I mentioned previously that someone collected their ticket with their SSC card which had a photo of Ronald Villiers on it during the Wee Chicken Baws era. The SSC staff member handed over the ticket without as much as a by your leave

I still think back to the poor cunt at Wembley who turned up only to find out that his ticket had been given away in error. Understandably he kicked up fuck and subsequently had his membership revoked

Thankfully these occurrences are rare but I do support a 100% pick up at away games

To be fair, quite a lot of folk in the SSC could pass for Ronald Villiers. Even some of the women.

17 hours ago, ceudmilefailte said:

Best way to sort out any points harvesting would be to make all games cash at turnstyles and photo id must be shown.

Cash turnstiles worked for decades. Due to all seater stadiums though that wasn’t any longer feasible for high profile games. However tickets going on sale in the lead up to the actual games passed without any issue

Maybe it’s time to make the SSC work for their dough. You either opt in or opt out of fixture X,Y and Z then they allocate tickets for each person/friend and family group

Bring back queuing up outside Safeway’s on cold autumn nights. Let’s separate the men from the boys

And furfuxake accept cash at the kiosks

10 hours ago, Old Timer said:

Would be a bit of a risk to spend a lot of money travelling in the hope that you are not asked for ID at the pick up. 

18 hours ago, DoonTheSlope said:

Cash turnstiles worked for decades. Due to all seater stadiums though that wasn’t any longer feasible for high profile games. However tickets going on sale in the lead up to the actual games passed without any issue

Maybe it’s time to make the SSC work for their dough. You either opt in or opt out of fixture X,Y and Z then they allocate tickets for each person/friend and family group

Bring back queuing up outside Safeway’s on cold autumn nights. Let’s separate the men from the boys

And furfuxake accept cash at the kiosks

Bugger that lol! Did that at the Greenock Safeway for the Holland play off in 2003 and missed out.  The staff at the time clearly sold the few tickets they had to themselves and/or to their mates.

Remember some poor sod got sent out at 9am after us being queued there for hours to tell us "sorry but there were never any tickets for sale here".  Aye right! 🤣🤣