SNP leadership election - Page 26 - Anything Goes - Other topics not covered elsewhere - Tartan Army Message Board Jump to content

SNP leadership election

23 minutes ago, Ally Bongo said:

If Kate Forbes becomes leader of the SNP is she going to persecute members of the SNP and people in Scotland who are LGBTI+ and start the process of getting rid of same sex marriages, abortion rights and make homosexuality illegal ?

It’s not really about that but it’s pretty clear that she sees LGBTI+ people as not being worthy of the same rights as the rest of us.  If you want to understand why people from that community find that view to be upsetting and unacceptable then maybe you should listen to what they say because they are the people who are directly impacted.

You should also get the idea out of your head that this is all some dirty trick aimed at getting Humza Yousaf elected and that it’s just a bunch of uppity gays and lesbians feigning mock outrage.   

• Replies 2.9k

43 minutes ago, aaid said:

It’s not really about that but it’s pretty clear that she sees LGBTI+ people as not being worthy of the same rights as the rest of us.  If you want to understand why people from that community find that view to be upsetting and unacceptable then maybe you should listen to what they say because they are the people who are directly impacted.

You should also get the idea out of your head that this is all some dirty trick aimed at getting Humza Yousaf elected and that it’s just a bunch of uppity gays and lesbians feigning mock outrage.   

it will make absolutely zero difference to lgbts if Kate Forbes gets in. Zero.

If Kate Forbes becomes leader of the SNP is she going to persecute members of the SNP and people in Scotland who are LGBTI+ and start the process of getting rid of same sex marriages, abortion rights and make homosexuality illegal ?

This leadership contest has made you borderline hysterical.

7 minutes ago, phart said:

The hysteria is directed towards Kate Forbes and to a lesser extent Yousaf

Independence has been trumped by the LGBTI+ crowd and it's fucking bonkers

2 hours ago, phart said:

A 10 tweet rant on day 5 of "Get Forbes" and vote for Humza

Definitely not staged

mhairi.jpg

1 hour ago, hampden_loon2878 said:

It will, they will not have the leverage they have at the moment, hence the toys are out the pram 

thats true, but it’s not like Forbes will roll back any lgbt rights.

thankfully the greens and the gender bill are out the window if Forbes or Regan win!

First Minister hopeful Kate Forbes terrorised by warped stalker who posed for pics with Nicola Sturgeon & Mhairi Black

KATE Forbes was terrorised by a stalker who bombarded her with hundreds of threatening messages, we can reveal.

The First Minister hopeful and her family were targeted in emails by creepy Craig Hackett over a five-month period.

Warped SNP supporter Hackett, of Glasgow was last week hit with a non-harassment order that bans him from contacting Ms Forbes and her loved ones for five years.

18 hours ago, aaid said:

Do you really believe what you have just typed? Her being appointed wont make a difference to these things. She would seperate personal beliefs from work as she has stated.

16 hours ago, Ally Bongo said:

The hysteria is directed towards Kate Forbes and to a lesser extent Yousaf

Independence has been trumped by the LGBTI+ crowd and it's fucking bonkers

Its nuts, it really is. Place is fucked

https://grousebeater.wordpress.com/2023/02/24/the-snps-cannibals/

But what do you do when indigenous people organise themselves so well that they are elected to govern and their motivating creed is to restore the country’s independence, and by so doing, keep all the nation owns and all it earns for the benefit of the people?

You launch a master plan to divide and conquer.

You attack the country’s leading national party four ways. (a) You send in fifth columnists – a group sympathetic to the nation’s enemies, have them infiltrate the nationalist party and derail it’s ambition for liberty. (b) You create a false case of criminality to smear the party’s leader, that person a danger to the oppressor state, taint his reputation. (c) You destabilise the party by introducing a divisive policy or two that cause protest among the people and inevitably spreads dissent and an abhorrence of the national party’s intentions and competency. (d) You pave the way for your own political party to attain government, in Scotland’s case, to reinstate the Labour party as the party of government.

The tactic from SNP head office is for the "big guns" to announce their support for Yousaf daily rather than a bucket load at once

Yesterday it was Mhairi Black

Tonight it is Amy Callaghan

55 minutes ago, Ally Bongo said:

The tactic from SNP head office is for the "big guns" to announce their support for Yousaf daily rather than a bucket load at once

Humza gets the gig then half of those endorsing him will lose their seats

I doubt any of them so far have had consul with their branches either which fucking stinks

I know Christina McKelvie and Angela Crawley havent hanged their Humza colours to the mast yet as the Hamilton SNP branch has their meeting on Monday 27th to discuss the new party leader,  so (at the moment) credit to them for that at least 

No cunt that endorsed either of the 3 candidates (mainly Yousaf) last week will have and i doubt Black and Callaghan have either

STURGEON’S RESIGNATION – WHAT’S LEFT?

By Kenny MacAskill MP

t wasn’t the going but the speed which was the surprise. There was no way that Nicola Sturgeon was going to lead the SNP into the next election as the Gender Recognition issue was the least of her worries.

“Judge me on education” she said, and that would be the first and by no means the hardest of questions she’d have to answer. A Westminster election it maybe, but the focus on the domestic Scottish agenda would be relentless. She was always going to bail before then.

Similarly, the “de facto referendum” conjured up as a fall back for the cardinal folly of a self-inflicted defeat in the Supreme Court’s unraveling by the day. Whether binned entirely or just refined to avoid an outright repudiation, the coming SNP conference will decide. But it again exposed a lack of strategy and the running out of road for the cans she’d been kicking relentlessly on.

Of course, she’s a political debater and government communicator par excellence. You can’t win that many elections or survive in office without being fleet of foot and highly capable. Of that there’s no doubt. Her briefings during Covid were clear and reassuring for many, even if there’s legitimate questions as to why she had to do all of them. Her presence was dignified and calm in comparison to the fraudulence and buffoonery of the then Prime Minister. Some perceptions will remain, and she’s earned them.

Baby boxes and baby footsteps

But what future inquiries though will make on care homes and other aspects time will tell. That might well be a microcosm of a wider analysis of her tenure. Baby boxes and other welcome but limited announcements will be superseded by a deeper analysis on both the big ticket items in government on health, the economy and education along with her strategy for independence. A great short-term tactician but a very poor long-term strategist.

History though will not be kind to Nicola Sturgeon. As a reflection and assessment begins a deeper analysis will replace the photo shot or sound bite. That’ll change the narrative, and much will be harsh.

She may claim that it’s because it’s history not herstory. But it’ll be nothing to do with misogyny but because too often it was just Her Story. From the rock star meetings at the beginning where her husband and Party Chief Executive acted as promoter, through the ever-increasing tightening of control, to the situation she’s bequeathed of a centralized party and a government of yes people, if not sycophants.

That there’s no agreed successor’s also a sign of failure. Part of leadership’s to have a plan for if you go under a bus, not just when you step down. But it was all about her and nothing else could be countenanced. Ironically, that may now be an opportunity. As her inner circle scramble to rally round Humza Yousaf, others from outwith the magic circle can speak to the wider party.

That her husband still remains in senior party office is incredulous, but he’ll be gone soon and what might be exposed will further tarnish. Talented and hugely able but devoid of vision and fearful of opposition, she could and should have achieved so much more.

What’s Left?

The SNP Leadership contest has opened up the debate on what’s “Left”? Kate Forbes and Ash Regan have been attacked for their views on the transgender debate and the former on her views on same sex marriage and abortion. They’re important issues but they’re conscience issues rather than the defining issues for being a radical or even a socialist.

Some spouting the bile against these two ladies have been orchestrating a climate of fear within the SNP. Joining in the clamour are the Greens who want a veto on who can lead the SNP and become First Minister. Given the mess they’ve caused it’s risible.

But the idea that these critics speak from of for the left’s wrong. As Jimmy Reid once commented Scottish socialism’s history’s always had more to do with “morality” than “Marxism”. In the early days an archetypal Scottish radical was defined as a “dissenting weaver”. Their English or Welsh colleague a “methodist” one. That changed as the industrial revolution took over and shipyards and mines became the powerhouse for socialism, as well as the economy.

But the values of many of the leaders never changed. Those dissenting radicals from Thomas Muir’s day, many of when were in secessionist churches, became the Red Clydesiders. Of the latter, two Campbell Stephen and James Barr were United Free Ministers. David Kirkwood was an elder in that Kirk, just as John Wheatley and so many other were pillars of the Catholic Church. In England the doyen of fledgling socialism was Tom Mann who at one stage considered another calling. Temperance was another issue to the fore, as was espoused by Willie Gallagher before he became a communist and a teetotaler he remained.

Societal changes have come about and are welcome. No one’s suggesting proscribing same sex marriage or outlawing abortion. But holding personal views on them’s perfectly legitimate in a democracy. Similarly, arguing for sex-based rights isn’t a right-wing narrative but supportive of long held women’s rights.

Scottish radicalism was founded upon tackling land ownership, addressing poverty and reducing income inequality. That’s what Scotland needs and want’s not the PC brigade who espouse their social agenda, berate those who aren’t equally zealot or simply disagree with them on conscience grounds, yet ignore class and income inequality.

5 hours ago, Ally Bongo said:

Amy Callaghan, big gun, really?

8 minutes ago, aaid said:

Amy Callaghan, big gun, really?

Think you can safely say she is well known amongst the SNP membership - so yes

Ash Regan is mental.

Using the USA and Ireland as examples of countries that didn’t use referendums to gain independence.

Yes, because they fought fucking wars of independence, you fucking idiot.

This is a compete car crash of an interview.  

It is a shambles and taking us further away from running our own country.  I watched Yousef on the tv this morning and he answered every question with no problem.  I would vote for him.  But the problem is our fucked up little country and him being a muslim and the lassie Kate being a wee free will be an obstacle.  Fuck knows what the answer is but it feeds in to the unionists hands and I despair about that.

16 minutes ago, SamP said:

It is a shambles and taking us further away from running our own country.  I watched Yousef on the tv this morning and he answered every question with no problem.  I would vote for him.  But the problem is our fucked up little country and him being a muslim and the lassie Kate being a wee free will be an obstacle.  Fuck knows what the answer is but it feeds in to the unionists hands and I despair about that.

Humza's track record is dismal to say the least, feck auld to do with religion