The Brexit Thread - Page 82 - Anything Goes - Other topics not covered elsewhere - Tartan Army Message Board Jump to content

The Brexit Thread

Looks like the Nos are winning hands down - all the indicative votes?! Amazing work done by them Noes!

But where does it leave us - the House can't bring itself to vote 'for' anything at all! 

50 minutes ago, thplinth said:

I have a huge fucking news flash for you, everyone left right up down wants to see things get better for poor people.

And I have a huge news flash for you. Do they fuck. There is no need whatsoever for anyone in the UK to be poor. People might say they want things to be better for poor folk, but not if their own feathered nest is being pillaged. 

25 minutes ago, Eisegerwind said:

Hahaha .......top class mentalism, what do we want, nothing,when do we want it, whenever.

:-)) The only one thing they actually voted for tonight, was to postpone or undo one positive thing they'd actually done before.

1 hour ago, thplinth said:

People call themselves a socialist and because of it assume they have a moral monopoly over all others. They are bit like born again Christians in this regard (and equally boring).

I have a huge fucking news flash for you, everyone left right up down wants to see things get better for poor people.

Surely capitalism hence capitalists require a pool of relatively poor,uneducated,disenfranchised people in order to stop the rest of the labour market getting too uppitty, supply and demand et al.

All people (ok not the elite, aliens, shape shifters, billionaires, lizards) want the poor to get helped. How many people have you ever heard say opposite... honestly? 

Socialism is your vehicle to help the poor... I get it... IMHO a bus crashing off cliff... on a mercy mission.

There are other ways... like the way that keeps you employed and society together and moving forward. For thousands of years...

I don't call it capitalism... I call it markets and the freer the better. Markets don't like things that don't make them free.

Like capital bullies. Like monopolies, oligarchs, price fixing, corruption...

The clue is in name ...FREE markets.

For them to be free you HAVE to be free.

4 minutes ago, thplinth said:

All people (ok not the elite, aliens, shape shifters, billionaires, lizards) want the poor to get helped. How many people have you ever heard say opposite... honestly? 

Socialism is your vehicle to help the poor... I get it... IMHO a bus crashing off cliff... on a mercy mission.

There are other ways... like the way that keeps you employed and society together and moving forward. For thousands of years...

I don't call it capitalism... I call it markets and the freer the better. Markets don't like things that don't make them free.

Like capital bullies. Like monopolies, oligarchs, price fixing, corruption...

The clue is in name ...FREE markets.

For them to be free you HAVE to be free.

Total arsehole thread for this pish.

16 minutes ago, Eisegerwind said:

Surely capitalism hence capitalists require a pool of relatively poor,uneducated,disenfranchised people in order to stop the rest of the labour market getting too uppitty, supply and demand et al.

I refer you to your total arsehole post above.

10 hours ago, thplinth said:

No they don't - there are many who don't give a shit.

8 hours ago, thplinth said:

Lots to be honest

So can anyone explain to me why the SNP appear not to have voted for any of the alternatives to May's deal. I am taking it they wanted no deal and then to revoke article 50 so have given up on the compromise position?

12 minutes ago, Lamia said:

Lots to be honest

I had added that they usually think it is all poop people's fault for being poor so hell mend them. I will also give you a clue these people never have left of centre views on other issues

9 hours ago, thplinth said:

ok spell it out then.

For a start, what kind of person would stsnd in a party or  vote for a party who withdraw benefits for the poor whilst giving tax breaks to the rich ? Certainly not someone who wants to help the poor thats for sure.,

But its not just politicians or who dont give a fuck. They are just the people with power to actually do something long term to help, but they wont cos they are not really the people running the country.

And we can all take some responsiblity, how much money do we all piss up against a wall ? If people really wanted to help, instead of buying some shite you dont need , like the woman who spends 500 quid on a wee handbag she can barely fit her purse and lipstick into , to the likes of me who buys a fckin egg boiler that sits in the cupboard gathering dust.

Here’s an idea Mrs designer handbag, stroll along to M & S and spend 50 quid, and on your way  spend  the other 450 quid on the 20 beggars you pass on Argyle St. And Tidy, boil your egg in a pot like most people and spend the money you save on eggs for the poor. 

There is enough cash out there to ensure no-one is poor if people actually bothered to do something, but we dont. 

1 hour ago, ParisInAKilt said:

The government loves poor people, especially as they are more likely to be reliant on the state than other people. A party like Labour needs poor people to have a purpose. 

Cool, so capitalists like poor people, Labour parties like poor people and governments like poor people. That'll be why there's so many poor people then I guess.

1 hour ago, Lamia said:

So can anyone explain to me why the SNP appear not to have voted for any of the alternatives to May's deal. I am taking it they wanted no deal and then to revoke article 50 so have given up on the compromise position?

Pete Wishart explains in his blog as to why he abstained on the people's vote motion 

As far as i'm aware they voted against the motions that could have resulted in no deal 

2 hours ago, Lamia said:

SNP Votes on the indicative votes were as follows:

Motion B - John Baron, No Deal - No
Motion D - Nick Boles, Common Market 2.0 - Abstain
Motion E = George Eustace, EFTA and EEA - No
Motion J - Ken Clarke, Customs Union - Abstain
Motion K - Jeremy Corbyn, Labour's alternative plan - Abstain
Motion L - Joanna Cherry, Revocation to follow no deal - Aye
Motion M - Margaret Beckett, Confimatory public vote - Aye 

John McNally doesn't seem to have taken part in any of the votes so I wonder if he was ill and not present.   Pete Wishart and Angus Brendan MacNeil abstained on the confirmatory vote.   

Pete Wishart's reasons for abstaining on the confirmatory vote is below but in summary he thinks it will mean the PM's deal passing which he's against and he's concerned about future implications for an indy ref.   I haven't seen any explanation from Angus MacNeil but he's pretty gung-ho on having a second IndyRef sooner rather than later so I'm guessing that was at least part of his thinking.

https://petewishart.wordpress.com/2019/03/27/how-i-voted-in-the-indicative-votes/

If you want to read the motions then they are here - I suspect that the three motions they abstained on didn't go far enough for them to support.

https://publications.parliament.uk/pa/cm201719/cmagenda/OP190327.pdf

Here's a breakdown on how all the Scottish MPs voted.  Amusing to see that Kirstene Hair abstained on No Deal presumably another decision that was too difficult for her that she decided to leave to others.

On 3/25/2019 at 4:15 PM, hampden_loon2878 said:

Strange,i had that exact convo with my mother and brother yesterday, my brother will vote snp again i have no doubt however my mother is adimint she will not vote snp in the next election due to the fact “nicola obviously doesn’t believe in democracy” a bit depressing really, however a no deal would more than likely iron that out

Bizarre. Ask her which democracy should Nicola believe in? The Scottish one that voted remain, or the UK one that voted leave. Then remind her Nicola is a Scottish nationalist:wacko:

1 hour ago, aaid said:

SNP Votes on the indicative votes were as follows:

Motion B - John Baron, No Deal - No
Motion D - Nick Boles, Common Market 2.0 - Abstain
Motion E = George Eustace, EFTA and EEA - No
Motion J - Ken Clarke, Customs Union - Abstain
Motion K - Jeremy Corbyn, Labour's alternative plan - Abstain
Motion L - Joanna Cherry, Revocation to follow no deal - Aye
Motion M - Margaret Beckett, Confimatory public vote - Aye 

John McNally doesn't seem to have taken part in any of the votes so I wonder if he was ill and not present.  

John McNally’s mother died a couple of days ago. 

Edited by antidote