Fox Hunting - Page 11 - Anything Goes - Other topics not covered elsewhere - Tartan Army Message Board Jump to content

To stop it happening before they had to vote? Also some tories are mad cause they said it was going to fail anyway as they had the numbers and now it's unresolved and will have to come back.

Aye, maybe they all knew it was going to get pulled anyway because of the possibility of rebelling Tory backbenchers and the SNP decided to get some publicity by declaring their intentions early? Who knows? Westminster is a very strange place.

• Replies 270

It was always going to be tough for the SNP to maintain their principled Scottish-only stance. Easy to do when you've only a handful of MPs, a bit more difficult when you're the UK's third largest party...

Exactly.

Yes, it's nice that the SNP voted to save the cuddly wee foxes, but i agree with them voting to maintain the ban for the simple reason it should ensure EVEL gets pushed through - which will be a huge nail in the union's coffin.

Eyes on the big prize, always :ok:

Worth another share.

'Mon the wolves. 'Mon the foxes.

I haven't watched your video but is that the documentary about reintroducing wolves into the wild in Yellowstone or Yosemite? If so, I found the story about that fascinating and how the reintroduction of wolves completely changed the landscape for the better. I assume you've been following the Rewilding Britain campaign?

You're just bitter because no English foxes have managed a team of foxes to the English premier fox league title.

True but it is widley acknowledged that those foreign foxes we have brought in have made it the best and most exciting fox hunting in the world ;-) and we have a young English fox that runs with the Bournmouth hunt that will win the fox league title next season !!

You and Paris are taking this too far,

There should be more young English foxes at the top level but they don't get a chance due to the foreign mercenary foxes being brought in on big money. There should be a qouta introduced along the lines of 2 homegrown foxes to be ripped to pieces by packs of dogs for every one foreigner.

Right, enough is enough, next thing you will be telling me is that the foreign fox got his home through Foxtons estate agents,

To be fair I think youve hit on a solution !! Instead of foxes they should hunt estate agents particularly the foxtons variety !!! who'd complain about that ?

Cumminities secretary Clark gave permission for a puppy farm to be created to supply beagle puppies for experimentation.

http://news.sky.com/story/1519982/controversial-puppy-breeding-farm-gets-go-ahead

A contentious puppy breeding farm for the animal experiment industry has been given planning permission by the Government.

Communities Secretary Greg Clark overturned a planning inspector's refusal to allow a US-owned company to breed beagle puppies at Grimston near Hull, in East Yorkshire, for use in drug tests.

An appeal against the decision was called in by Mr Clark after a previous application was thrown out by his predecessor Sir Eric Pickles in January 2012.

i see there is a petition as well will link it.

https://www.change.org/p/rt-hon-david-cameron-mp-reverse-the-government-s-decision-to-give-the-go-ahead-for-a-puppy-farm-in-hull-created-with-the-purpose-of-providing-beagle-puppies-to-laboratories-for-animal-testing?recruiter=38719122&utm_source=share_petition&utm_medium=facebook&utm_campaign=autopublish&utm_term=mob-xs-share_petition-no_msg

In summary:

1. The SNP said they would vote on an English only issue despite an express promise by its leader that they would not vote on English only issues where she cited fox hunting as an example of an English only issue before the election.

2. The SNP position was voting against a bill to bring English laws in line with Scottish laws that the SNP had taken no steps to amend in 8 years in power and had even previously told the BBC would not be reviewed.

In summary:

1. The SNP said they would vote on an English only issue despite an express promise by its leader that they would not vote on English only issues where she cited fox hunting as an example of an English only issue before the election.

2. The SNP position was voting against a bill to bring English laws in line with Scottish laws that the SNP had taken no steps to amend in 8 years in power and had even previously told the BBC would not be reviewed.

In summary:

Nicola changed her mind.

She' a wummin, she's allowed tae. In fact it's to be expected.

• 3 months later...