Murphy Stops Soapbox Tour - Page 5 - Anything Goes - Other topics not covered elsewhere - Tartan Army Message Board Jump to content

Murphy Stops Soapbox Tour

• Replies 276

Jonny been on the adult lemonade last night. He ignores the SNP neo-liberal economic policy. The planned cut in corporation tax. The tax freezes in Scottish Parliament. Also the UK is recovering better than the majority of Eurozone countries.

Open debate, discourse and campaigning has been damaged by aggressive and intimidating Yes supporters be it street debates or meetings. Even on this board it's not pleasant at times. That is an unfortunate example of nationalism in any politics.

Alan have you been spat at intimidated insulted and assulted at Jim Murphys street debates? We have, so unless you have been to as many of these street events as we have you will have no idea of what is going on out of camera shot. Jim Murphy reffers tom the yes campaign as the nationalists just as you do.I'll ask you the same as I asked Murphy. Are the Labour for Yes nationalists? In some countries people get killed during elections,all Murphy is getting is heckled and egged.Hardly life threatening.You and the BT camp need to get a grip ffs.

I am starting to think that the whole thing was a set up. If he was serious about what he was doing then why cancel the tour just because one numpty threw an egg? Murphy was getting nowhere with his soapbox tour and the only attention he was getting was from Yes supporters who had turned up to heckle him; so he decided to turn the tables, knowing full well that the 'assault' would ensure wall to wall media coverage for days.

Put it this way, the image of the guy who egged him is now all over the internet. I'd expect the culprit to be named and lifted within the next couple of days. If he isn't, then you have to wonder why.

Some things to think about here.Murphy has had all his street debates filmd,he has been heckled at nearly all of them.He was also part of Blairs war cabinet during the Iraq war so could be a target for Islamists. Why were there no uniformed police at any of his events?Remember they were on town main streets,I never saw one policeman anywhere near when Murphy was in town.Maybe he did not want the police to witness his supporters intimidating and abusing the yessers.

We could have done without tit, though.

It's a distraction from the issues.

Flure I think that was the whole point of Murphys 100 towns in 100 days.He knew the kind of reception it would bring and he has milked it for all its worth.But if we were not there to ask him questions and rebute his lies then he would have just got away with it.I think people are starting to realise this is a massive reaction from BetterTogether over nothing but a storm in an egg cup.

Oh, nothing wrong with turning up and giving him a hard time, verbally.

But the egg-throwing ......

It was all so predictable.

Board members planning to listen to a man who pretends he wants people to listen Alan ?

How dare these Jocks be allowed to go and be lectured to by the lying racist Murphy.Just stay in your place .You have no right to listen to this man who stands up in a public highway.You have no right to voice concern over your own future.You have no right to free speech in your own country.You have no right to a country of your own and the normal status for 99% of people on the planet.

When a warmongering racist with blood on his hands who supports weapons of mass destruction over an increase in child poverty starts to cry because food is thrown at him you really have to laugh.The irony is i bet the children who rely on foodbanks would have better use for an egg.

If you have ever debated anything in your life Alan you will realise that Murphy is not debating he is screaming at the top of his voice through a megaphone.There is no debate here .

You say you agree with Ghandi .here's another one to ponder your voting intentions with.

“I can retain neither respect nor affection for government which has been moving from wrong to wrong in order to defend its immorality”

Mahatma Gandhi

Best post so far on this new board.

Aye you are of course correct.Murphy did not get the reaction he wanted so what to do.mmmm oh lets dig up something from 20 years ago and lets get egged by one of my own ,that will make good news.Well to be honest its water off a ducks back to me as I expect this crap before elections.

We could have done without tit, though.

It's a distraction from the issues.

It is counter-productive. I know waverers who are more likely to vote No now because they came across some medley on YouTube of Murphy getting heckled.

Heckling and debating are fine, but shouting someone down (including questioners) just looks like yobbishness, and that’s a vote loser.

I guess it’s all in the editing, though: which bits gets to YouTube and which don’t.

... and playing intae the hands of the 'No' campaigners, John.

The UK loves and underdog and, with daftie getting egged, it gives the detractors of independence a puir, wee victim to nail their colours to.

Aye you are of course correct.Murphy did not get the reaction he wanted so what to do.mmmm oh lets dig up something from 20 years ago and lets get egged by one of my own ,that will make good news.Well to be honest its water off a ducks back to me as I expect this crap before elections.

New board same old paranoid conspiracy theory pish, egged by one of his own you couldn't make it.

Daily on national newspapers, anyone who supports independence is labeled an extremist...simply because we want something other than the government we have just now.

What in reality is an incredibly healthy civic nationalism in Scotland is labeled dangerous and accused of fanaticism.

On social media sites, supporters of independence are compared to Nazis, brownshirts and have to endure constant abuse about concentration camps and the holocaust.

All of it is a deliberate attempt to marginalise the independence movement, and all of this goes unreported, and without any kind of condemnation.

Any kind of physical attack is out of order and must be condemned....but let's not kid ourselves that the Unionists aren't using their propaganda as a campaign tool.

Daily on national newspapers, anyone who supports independence is labeled an extremist...simply because we want something other than the government we have just now.

What in reality is an incredibly healthy civic nationalism in Scotland is labeled dangerous and accused of fanaticism.

On social media sites, supporters of independence are compared to Nazis, brownshirts and have to endure constant abuse about concentration camps and the holocaust.

All of it is a deliberate attempt to marginalise the independence movement, and all of this goes unreported, and without any kind of condemnation.

Any kind of physical attack is out of order and must be condemned....but let's not kid ourselves that the Unionists aren't using their propaganda as a campaign tool.

And vice versa.

People need to take a step back and get a bit of perspective on this. This has been the most successful and peaceful independence negotiation ever anywhere in the world. No civil war. No loss of life at all.

If it wasn't for the fact that it's screwing the UK government, the UK would have been hooting to the world about us being a model of how things should be done. Glorious example for the world etc. We'd be getting nominated for Nobel peace prizes!

But no, the UK is in danger so heckling and egg throwing is getting as much coverage now as some of the terrible stuff that went on in the former Yugoslavia in the mid 90s. And getting more coverage than some horrible struggles in Iraq and Afghanistan.

Perspective people.

Nationalism skews judgement. It's emotional. Normally politics is boring in a democracy. There are various political spheres be it Left, centre, right, socialist, conservative, liberal etc which overlap at times and ultimately are about how to spend money of the public.

However there has been co-ordinated plans to drown out and intimidate debate due to the very nature of nationalism. It's been posted on here with board members posturing and planning to meet Jim Murphy's tour. The debate is shutdown. It's a shouting match. Aggressive and intimidating. And no SNP politician has tried to stop it.

It's not positive. It's horrible.

There is so much pish in that post I don't know where to start. ffs

New board same old paranoid conspiracy theory pish, egged by one of his own you couldn't make it.

Larky we have pictures and videos of the egger aye clear pics of him that have been handed into the police.His face has been allover the news.Has any arrests been made? No.