The Mighty DUFC Thread - Football related - Discussion of non TA football - Tartan Army Message Board Jump to content

1 hour ago, Jim Beem said:

On a scale of 1 to 10 how much are Rangers fans shitting it for Sunday

1 being 'not in the slightest' up to 10 being ' I think it'll be at least 3"  

I wouldn’t say I’m shitting it but I don’t think I’ve enjoyed a game since a Christmas. The closer we get to sealing the title the more I’m going in to each game thinking we’re going to drop points! 

I’m glad we’ve got Morelos back at the weekend as we’ve looked a bit toothless without him. 

I’ll be honest, after the St Mirren, Hibs and Motherwell games I wanted Mellon punted. The fitba all season has been negative and pish and Shankland has been isolated and feeding off scraps. 

Last two games though have seen a vast improvement and two very good wins, scoring and not conceding. 

Hopefully it continues 👍🏼

1 hour ago, McTeeko said:

I’ll be honest, after the St Mirren, Hibs and Motherwell games I wanted Mellon punted. The fitba all season has been negative and pish and Shankland has been isolated and feeding off scraps. 

Last two games though have seen a vast improvement and two very good wins, scoring and not conceding. 

Hopefully it continues 👍🏼

I was the same to be honest, totally lost patience with him. Very strange one as the first few games he was so positive and then it all changed almost overnight. 

On reflection I think we need to cut him a bit of slack ( maybe the same for quite a few managers ) At the start of the season I think most fans and clubs thought we would be back in grounds at some point. When it started to look like it was never happening I think his remit slightly changed and it was to avoid relegation at all costs. The predicted (or hoped ) finances would also have gone down the toilet with the realisation of a full season with no fans. The pressure I think was severe. As I say, I doubt we are alone. I wonder if getting through January and still having Shankland and Seigrist will prove pivotal.  

I think this could be the worst possible season to get relegated

Edited by Jim Beem

2 hours ago, Fairbairn said:

I wouldn’t say I’m shitting it but I don’t think I’ve enjoyed a game since a Christmas. The closer we get to sealing the title the more I’m going in to each game thinking we’re going to drop points! 

I’m glad we’ve got Morelos back at the weekend as we’ve looked a bit toothless without him. 

Surely you mean studless :ok:

1 hour ago, Jim Beem said:

I was the same to be honest, totally lost patience with him. Very strange one as the first few games he was so positive and then it all changed almost overnight. 

On reflection I think we need to cut him a bit of slack ( maybe the same for quite a few managers ) At the start of the season I think most fans and clubs thought we would be back in grounds at some point. When it started to look like it was never happening I think his remit slightly changed and it was to avoid relegation at all costs. The predicted (or hoped ) finances would also have gone down the toilet with the realisation of a full season with no fans. The pressure I think was severe. As I say, I doubt we are alone. I wonder if getting through January and still having Shankland and Seigrist will prove pivotal.  

I think this could be the worst possible season to get relegated

It was his constant ramblings after every game - “We’ll get back on the training pitch, work hard.....” etc EVERY week but nothing changed. Csaba levels of nonsense. 
Having said that though I like the guy and really hope he does well and if the current form continues I’ll be happy 👍🏼

On 2/15/2021 at 5:08 PM, McTeeko said:

It was his constant ramblings after every game - “We’ll get back on the training pitch, work hard.....” etc EVERY week but nothing changed. Csaba levels of nonsense. 
Having said that though I like the guy and really hope he does well and if the current form continues I’ll be happy 👍🏼

it's an interesting one as though he has a decent managerial record he has absolutely zero experience of the Scottish game.

Managers parachuted in to clubs, including the Old Firm, who have never played or managed in Scotland before do not tend to fare very well. At best their record is patchy but I can't think of one manager who has come into Scottish football fresh and delivered what all could agree, was a good job. Jansen at Celtic maybe? Certainly not Golac despite the Scottish Cup win. Not Skovdhal. Gerrard - a few years in, a lot of money spent and a lot of players added to an expanding squad, and no trophies before Celtic's implosion so jury certainly still out on him. 

I get the sense that most, if not all successful managers in the Scottish game have either played here or managed a club first before moving on to a bigger club.

I await to be proved no doubt spectacularly wrong though determining success is subjective so I'll fall back on to that - some folks still argue that Berti Vogt's was a success......

27 minutes ago, Return of Yermaw said:

it's an interesting one as though he has a decent managerial record he has absolutely zero experience of the Scottish game.

Managers parachuted in to clubs, including the Old Firm, who have never played or managed in Scotland before do not tend to fare very well. At best their record is patchy but I can't think of one manager who has come into Scottish football fresh and delivered what all could agree, was a good job. Jansen at Celtic maybe? Certainly not Golac despite the Scottish Cup win. Not Skovdhal. Gerrard - a few years in, a lot of money spent and a lot of players added to an expanding squad, and no trophies before Celtic's implosion so jury certainly still out on him. 

I get the sense that most, if not all successful managers in the Scottish game have either played here or managed a club first before moving on to a bigger club.

I await to be proved no doubt spectacularly wrong though determining success is subjective so I'll fall back on to that - some folks still argue that Berti Vogt's was a success......

I wouldnt call Vogts a success, but he did do a lot for Scottish football in the time he was here, given what he was left to start with. 

For the club manager part, Advocaat?

33 minutes ago, dandydunn said:

I wouldnt call Vogts a success, but he did do a lot for Scottish football in the time he was here, given what he was left to start with. 

For the club manager part, Advocaat?

agree to disagree on Vogt's; Advocate, aye, but with the money he had to chuck about he probably had an advantage few others would ever have. But undoubtedly a success domestically and I think also a few good European runs 

22 minutes ago, kumnio said:

For a foreign manager, what Mixu Paatelainen achieved was great. Always entertaining, goals aplenty, sad to see him gone in all honesty. 

Paatelainen played in Scotland for years so as a manager in any of his stints knew what he was getting into. Mellon, despite being Scottish, hasn't played or managed here.