Better Options at Centre Back? - Page 2 - TA specific - Tartan Army Message Board Jump to content

Better Options at Centre Back?

Super_Scotlandfan

1 hour ago, mcnish said:

If he was 100% committed then presumably he would not have chosen to play for England and not waited for his career to bomb before showing a half hearted interest in playing for us.

I'm pretty sure the home nations have an agreement not to pick players that have already played a full international for another British team and its not right anyway, it would just cheapen the jersey further (if it could look any cheaper than last night's girlish apparel)

has he shown an interest

I've missed that

if so he should have been straight in

we are too gash to care about niceties

• Replies 110

Being honest people saying John Souttar, Liam Cooper and Danny Wilson aren't good enough for international football - Is Grant Hanley!? No he isn't, he's not even a championship level centre half.

Souttar, Cooper & Wilson are young enough to get better... So is Grant Hanley but he hasn't improved in his 20 odd caps to date, if anything he looks worse each time he pulls on the jersey.

Now the group is a write off and we are basically screwed once again how about we actually blood some new players so that in the next Euro campaign we have a younger squad with some experience behind them to have a real go.

Deadwood and tried and tested failures out please - Younger players with some hunger and the ability to improve into the squad in their place.

28 minutes ago, Fish Gills Mcginty said:

Big Anderson at Saint Johnston is probably the best Scottish centre half in Scotland.... never gonna happen though

You'll get laughed at because Saints are a "diddy" club, he doesn't play for the Old Firm or the fact that he's not English. :rolleyes:

For the first time last night I actually had a thought that Considine should maybe get a call.  

On the centre half front Scotland need to try and sort this out in 2 phases.  Immediately get 3/4 steady if unspectacular experienced players who are playing week in week out for their clubs. So yes Considine and yes to Steven Anderson as 2 of that pool of 4. 

Longer term up and coming centre backs identified immediately and be 'specially nutured' for the want of a better phrase towards playing 1st team football at a good level as early as possible and fast tracked through u17 to u21 age groups ready to of the standard to play full international football by 20/21. Will of course need clubs to commit to this but surely a win win all round?

48 minutes ago, AberdeenAngus said:

For the first time last night I actually had a thought that Considine should maybe get a call.  

On the centre half front Scotland need to try and sort this out in 2 phases.  Immediately get 3/4 steady if unspectacular experienced players who are playing week in week out for their clubs. So yes Considine and yes to Steven Anderson as 2 of that pool of 4. 

Longer term up and coming centre backs identified immediately and be 'specially nutured' for the want of a better phrase towards playing 1st team football at a good level as early as possible and fast tracked through u17 to u21 age groups ready to of the standard to play full international football by 20/21. Will of course need clubs to commit to this but surely a win win all round?

Both these two guys play too much first team football for Strachan's liking, but when big Tommy Wright gets the gig, Ando will be a first pick! But is certainly a problem area and not much out there to help in the short term.

Anderson and Considine would be a much better pairing than Hanley and Greer/Martin/Berra.

They play for the wrong clubs though. Strachan prefers English lower league reserves, or wee boy/men that might have played in a 7-0 thrashing against Barcelona.

Edited by Rossy

8 minutes ago, Rossy said:

Anderson and Considine would be a much better pairing than Hanley and Greer/Martin/Berra.

They play for the wrong clubs though. Strachan prefers English lower club reserves. 

Must be a cold day in hell cause I find myself agreeing with Rossy.  At least Ando can put away a header when he gets the chance https://youtu.be/Nseo86l4GLY?t=44s

Edited by Capital Saint

5 hours ago, JECK said:

had a thought before has anyone ever went with 4 centre halfs before, aswell as full backs? 2 midfielders, 1 forward and one in behind. Genuinely thinking this given we have shipped f***** 8 goals already in this campaign. Fletcher as one those centre halfs is mental though as he you couldn't get a Sunday Post under him - he can barely jump.

Just a thought from earlier - to drastic to play 4 centre halfs? 

It seems to be generally agreed that, for whatever reason, Scottish players at all ages and levels lack the skills and technique of most other nations.

Yet, if that's the case, you'd think we could at least produce centre backs. Big guys that can mark and header and clear. No fancy-dan stuff needed. How can we not even manage that?

What about this big Harry Souttar lad? Not right away obviously but perhaps but one for the future. Centre halfs normally get better with age do they not so maybe theres hope for Hanley yet. Just thinking our last decent centre half was probably davie weir 

2 hours ago, JECK said:

What about this big Harry Souttar lad? Not right away obviously but perhaps but one for the future. Centre halfs normally get better with age do they not so maybe theres hope for Hanley yet. Just thinking our last decent centre half was probably davie weir 

Centre halfs do tend to get better with age, concentrate more, read the game better, cut out the silly mistakes but I'm not sure whether Hanley is learning from his.  I'm sure a lack of first team action isn't helping him.

13 hours ago, AustroSchotte said:

Does he not Play for Hibs ? Would Gray be better would he know how to Header a baw in the net oder ?

Think we should call up Liam Henderson for his corners. 

Sir David Gray should be called up regardless. 

McGregor for me in the past few seasons has been one of the best central defenders in Scotland. We could do no better and call him up for the next game. 

11 minutes ago, Fish Gills Mcginty said:

Care to educate us? 

Aye, let's play him at left back , let's try him at centre back even though he's never a CB in a million years. What about that no mark that's in league 1 and has had 2 good games in 10 months...let's play him. Ryan Gauld still has time it'll all be ok etc etc etc.