Portugal v France - Euro 2016 - Tartan Army Message Board Jump to content

Portugal v France

morrie21

Well we have arrived at the final match of Euro 2016. How time seems to fly when there's a football tournament on. I hope the game tonight is entertaining but I can see it becoming more and more of a tactical affair which will suit Portugal who seem to be very comfortable with playing in close games under their current coach. When the semi finals were over I was sure France would take it but as the game has gotten closer and closer I'm beginning to think that Portugal might just pull it off. So my prediction is Portugal to lift the trophy after a tense tight affair, winning 1-0. What say you fellow TAMB users?

Portugal are smothering the French.

It's not pretty to watch, but they work incredibly hard for each other. 

Adidas aren't coming off well today. 2 people kick the ball at once in a 50 50 and it bursts then someone steps on nanis foot and guess through the material!!

5 minutes ago, ibelieve!!! said:

Are Man Utd seriously going to pay £100 million for Pogba?!!!

He has been great this season. Been a bit smothered tonight in there though.

3 minutes ago, Rossy said:

Portugal won one game in the whole tournament inside 90 minutes.

:unsure:

They've  done what Greece did at their party...

7 minutes ago, Mox said:

Awful game, awful tournament, awful champions. Cannae wait for club football to come back.

Aye the amazing Champions League has my lips whetted...

Watched every minute of the World Cup but this tournament passed me by. Groups were dull and then got worse. Wwtched a few games on highlights and a few didn't even bother at all. My interest in football has defo dropped but this is the worst tournament in terms of internationals I can remember.

Increasing the size of the tournament by 50% was always going to dilute the quality. 

Crazy that 44% of European teams get to play in he finals.

They should reduce it to 16 teams again for 2024...

1 hour ago, Mox said:

Awful game, awful tournament, awful champions. Cannae wait for club football to come back.

Aye coz celtic are mintit

42 minutes ago, jock strap said:

Happy for Ronaldo.

Really happy the tournament is over. 

Why hes a jobby!!!!

A team that has won one game in 90 mins has won, didnt even win to get out the group, its crazy. They were shite, ronaldo was shite and yet they lap it up. Extending it was wn awful idea! Bad night for football.

I don't think there's a problem with that many teams at the finals.. In fact, I think it's good as it makes the qualifiers more interesting and allows for new faces to appear at finals.

The change I'd make for next time is to remove the round of 16. Keep the six group format, but only the group winners and 2 best 2nd place teams go through. You'll see less cagey opening round games with that format.

18 minutes ago, COLT NY said:

The change I'd make for next time is to remove the round of 16. Keep the six group format, but only the group winners and 2 best 2nd place teams go through. You'll see less cagey opening round games with that format.

Only 8 teams getting out the groups would be pretty brutal .

Maybe have it that the top 2 go through but the teams with the 4 best records get a bye to the quarter final, that would encourage more positive play?

Aye, I'd be happy enough with that too... Let's not forget though that it wasn't that long ago that only 8 teams made it to the finals. That was brutal. 

Whatever they do... getting to the next round should never be a formality for any team, and nobody should be able to do it without winning.

Archived