Austerity! "i'd Pay More Tax If I Could" - Page 9 - Anything Goes - Other topics not covered elsewhere - Tartan Army Message Board Jump to content

Austerity! "i'd Pay More Tax If I Could"

• Replies 245

To be fair I am genuinely not sure Alan would pass the Turing Test as at times it does really resemble machine generated anti SNP spam. He is also almost completely one dimensional in what he posts about which does not help the robot appearance thing neither.

21 minutes ago, thplinth said:

To be fair I am genuinely not sure Alan would pass the Turing Test as at times it does really resemble machine generated anti SNP spam. He is also almost completely one dimensional in what he posts about which does not help the robot appearance thing neither.

Well he does just disappear when contradictions in his argument appear, then reappears later. For example the false Dichotomy of having austerity or raising income tax, this is the binary choice available to us. When it obviously isn't.

8 minutes ago, phart said:

Well he does just disappear when contradictions in his argument appear, then reappears later. For example the false Dichotomy of having austerity or raising income tax, this is the binary choice available to us. When it obviously isn't.

He's been through the checklist 2 dozen times and can't find the answer to that one. It's not really his fault. 

7 minutes ago, phart said:

I think that is the bone of contention, him constantly accusing folk of being robots when he himself is easily the most robotic poster on here. He is the very definition of it. I honestly have no idea how someone (human) can be so 'consistent' and narrow minded over such a long period of time. Any credibility that any of his arguments might have is lost due to the fact that you know he only ever see things through an anti SNP lens. That is pure robotory man.

12 minutes ago, thplinth said:

I think that is the bone of contention, him constantly accusing folk of being robots when he himself is easily the most robotic poster on here. He is the very definition of it. I honestly have no idea how someone (human) can be so 'consistent' and narrow minded over such a long period of time. Any credibility that any of his arguments might have is lost due to the fact that you know he only ever see things through an anti SNP lens. That is pure robotory man.

Or someone good at staying within their remit.

Or he is a true partisan. I think the latter.

8 minutes ago, thplinth said:

But he reads all them fancy newspapers though. He holds that reading ability up as a badge of honour. Did you not see him boasting about it the other day? He doesn't realise that the ability to read doesn't always equate with the ability to understand. He regurgitates the stuff he has read in those "unbiased" papers and when anybody points out that that stuff is pish, he doesn't have the knowledge to answer back as he hasn't tried to understand the issue in the first place.

Then again, maybe he is just a troll trying to wind folk up? 

18 hours ago, Scunnered said:

That's what I was telling folk during the referendum, I genuinely believed the SNP could have been defeated in the first general election and we could have a fairer country. I don't think I could believe that in a referendum in the near future.

Right Scunny. Talk me through this one...

You believed in independence when you thought it would get you your own way, but now you've realised the vast majority of people in the country don't share your vision, you no longer believe in independence?

Have I got that right? Surely you believe in independence or not? Even now the most important benefit (self determination) still exists. The ultimate defeat of this SNP would have come in due course, such is the cyclical nature of politics, but because you now think it wouldn't happen after the first term, you turn your back on independence? Isn't that a wee bit selfish and unsocialist of you? You're in danger of sounding like one of those less intelligent people who used to say things like "I'm voting No because I cannae stand that Alex Salmond".

7 minutes ago, Marky said:

You believed in independence when you thought it would get you your own way, but now you've realised the vast majority of people in the country don't share your vision, you no longer believe in independence?

Have I got that right? Surely you believe in independence or not? Even now the most important benefit (self determination) still exists. The ultimate defeat of this SNP would have come in due course, such is the cyclical nature of politics, but because you now think it wouldn't happen after the first term, you turn your back on independence? Isn't that a wee bit selfish and unsocialist of you? You're in danger of sounding like one of those less intelligent people who used to say things like "I'm voting No because I cannae stand that Alex Salmond".

You're being a little one dimensional for my liking, I don't think you have a valid point in there, but others may disagree.

I supported independence because it was the progressive option at the time, we've moved on from that moment, installing a Corbyn :wub: led Labour government in Westminster is now the progressive option available.  IF there was a referendum between now and the next General election in 2020, I'd vote No, I have no problem admitting that.  Would I support independence in the future?  It depends on the circumstances.  I didn't support independence prior to 2011 but I campaigned for a Yes vote harder than a majority of people on here will have.

Your last section is insulting and from what I can see was written only to antagonise.  What WOULD be selfish and unsocialist of me would be supporting an ideal that in it's current form would obliterate public services.

And anyway, I voted Yes despite hating that Alex Salmond :wink2:

As a general note/

We don't live in a socialist world so you can't blame folk for not being "socialist" in that sense, a lot of mechanisms aren't in place so it's impossible to be so.

Like Tony Benn and his money left, there is no socialist mechanism for the distribution of his wealth, so why would he just dump it into the Capitalist system instead?

47 minutes ago, Marky said:

No :lol:

Despite the attention Scunnered's politics gets on here, it's amazing how often he's misinterpreted

7 hours ago, TDYER63 said:

You have the audacity to call the  SNP supporters  'robots' when you are aspiring to a leafy suburb in East Renfrewshire  to join the hoards of ladies who lunch and who would stab their granny for a place at a good ( free) school for their wee darlings. 

The exam results in Glasgow Council are poor. Why should I put up with this when I can improve my childs chances? Education in Scotland is a postcode lottery with little variety or choice. Kids in deprived areas in London from backgrounds that are historically underachieving are beating Scottish results.

Still who wants to pay more tax? Not many.

1 hour ago, Scunnered said:

You're being a little one dimensional for my liking, I don't think you have a valid point in there, but others may disagree.

I supported independence because it was the progressive option at the time, we've moved on from that moment, installing a Corbyn :wub: led Labour government in Westminster is now the progressive option available.  IF there was a referendum between now and the next General election in 2020, I'd vote No, I have no problem admitting that.  Would I support independence in the future?  It depends on the circumstances.  I didn't support independence prior to 2011 but I campaigned for a Yes vote harder than a majority of people on here will have.

Your last section is insulting and from what I can see was written only to antagonise.  What WOULD be selfish and unsocialist of me would be supporting an ideal that in it's current form would obliterate public services.

And anyway, I voted Yes despite hating that Alex Salmond :wink2:

That would all be fine Scunnered if the notion of a Corbyn led Labour being voted into Westminster power wasn't utterly fantastic. Surely even you don't believe that will actually happen?

The most likely vehicle for Scotland ultimately being governed by Labour was then and still is now, independence. Albeit as you say, that would not happen overnight. 

And apologies for the last line of my previous post. I was indeed being mischievous. ;)

1 hour ago, ParisInAKilt said:

No :lol:

Despite the attention Scunnered's politics gets on here, it's amazing how often he's misinterpreted

Aye but to be fair it's easily done. He deliberately doesn't fully explain himself to get reactions off dafties like me. He loves it the slut. :lol:

I've been really good recently but I couldn't resist that one. Hating myself already ;)

15 minutes ago, Marky said:

That would all be fine Scunnered if the notion of a Corbyn led Labour being voted into Westminster power wasn't utterly fantastic. Surely even you don't believe that will actually happen?

The most likely vehicle for Scotland ultimately being governed by Labour was then and still is now, independence. Albeit as you say, that would not happen overnight. 

And apologies for the last line of my previous post. I was indeed being mischievous. ;)

I don't want a Labour government :lol: I want a Corbyn led Labour government. The Scottish equivalent would be a Richard Leonard led Scottish Labour government in Holyrood... What a bounce that will be when that beautiful is sent to Holyrood in May!

Of course I believe Corbyn can be PM, I believed he'd be Labour leader when others scoffed.

13 minutes ago, Marky said:

Aye but to be fair it's easily done. He deliberately doesn't fully explain himself to get reactions off dafties like me. He loves it the slut. :lol:

Ach you're being unfair, I'm just not a fan of absolutes. :)

17 minutes ago, Scunnered said:

I don't want a Labour government :lol: I want a Corbyn led Labour government. The Scottish equivalent would be a Richard Leonard led Scottish Labour government in Holyrood... What a bounce that will be when that beautiful is sent to Holyrood in May!

However, you are more likely to see an Anas Sarwar led Scottish Labour opposition come 2021.

8 minutes ago, aaid said:

However, you are more likely to see an Anas Sarwar led Scottish Labour opposition come 2021.

A Ruth led opposition is a possibility this year. What a joy that'll be, no opposition at all, just a government and some cheerleaders.

5 minutes ago, Scunnered said:

A Ruth led opposition is a possibility this year. What a joy that'll be, no opposition at all, just a government and some cheerleaders.

Och min. Ruthie in a cheerleaders outfit? You've jist put me aff my tea. Could be worse I suppose. At least Wullie Rennie won't be doing any cheer leading.

20 minutes ago, Orraloon said:

Och min. Ruthie in a cheerleaders outfit? You've jist put me aff my tea. Could be worse I suppose. At least Wullie Rennie won't be doing any cheer leading.

If I weren't going to football tonight id well be photo shopping that, would be well worth vomiting in my mouth 4-5 times.