Freedom Square Rally - Page 3 - Anything Goes - Other topics not covered elsewhere - Tartan Army Message Board Jump to content

Freedom Square Rally

• Replies 94

Absolutely not!

Despite him being a convicted liar, I rarely bring up the charge against him, his behaviour towards activists, in particular females within the SSP is the reason behind my absolute hatred of the man. He's filth, absolute filth.

I hope it's a particularly gory one. I've often mentioned a bear as my preferred method! A class traitor devouring bear!

Even if he did do everything that he was convicted of, he could still have been set up. Happens all the time.

Don't forget CallmeDave's pal is due to stand trial for perjury soon. It was supposed to be in April but I see it's been postponed until 11th of May. How convenient.

He still talks a lot of sense and, despite his personal inadequacies, lots of folk still think the sun shines oot of his erse. One of the main tools used by establishments over the decades to combat Socialism is the old tried and tested "divide and conquer". Looks like it's still working.

Have you ever thought that he might have been set up?

Political movements the world over who are at the extreme ends of the political spectrum (both left and right) seem quite adept at diving themselves without interference from anyone.

I was at the rally today and found plenty to cheer - some good speeches, good craic. 'Chunkie Mark' the taxi driver was on good form.

Forelock a bit sore from having to bow and scrape before Lord and Lady Flure, but apart from that a grand day out - and one to inspire more work in the next 12 days.

For the first time in decades it feels like something could really change at this election.

I was at the rally today and found plenty to cheer - some good speeches, good craic. 'Chunkie Mark' the taxi driver was on good form.

Forelock a bit sore from having to bow and scrape before Lord and Lady Flure, but apart from that a grand day out - and one to inspire more work in the next 12 days.

For the first time in decades it feels like something could really change at this election.

Absolutely.

Anyone who thought this was a crowd of people in denial of the referendum result need their head tested. It was 'Indy lite' and more about hope for a stronger Scotland within the current set up. Great day.

Political movements the world over who are at the extreme ends of the political spectrum (both left and right) seem quite adept at diving themselves without interference from anyone.

There's truth to that sadly. However from where I sit the Left are fairly unanimous in their disgust at Tommy Sheridan.

Amongst Socialist activists and party members that may well be true. But for ordinary folk who might think about voting for a Socialist party he is still by far the best known socialist in Scotland. Folk listen to what he has got to say. I can't think of anybody better known for their socialist views. Even your pal Katy is fairly anonymous by comparison and she's not even a proper socialist.

Amongst Socialist activists and party members that may well be true. But for ordinary folk who might think about voting for a Socialist party he is still by far the best known socialist in Scotland.

A prime reason as to lack of progress with the Scottish Left, when Tommy, a criminal, not a socialist is what people still associate most with Scottish socialism. The amount of apologists defending him today against cross party criticism from real active socialists was disgusting and genuinely upsetting.

The day that cretin steps out of the public eye, for whatever reason will be a small victory for the left.

Tommy Sheridan is quite possibly the main reason that the word "Socialism" even gets a mention in Scottish politics today.

If the Socialist parties in Scotland insist on continuing the in fighting amongst themselves they will never get more than a few thousand votes.

Tommy Sheridan is quite possibly the main reason that the word "Socialism" even gets a mention in Scottish politics today.

If the Socialist parties in Scotland insist on continuing the in fighting amongst themselves they will never get more than a few thousand votes.

You're right about Tommy, admittedly I once looked up to him, but he's disgraced and no longer supports socialist ideals. He is no longer a Socialist in any form, despite his claim to the contrary.

I'm looking forward to the 2016 election, the SLP will be a test of whether the Yes supporting left can work together to bring progressive ideas to the Scottish Government. I don't always agree with Shafi or Boyd but their groundwork on the coalition so far is definitely to be applauded. It remains to be seen if there will be TUSC cooperation, but exciting times ahead if so.

Edited by Scunnered

Have all the true socialists spent their bounty they got from Rupert Murdoch for giving their side of the story ?

How would you treat a marriage wrecking hoor who was lining up to get rid of you politically (and for financial gain) by putting you in jail ? Only tell a wummin what she needs to know or it will come back and bite you on the arse* (*not an extra at cupids)

This is true IMO.The problem also lies with the fact that Sheridan is a brilliant orator .. None of the others save Carolyn Leckie even comes close.Sheridan was far more effective in persuading die hard life long Labour supporters in the heart of the run down schemes as to the error of their ways in the referendum campaign.While the local Labour party were exposed as the red Tory fakes we know them to be.They may be about to pay the true price of this unveiling. Historically socialists have issues with trying to live up to socialist ideals.This is why you can easily find fault in most people who claim to be socialists.

For most it appears to be a badge they wear without actually understanding the concept or values they are ment to champion .

You're right about Tommy, admittedly I once looked up to him, but he's disgraced and no longer supports socialist ideals. He is no longer a Socialist in any form, despite his claim to the contrary.

I'm looking forward to the 2016 election, the SLP will be a test of whether the Yes supporting left can work together to bring progressive ideas to the Scottish Government. I don't always agree with Shafi or Boyd but their groundwork on the coalition so far is definitely to be applauded. It remains to be seen if there will be TUSC cooperation, but exciting times ahead if so.

Ye I looked up to him until I met him at the protests over the simclar closure in Irvine and kilwinning. Aye him and his mum might have been straight in there drumming up support but the whole time he was there he would talk to folk but always be watching the media. Seemed as if he was just there to make himself look good an nt really interested in who we were

Have all the true socialists spent their bounty they got from Rupert Murdoch for giving their side of the story ?

How would you treat a marriage wrecking hoor who was lining up to get rid of you politically (and for financial gain) by putting you in jail ? Only tell a wummin what she needs to know or it will come back and bite you on the arse* (*not an extra at cupids)

argreed a wummin never forgets there quite smart at times going by first hand experience lol

Ye I looked up to him until I met him at the protests over the simclar closure in Irvine and kilwinning. Aye him and his mum might have been straight in there drumming up support but the whole time he was there he would talk to folk but always be watching the media. Seemed as if he was just there to make himself look good an nt really interested in who we were

He's a total fraud.

This is true IMO.The problem also lies with the fact that Sheridan is a brilliant orator .. None of the others save Carolyn Leckie even comes close.Sheridan was far more effective in persuading die hard life long Labour supporters in the heart of the run down schemes as to the error of their ways in the referendum campaign.While the local Labour party were exposed as the red Tory fakes we know them to be.

I've taken the second part of your post out as time after time again you've shown you have no idea what you're talking about.

The first part though is true. We're also seeing it in Sturgeon as well, intelligent woman, and a fantastic speaker who has redefined the meaning of "progressive" in Scotland to mean... Well, not very progressive at all. But her supporters are shouting it from the roof tops, much to the frustration of those who desire real change.