Canada Celebrating Its' 150th Birthday - Anything Goes - Other topics not covered elsewhere - Tartan Army Message Board Jump to content

Canada Celebrating Its' 150th Birthday

14 minutes ago, Scotty CTA said:

Canada is celebrating a milestone.

(The next U.S. milestone will be in 9 years time.)

I honestly couldnae gie two hoots aboot the Yank ain. I was just saying.

Trivia... Record sniper kill just 3 days ago...

"Last week, the defence department confirmed reports that a Canadian sniper had shot an Isis militant from 3,540 metres (2 miles) away. The shot surpassed the previous world military record for the longest confirmed kill – held by a British sniper who took aim at a Taliban fighter in 2009 – by more than a kilometre."

https://www.theguardian.com/world/2017/jun/28/canadian-sniper-kill-shot-record-iraq-justin-trudeau

1 hour ago, Scotty CTA said:

Trivia... The person voted the Greatest Canadian by Canadians was also born in Scotland... Kiefer Sutherland's grandfather, Tommy Douglas.

Cheers for that info joking around with some Canadians and that is good ammo :D

2 hours ago, PHATBOY_AK47 said:

Happy Canada Scotty!  Some of the best times a had were in Toronto.  Hope your doing well Scotty. 

Good to hear from you, Kunta.

(Send me a PM with how you're getting on.)

Best wishes, Mate!

British North America (Canada) fought the War of 1812 against the States.

The 'British' burned the President's residence and the repairs included painting it white.

From then on it has been referred to as 'The White House'.

The Glasgow-born PM united the country with a national railroad (to act as a deterrent to attack from America) and Confederation soon followed.