This Board Needs Tunes - Page 130 - Anything Goes - Other topics not covered elsewhere - Tartan Army Message Board Jump to content

This Board Needs Tunes

1 hour ago, fringo said:

😃 And to think a few days ago I was accused (quite rightly) of posting pish 🙂

Surely not!

33 minutes ago, exile said:

You may know previous incarnations Daisy Chainsaw and Queenadreena, some of the same peeple.

Aye, that's what surprised me.   Time has fair flown.

16 minutes ago, fringo said:

I've kinda hogged (pun intended) this thread tonight, so one last mellow one.

Cannae listen to the Sportsound and tunes at the same time.   Mind you I can hear most of tonights tunes in my head already.   Don't remember Bonzo's Sweet tune though.   I must be too young.

Edited by Grim Jim

23 minutes ago, Grim Jim said:

Cannae listen to the Sportsound and tunes at the same time.   Mind you I can hear most of tonights tunes in my head already.   Don't remember Bonzo's Sweet tune though.   I must be too young.

Get your priorities right.😁

1 hour ago, fringo said:

Get your priorities right.😁

I got waaaaaay sidetracked after the game as well;  after listening to Sweet.   I suddenly remembered that my late mother-in-law once said she was related to their singer Brian Connolly, so I've spent the evening since then on genealogical research.

Starting on Wiki, his family story is messy and he was brought up by Mark McManus' family - with 'Taggart' as his brother (as far as he knew) until he was told about his natural mother at 18.   Though not far from Mrs Grim's mother's home, I have not found a connection to her.   Maybe she knew who his father really was :ph34r:.

Priorities all over the place.   C'mon the Accies!

8 hours ago, Grim Jim said:

I got waaaaaay sidetracked after the game as well;  after listening to Sweet.   I suddenly remembered that my late mother-in-law once said she was related to their singer Brian Connolly, so I've spent the evening since then on genealogical research.

Starting on Wiki, his family story is messy and he was brought up by Mark McManus' family - with 'Taggart' as his brother (as far as he knew) until he was told about his natural mother at 18.   Though not far from Mrs Grim's mother's home, I have not found a connection to her.   Maybe she knew who his father really was :ph34r:.

Priorities all over the place.   C'mon the Accies!

I started to read up on them a bit ago & they were a strangley influential band given their reputation for being a bit naff. I think at different times some pretty decent musicians (including Freddie Mercury I think) cited them as influences. I can't pin down who said it but someone who went on to great things described them as "the band we all wanted to be in".

I also discovered from one of the key sources of knowledge & wisdom in my life, the TAMB, that Ballroom Blitz was written after a riot when they played at Barrowland one time.

Edited by Huddersfield
typo

5 minutes ago, Huddersfield said:

I started to read up on them a bit ago & they were a strangley influential band given their reputation for being a bit naff. I think at different times some pretty decent musicians (including Freddie Mercury I think) cited them as influences. I can't pin down who said it but someone who went on to great things described them as "the band we all wanted to be in".

I also discovered from one of the key sources of knowledge & wisdom in my life, the TAMB, that Ballroom Blitz was written after a riot when they played at Barrowland one time.

I think it was the grand hall in kilmarnock not the barras. 

20 minutes ago, bonzo said:

I think it was the grand hall in kilmarnock not the barras. 

Haha...I'll correct my thinking.

I was also present when there was a riot (if 20 people throwing chairs around counts as a riot anyway) at Huddersfield Town Hall, but that's because either Scott or Connolly (I forget which it was) turned up an hour or more late, obviously pissed, played two songs, told the crowd (well, audience more accurately) to f**k off & left the stage.

20 minutes ago, Huddersfield said:

Haha...I'll correct my thinking.

I was also present when there was a riot (if 20 people throwing chairs around counts as a riot anyway) at Huddersfield Town Hall, but that's because either Scott or Connolly (I forget which it was) turned up an hour or more late, obviously pissed, played two songs, told the crowd (well, audience more accurately) to f**k off & left the stage.

Customer satisfaction obviously high on their list.