Dundee Utd comeback thread - Page 6 - Football related - Discussion of non TA football - Tartan Army Message Board Jump to content

Dundee Utd comeback thread

• Replies 209

Watched the United highlights and really proud of the effort the team made.

great result considering we were down to 10.

The United end looked mental on the goals, especially the winner. 

Anyone know how many away fans were at the game ?

8 hours ago, jock strap said:

Watched the United highlights and really proud of the effort the team made.

great result considering we were down to 10.

The United end looked mental on the goals, especially the winner. 

Anyone know how many away fans were at the game ?

I fancy you to beat either Hibs or ICT in the semi now. 

1 hour ago, adamntg said:

Radio said 1200-1500 Utd fans. 

That's a really good turnout from United.

did you go mate ?

I must have pressed rewind about 50 times on the winner ! It looked like a proper mental celebration ! Love watching the fans go nuts :lol:

1 hour ago, Angus_Young said:

I fancy you to beat either Hibs or ICT in the semi now. 

It's hit and miss with United so won't say I'm confident but then again, if they play like that with the same level of determination and effort with 11 players, then we have a good chance of getting to the final.

It really just depends what United team turn up and if we can keep the discipline on the day.

4 minutes ago, jock strap said:

That's a really good turnout from United.

did you go mate ?

I must have pressed rewind about 50 times on the winner ! It looked like a proper mental celebration ! Love watching the fans go nuts :lol:

Aye the wee scumbags destroyed seats and generally were arses. 7 lifted so far, with more expected.

1 minute ago, jailender said:

Aye the wee scumbags destroyed seats and generally were arses. 7 lifted so far, with more expected.

If it's intentional damage then that's not on.

I was meaning the fans going bananas when they score but I'm sure your totally aware of that.

Apologies keep making an erse of this quote thingy.

Have to say I was surprised when I heard 7 of them had been lifted. I know they shouldn't be on the pitch/track And by all means chuck them out, but its hardly a jailing offence. 

I was saying to my brother yesterday that the Utd end looked a cracker. 

Poor show if they are breaking seats up mind. If they are being  huckled for that then fair enough.

18 minutes ago, jock strap said:

It's hit and miss with United so won't say I'm confident but then again, if they play like that with the same level of determination and effort with 11 players, then we have a good chance of getting to the final.

It really just depends what United team turn up and if we can keep the discipline on the day.

Hibs and Calley were rotten yesterday and anything can happen in a one off game. 

Hope you win anyway, we are still due you bassas one from 1994........

Should be an interesting game on Friday. Apart from their rotten performance against us United have been playing quite well recently.

Win and we can go into the top 6 and be 10 points clear of the play off spot and almost safe.

Lose and the gap for Dundee United is down to 5 points with Killie and Accies both having tricky away trips the next day.

Our record at home against United is rotten though. 1 win in the last 8.

Apologies keep making an erse of this quote thingy.

Have to say I was surprised when I heard 7 of them had been lifted. I know they shouldn't be on the pitch/track And by all means chuck them out, but its hardly a jailing offence. 

I was saying to my brother yesterday that the Utd end looked a cracker. 

Poor show if they are breaking seats up mind. If they are being  huckled for that then fair enough.

You can see folk getting thrown down the stand after each goal, I would think that maybe accounts for at least some of the damage.

11 minutes ago, adamntg said:

I don't usually bother going to Fir Park on account of their ludicrous prices (£47 for me and two small boys), but I can't miss this one on Friday, even though it's on the telly.

Not confident though.

Buy a Family ticket and an extra kids ticket and you'll save £6

Your welcome...

But aye the prices are poor.

Hibs and Calley were rotten yesterday and anything can happen in a one off game. 

Hope you win anyway, we are still due you bassas one from 1994........

?

And the tanking at Ibrox a couple of seasons ago should also be considered. Both were great days :D

Totally agree mate.

I'm all up for absolute pandemonium when your team gets a last minute winner, but intentional damage is pointless and reckless.

Come on man, if you're going to taunt Rangers then taunt them properly.

Last six meetings in the Scottish Cup :

Apr 2014 - Rangers 1 Dundee Utd 3 (Ibrox)
Feb 2013 - Dundee Utd 3 Rangers 0 (Tannadice)
Feb 2012 - Rangers 0 Dundee Utd 2 (Ibrox)
Mar 2010 - Dundee Utd 1 Rangers 0 (Tannadice)
Mar 2001 - Dundee Utd 1 Rangers 0 (Tannadice) 
May 1994 - Dundee Utd 1 Rangers 0 (Hampden) 

We've an even better record against Rangers in the cup than we do against Barcelona.

15 minutes ago, adamntg said:

We've an even better record against Rangers in the cup than we do against Barcelona.

I think 94 was the first time we had ever beaten Rangers in the Scottish Cup. I had grown up seeing much better United teams than the 94 one lose to much poorer Rangers teams. Changed days. ☺

2 hours ago, adamntg said:

;)

Seem to mind you knocking us out of the League Cup in the 90's too. McSwegan scored a screamer at the Copland Rd end. 

Now I think about it one of my first ever away games was beating you 1-0 in a SC replay at Tannadice. We had drawn 2-2 at Ibrox. I always remember it as we had taped bin bags to all the advertising boards round the ground. 1988 iirc? 

12 minutes ago, Angus_Young said:

Now I think about it one of my first ever away games was beating you 1-0 in a SC replay at Tannadice. We had drawn 2-2 at Ibrox. I always remember it as we had taped bin bags to all the advertising boards round the ground. 1988 iirc?

1989. United made it to the final v Celtic in 1988.