Ni Fans - Page 6 - TA specific - Tartan Army Message Board Jump to content

Ni Fans

Squirrelhumper

I'm offended by GSTQ.

A) I don't believe in God.

B) I am a republican.

C) it's the National Anthem of the UK of GB & NI, England and NI get your own anthems.

This anthem does not represent me, and quite frankly is outdated and subservient to a system of beliefs that is incomparable with a modern secular democracy.

(I thought Gib had their own anthem).

• Replies 181

I'm offended by GSTQ.

B) I am a republican.

C) it's the National Anthem of the UK of GB & NI, England and NI get your own anthems.

This anthem does not represent me, and quite frankly is outdated and subservient to a system of beliefs that is incomparable with a modern secular democracy.

If this anthem doesn't represent you, how can you get yourself upset when someone else uses it?

I'm offended by GSTQ.

B) I am a republican.

I think you could be right, as on Sportsound the other night, the Gib manager was on and said he had learned the words of their anthem, and would probably sing both anthems, as he is Scottish. I would have thought he wouldn't need to learn GSTQ.

If this anthem doesn't represent you, how can you get yourself upset when someone else uses it?

Because it is the UK of GB & NIs anthem. The the UK of GB & NI doesn't play international football so these other countries should have their own anthems.

My (I thought obvious) offence is my former points. It is the anthem of the UK of GB & NI we are all still part of that country and an anthem that places God and the Queen at the heart has no business in this day and age.

Dunno why I can't use the quote function, but back in post #38, 'Scunnered' was proud to tar all NI fans (such as myself) as the same, adding "Utter filth to a man."

From this and his other posts, I assume that his contempt for us stems from the fact that he thinks we are all bigots etc.

Well seeing as self-awareness cannot be his strong suit, I would offer the following observation. That is, my definition of a Bigot is someone who brands thousands of other people whom he cannot possibly have met as all being the same, whether by dint of stereotype or his own prejudices.

Ironic isn't it?

Meanwhile, I wasn't at the game myself last night, but from people who were, the guess is that as many as 1,500 of the 2,000 NI fans were also Rangers fans. And whilst the average Rangers fan is, in my experience, sound enough, they (and by extension NI) have a minority who drag their team's name through the dirt. So there may have been a few hundred who behaved badly last night.

Can the Tartan Army say that such an element doesn't exist within their ranks as well? I have met and socialised with Scottish fans many times and even though the great majority are entirely sound, I'd say there are a few others who aren't.

But I would never use that as an excuse to term them all "Utter filth".

Then again, I'm not like 'Scunnered' (thank Christ).

P.S. Like many other NI supporter, I do not like that we have GSTQ as our Anthem, so I never sing it before our games. But at the same time, I don't disrespect it either. Had I been there last night, I might have been tempted to give it a quick chorus or two, just to reply to the sad s in the Scotland support who saw fit to boo the anthem of their guests.

Dunno why I can't use the quote function, but back in post #38, 'Scunnered' was proud to tar all NI fans (such as myself) as the same, adding "Utter filth to a man."

From this and his other posts, I assume that his contempt for us stems from the fact that he thinks we are all bigots etc.

Well seeing as self-awareness cannot be his strong suit, I would offer the following observation. That is, my definition of a Bigot is someone who brands thousands of other people whom he cannot possibly have met as all being the same, whether by dint of stereotype or his own prejudices.

Ironic isn't it?

Meanwhile, I wasn't at the game myself last night, but from people who were, the guess is that as many as 1,500 of the 2,000 NI fans were also Rangers fans. And whilst the average Rangers fan is, in my experience, sound enough, they (and by extension NI) have a minority who drag their team's name through the dirt. So there may have been a few hundred who behaved badly last night.

Can the Tartan Army say that such an element doesn't exist within their ranks as well? I have met and socialised with Scottish fans many times and even though the great majority are entirely sound, I'd say there are a few others who aren't.

P.S. Like many other NI supporter, I do not like that we have GSTQ as our Anthem, so I never sing it before our games. But at the same time, I don't disrespect it either. Had I been there last night, I might have been tempted to give it a quick chorus or two, just to reply to the sad s in the Scotland support who saw fit to boo the anthem of their guests.

Well said

Ironic isn't it?

Nobody's like Scunnered.........Thank Christ optional. Unfortuneately I landed by the NI sad s on the way to Mount Florida,If some guy got jailed the other day for Billy Boys he should have got some cell mates last night.

Ironic isn't it?

General a very good post until the last paragraph. Since you don't like GSTQ I thought you might understand why we boo it, no?

I wouldn't say "proud", I certainly feel empathise with you, the conditions that have caused you all to be like that couldn't have been easy to endure.

I think you could be right, as on Sportsound the other night, the Gib manager was on and said he had learned the words of their anthem, and would probably sing both anthems, as he is Scottish. I would have thought he wouldn't need to learn GSTQ.

He is from Kilwinning.... They learn the words to GSTQ before they wear nappies :lol:

It's a Stirling Albion thing - stolen.

We were doing it aeons ago.

I remember a particular incident at Arbroath when, mid-bounce, we were instructed by the stewards that we were being "too rowdy".

We immediately adapted it to "We're gently swaying, gently swaying....."

I've just been informed - by someone called Ron McPherson on Facebook (why he hasn't replied here I have no idea) - that this originated at East End Park.

Since I have no way of proving it one way or the other, and, having no wish to give a ferk, I apologise to anyone I misled.

They weren't exactly endearing the last time they came to Hampden but at least there was no out and out bigotry evident on that occasion (that I witnessed anyway).

Different story tonight though, sadly. Some of their singing wouldn't have sounded out of place over in G51.

Which is probably where half of them came from anyway !

Ironic isn't it?

Very good point and correct use of irony!

He's not normally like that, he's normally very nice.

I've just been informed - by someone called Ron McPherson on Facebook (why he hasn't replied here I have no idea) - that this originated at East End Park.

Since I have no way of proving it one way or the other, and, having no wish to give a ferk, I apologise to anyone I misled.

Dundee Utd did it first, before they put seats in The Shed. TRUE FACT.

Absolute scumbags.

Not only them but there seemed to be a massive ned presence tonight, before I even got to my seat saw a kilt in handcuffs, then two guys trying to run in the open fire doors, then at the end a full on fisty cuffs square go between a group of Glaswegian neds.

That game really brought out the scum of glasgow tonight.

Absolute scumbags.

Not only them but there seemed to be a massive ned presence tonight, before I even got to my seat saw a kilt in handcuffs, then two guys trying to run in the open fire doors, then at the end a full on fisty cuffs square go between a group of Glaswegian neds.

That game really brought out the scum of glasgow tonight.

Hmmm wonder why thay was then ??

Saw a NI fan stood outside hampden surrounded with by police with a burst nose...

Good auld Polis :) I hope he disnae get the sack :)

Even after nigh on 25 years I still cannae abide yon accent nor yon Red hand rag ! Absolute dregs of humanity. A pat on the back fae yon is jist a recce for the knife !

In official terms, he's actually correct. Unfortunately.

If GSTQ is Scotland's anthem why have they omitted to play it at Scotland internationals since the late 70's.Long enough to remove it from the official process i would have thought.Flower of Scotland is our official national anthem.It gets official recognition from every country in every international Scotland plays.

SNP barstewards! :wink2:

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-scotland-politics-31927575