Michelle Thomson - Edinburgh West Mp - Property Scandal - Page 5 - Anything Goes - Other topics not covered elsewhere - Tartan Army Message Board Jump to content

Michelle Thomson - Edinburgh West Mp - Property Scandal

She may, or may not, be suspended from her party.

Neither of these things have happened.

Emmm, you're 100% wrong. Her party membership is suspended.

The amount of spin and whataboutery on here is fvcking pathetic.

"Aye....aye but... here's some Unionists who are paedos!"

• Replies 427

These c.hunts all drink from the trough (all parties)

That's why I've never voted

I can't understand why anybody thinks any different tbh

That's a fair point, my confidence in politicians took a battering after NuLabour. It was so great to see the back of Tory sleaze, but what followed was even worse!

Meet the new boss. Same as the old boss...

I blame the local party association. Michael Stewart was the obvious choice.
Next on the media muck trawl will probably be Tasmina Ahmed-Sheikh.

Yep. It was clear Thomson was getting a leg up, most likely because of her efforts during referendum were deemed more worthy than Michael Stewart. Anyone thinking the SNP were different need to wake up. We'll have our troughers like the rest.

Edited by Auld_Reekie

Yep. It was clear Thomson was getting a leg up, most likely because of her efforts during referendum were deemed more worthy than Michael Stewart. Anyone thinking the SNP were different need to wake up. We'll have our troughers like the rest.

I doubt Stewart could win in that seat. He is all about 'the 45' and poverty, as am I... looking on Wiki Ed West is a former Tory then Lib Dem seat. Full of millionaires and grasping middle classes with 2 jobs sending their weans to private schools.... I guess the local party thought Thomson was one of them - and they won for the first time ever so I guess they were right...

P*sh. Local party were leant on by the national party. Was obvious.

Whether Stewart would have won is open to debate but given the Scotland wide swing, regardless of quality of candidates, he'd have had a decent chance. And even if Stewart had won, I doubt he'd have got support of national party like Thomson had.

SNP are no different to the rest.

I've got no problem with it incidentally - to a certain extent, it's how politics operates. It's finding the balance that defines a party. SNP getting their fingers burned - be interesting to see how Sturgeon handles it.

aye, that sounds like me. Area covers Queensferry, Kirkliston, Drumbrae, Ratho, Ratho Station, Clermistion. Not quite the millionairres row. The Tories and Labour abandoned campaiging in the hope of getting the useless Mike Crockhart back in again.

Agree though that Thomson was pushed, had a number of calls from local organisers saying I should vote for Thomson. Stewart comes from Edinburgh West area, think he would still have won.

Do we know what she has done wrong yet? I'll reserve my judgment until I find out what she has done.

So far, all I've seen is that the value on the register doesn't match what she paid. I am pretty sure there is no legal requirement for the purchaser to check that that is correct. I have bought and sold one or two properties. I have no idea what values are recorded on this register. In fact I didn't even know the register existed. I would have thought that would be the solicitor's job?

That's capitalism for you.

How do you think it correlates with the image of being a party of social justice and reducing inequality that the SNP likes to put forward?

I think it makes both her and them look completely ridiculous.

The SNP need to be a broad church to further the cause of Indy, There is a lack of Right Wing Indy people, if this part of Edinburgh voted SNP due to a property owner standing, then it was probably the right choice.

It might be difficult to correlate with the 'poverty' side of the party, however she will still vote against the Tory ( labour supported) cuts and stand against the cuts, which was her and her parties manifesto.

You can still be rich and be against poverty.

Why is being a landlord wrong?

as long as her rents are fair and properties are well maintained, i see no issue with it.

she owns 17 properties and votes against th Tories, surely that is better than owning 2 houses, saying you are against poverty and then not voting against poverty..( Labour Policy)

Like i have already stated , if she has broken the law, or even the spirit of the law, then she should move on... but until then, we need to wait and see,

The MSM are out to get an SNP member by hook or by crook....

How do you think it correlates with the image of being a party of social justice and reducing inequality that the SNP likes to put forward?

I think it makes both her and them look completely ridiculous.

I don't think the SNP are ever going to renounce capitalism.

About a third of all households in the UK are rented. They have to rent their houses from somebody. Not everyone wants to be an owner occupier.

Plenty of working class former council houses in this constituency as well.

The SNP need to be a broad church to further the cause of Indy,

Nah, they need to stand for something other than Independence in order to get my vote. They were never going to get my 2nd vote next year. I doubt they'll get my first now.

aye, that sounds like me. Area covers Queensferry, Kirkliston, Drumbrae, Ratho, Ratho Station, Clermistion. Not quite the millionairres row. The Tories and Labour abandoned campaiging in the hope of getting the useless Mike Crockhart back in again.

Agree though that Thomson was pushed, had a number of calls from local organisers saying I should vote for Thomson. Stewart comes from Edinburgh West area, think he would still have won.

I think he would have as well. Ge the impression he would have been round the doors a hell of a lot in the areas you mention, and others.

About a third of all households in the UK are rented. They have to rent their houses from somebody. Not everyone wants to be an owner occupier.

That's not really the issue with private renting though, is it? The issue is that people (in particular young, working class first time buyers cannot afford to get on the property ladder. In part, due to wealthy middle-aged people (like Ms Thomson) buying up properties as buy-to-lets and driving up prices.

The SNP are talking about building more affordable housing in order to solve this problem, yet they have an MP who owns 17 properties? It doesn't stack-up.

If the SNP want to be the same as Labour and Lib dems and Tories and say one thing, while doing another, that's up to them. I just think it's time that all their fanboys of here accepted that the SNP are little different from teh other establishment parties.

Nah, they need to stand for something other than Independence in order to get my vote. They were never going to get my 2nd vote next year. I doubt they'll get my first now.

i must be more nationalist than you are..

The only way they will not get my vote is if they Drop indy, and probably if they drop nae nuclear...

Other than that 1st vote 100% , 2nd vote 90% of the time.. I have yet to decide on my 2nd vote next year..

Indy for me over all else...

others are different, thats cool...

That's not really the issue with private renting though, is it? The issue is that people (in particular young, working class first time buyers cannot afford to get on the property ladder. In part, due to wealthy middle-aged people (like Ms Thomson) buying up properties as buy-to-lets and driving up prices.

The SNP are talking about building more affordable housing in order to solve this problem, yet they have an MP who owns 17 properties? It doesn't stack-up.

If the SNP want to be the same as Labour and Lib dems and Tories and say one thing, while doing another, that's up to them. I just think it's time that all their fanboys of here accepted that the SNP are little different from teh other establishment parties.

I'm not sure that many folk think that the SNP are that much different from the other parties. The main real difference is they support independence. I think that if they tried to portray themselves as an anti capitalist or socialist party they would lose many more votes than they would gain. They have to try to appeal to all sections of society. That includes landlords. They should have policies to try to root out the bad landlords and if this Thomson wifie turns out to be one of them they should maybe get rid of her.

Let's find out what she has done first though.