Stronger For Scotland - Snp Manifesto Launch - Anything Goes - Other topics not covered elsewhere - Tartan Army Message Board Jump to content

Stronger For Scotland - Snp Manifesto Launch

Excellent positive launch and TV exposure this morning. Nicola was foot perfect and delivered a progressive manifesto designed to end austerity and re balance the economy. Compare and contast to the scrambling and completely desperate contributions from Labour and the Tories. David Cameron's latest rant about "the Carlisle test" and "checking the Scottish parliaments homework" should remind all Scots how despicable he and his party are.

• Replies 137

Posted Today, 12:09

I was pleasantly surprised she gave me my blessing to vote Katy Clark, kudos to her for that

How, is the SNP voting for trident? £30 billion of austerity? Charging for prescriptions? Charging for university courses? Voting for more privatisation in the NHS? Means testing the elderly? to name, but a few differences.

As the lady said, the SNP would give the red tories backbone and guts.

I suppose that was in reference to the fact that the red tories always say they'll do things before an election, but when they got into power about turned and don't carry out their promises.

Posted Today, 12:09

I was pleasantly surprised she gave me my blessing to vote Katy Clark, kudos to her for that :ok:

How, is the SNP voting for trident? £30 billion of austerity? Charging for prescriptions? Charging for university courses? Voting for more privatisation in the NHS? Means testing the elderly? to name, but a few differences.

I suppose that was in reference to the fact that the red tories always say they'll do things before an election, but when they got into power about turned and don't carry out their promises.

It's probably best just to ignore him

A total bore thats hijacking every thread

We get the message

Today was incredible

the guardian are now championing her, as a credible genuine alternative to the establishment

there was also real fear from just about everyone one itv's new, from Cameron in Stockport to suchet in the studio

the only thing that has to happen now to shake this whole thing up is that we have to hold our nerve

4 years ago the SNP manifesto got 30 seconds halfway through the main BBC news.

Tonight, the news came live from Edinburgh, the manifesto received in-depth (and a very balanced) analysis, and the whole thing took up at least half the main BBC news coverage.

Changed days. The SNP are absolutely DOMINATING this election...

Think there was some genuine warmth towards Sturgeon and the manifesto in general by political commentators on the likes of the BBC (Brian Taylor for one if you read his blog). Same went for ITV as well from the likes of Martin Geissler.

I think genuinely that this, finally, was the day the SNP confirmed itself as a credible socialist Scottish political force. We are ready, and ready to make our voice heard.

Can't wait for polling day now.

Posted Today, 12:09I was pleasantly surprised she gave me my blessing to vote Katy Clark, kudos to her for that :ok:

"If Labour have the most progressive candidate in your constituency, vote for them"

Thanks Nic, I shall :ok:

Good for her. Not sure I could see any of the other leaders being as genuine.

Of course she did specify "English constituency", but I'm sure our First Minister would also like us Scots to have the best possible representation.

Was there today and impressed by the whole operation from start to finish (even got a photie wae Tasmina)

Nicola answered every question perfectly, and avoided a wee snide remark here and there where Salmond may have been tempted.

Looking good...keep it going against the bile that will surely follow from the Establishment....

Of course she did specify "English constituency", but I'm sure our First Minister would also like us Scots to have the best possible representation.

I am sure she does. But to get real nationwide progression scunnered your mp really needs to belong to a progressive party that is successful on a wide scale. Otherwise it may be wasted vote.

They are scared now, the bile will become absolutely vicious over the next 2 weeks

No sure how much else they can come out with.

Most of the hate, bile and lies is coming from ultra right-wing English papers, and let's be honest, nae f*cker in Scotland outside Morningside and Melrose reads The Telegraph.

The Sun in Scotland generally won't run with these lies and even the Daily Record isn't stupid enough to conduct a hate campaign against the SNP.

The BBC are actually giving the SNP a fair crack of the whip this time round.....the right-wing nutters can keep on howling at the moon, nobody is listening to them in Scotland.

SNP seem to be getting a fair hearing today... for now

Interesting that SNP are in effect playing a measured post-referendum game, but some quarters still reacting as if they are aggressive wreckers. If they really were, they could have been - could have used current surge in support to stand on an indyref2 red line ticket...

But tories etc still behaving as if they'd actually done that

The only thing they have left in their armoury is to give the pension and gold reserve thief from Fife one last desperate run-out. Even then, I doubt Scots would fall for his lies a second time round.

Got a "letter" through the door from Broon today.

Took a whole tin of Febreeze to remove the reek of desperation from my hallway.

I'm sure it was accidental... But much of your passionate plea was on devolved matters antidote, if you're going to gain two... YES TWO votes for the SNP like I did today, you're going to have to up your game

Did any of the six MPs in the not so devolved parliament at Westminster vote for £30 billion of cuts?
You'll also know from today's SNP manifesto launch that those passionate pleas are what the want for the UK also.

I forgot the low minimum wage by 2020 that the red tories want also, in my passionate plea.

If you garnered 2 votes then very good for you. I know you're at the wind up on here and I felt so sorry for you making the only reply in a thread that was sliding down the page that I had to give you some attention, sorry Ally. :-))

You're back to centre stage so enjoy and know that we know you're a nat at the wind up. :ok::wave: