Opposition Debate - Page 9 - Anything Goes - Other topics not covered elsewhere - Tartan Army Message Board Jump to content

Opposition Debate

Nicola - Delivered a performance that will appeal to her supporters. Personally I find the SNP's "Westminster austerity is heinous, but our austerity is just" angle absolutely nauseating.

Personally I find the Westminster austerity nauseating.

• Replies 313

I would never, ever tell anyone how to vote. It's my pet hate, along with people suggesting that anyone's vote is a wasted one, regardless of who it's for.

Aye good one. The reality is you don't know do you?

Ok then I will continue to vote for the party that mitigated against the bedroom tax, scrapped tuition fees, introduced a Welfare Fund to help the most vulnerable and thinks Scotland can stand on its own two feet. You vote for the party who supported a Tory budget which targeted the poorest in society and has lurched to the right abandoning its core beliefs.

In your opinion. In my opinion you're wrong.

The 'British route to Socialism' is the most widely accepted manifesto and plausible route for Socialism in the UK today. The SSP attempted to write one for an iScotland and it was rightly mocked by all, even the Yes supporting left.

the Common weal had a very guid chance, still has, of becoming real in I Scotland

not a hope in hell in UK..

The uk will never have socialism.. u know that...

when was the last time the uk parliament had socialist in it?

the Scot parliament had a few 10 years ago, and i would say Harvie is pretty close, as are a few others

Behave yourself. You asked a question, I answered honestly.

You criticise my voting choice yet refuse to suggest what my alternative is. And in reality you are voting for more of the same and claiming you want something different.

I'm voting for the only socialist candidate in my constituency. And yes, we're both guilty of voting for more of the same. I wouldn't claim otherwise.

the Common weal had a very guid chance, still has, of becoming real in I Scotland

not a hope in hell in UK..

The uk will never have socialism.. u know that...

when was the last time the uk parliament had socialist in it?

the Scot parliament had a few 10 years ago, and i would say Harvie is pretty close, as are a few others

The UK Parliament has Socialists in it, just not in socialist parties. You know this though.

Holyrood has a couple of socialists in it, just not in socialist parties. You know this though.

Due to the selfishness of mankind dear scunnered socialism that you hope for,and which basically i do too,will never be.

They said the same of independence just a decade ago. I'd never suggest people should stop striving for that, nor would I suggest people should stop striving for social justice.

The rise of the SNP is just another of many obstacles that the left will have to overcome. The struggle continues regardless.

The UK Parliament has Socialists in it, just not in socialist parties. You know this though.

Holyrood has a couple of socialists in it, just not in socialist parties. You know this though.

mair actual and %age in Holyrude tho, you are aware of this.

Off hand at the moment I cant think of 1 at Westminster, I will give u Katy as u say she is, also Hosie as he was, and in private still is a Marzist .. who else is there....

No, absolutely not.

Well actually, technically you're correct as there are no MP's but applied to the last parliament you're wrong epically so.

Edited by Scunnered

Due to the selfishness of mankind dear scunnered socialism that you hope for,and which basically i do too,will never be.

It's not selfishness that drives it, it's default cognisance.

They said the same of independence just a decade ago. I'd never suggest people should stop striving for that, nor would I suggest people should stop striving for social justice.

The rise of the SNP is just another of many obstacles that the left will have to overcome. The struggle continues regardless.

Indy and socialism are 2 very different trains of political and (more importantly) human thought - surely you can see that. Maybe the reason socialism fails to bite is because lefty politicos confuse it with social justice and try and sell it as such. I've known more hard core capitalists with a genuine social conscience than pretentious left-leaning Guardian readers.

I would suggest that the SNP's dramatic and unprecedented surge in membership is simply because they are seen as the most convenient and reliable vehicle for Scottish independence. I doubt many, if any, of their new members thought 'ooh, that named person scheme sounds right up my street, I'm going to join the SNP tomorrow'. No, people were attracted to the party because it offers the most viable route to independence.

The game changed after the referendum. If Yes had won there is no way the SNP would have seen its membership swell like it has done. I'd even go so far as to say that it would not have existed as the entity we know today for very much longer. However, most of us, I think, accept that another referendum isn't looming on the horizon, so instead we cling to the next best thing - the hope that Scotland can somehow improve its lot within the framework of the union. Thus, we vote for the party most likely to obtain the powers to meet that objective.

Many long term Labour supporters still voted for Blair in 1997, even though his reforms were well under way (much of the groundwork had actually been undertaken by Neil Kinnock, but that's by the by) because if Labour had failed at that point it almost certainly would have died as a political force. Similarly, I think a lot of the SNP's support are prepared to turn a blind eye to some of the party's more conservative ideas (note the small 'c') in exchange for securing more powers for Scotland (although, to be fair to them, I think they deserve some credit from a left perspective too). Is that selling out? Maybe, if you are being harsh. Personally, though, I'd describe it as a means to an end.

Off hand at the moment I cant think of 1 at Westminster, I will give u Katy as u say she is, also Hosie as he was, and in private still is a Marzist .. who else is there....

John McDonnell is pretty left wing; Caroline Lucas too. There's also Dennis Skinner, although he's been struck from my Christmas Card list since I found out he voted for the 40% rule ahead of the 1979 referendum.

No, absolutely not.

Well actually, technically you're correct as there are no MP's but applied to the last parliament you're wrong epically so.

Finley, Harvey , Kidd are 3 that come to mind at Holyrude

Katy Clark :wub:, Campbell, Cryer, Skinner, Mearns , McDonnell, Corbyn, Lavery, Hopkins, Riordan, Hamilton, Caton,Wood, Mitchell.

All come to mind from last parliament, but there will be more. But this is all pointless "my dads bigger than your dad" stuff. There's no desire for socialism in either parliament.