The Bus - Page 4 - Anything Goes - Other topics not covered elsewhere - Tartan Army Message Board Jump to content

Always use the busses in Edinburgh/London. Never use them in Bath/Bristol.

Possibly because I have a car in the latter two occasions and don't when I am in the two Capitals.

I find Bristol in a car a nightmare (always as a passenger admittedly) - a peak hours it seems like the entire city centre and main artery roads are gridlocked.

Edited by Charlie Endell

• Replies 123

I find Bristol in a car a nightmare (always as a passenger admittedly) - a peak hours it seems like the entire city centre and main artery roads are gridlocked.

TBH I work in Filton (the Northern outskirts near the M4) so rarely venture into town. When I do, I avoid rush hour as you describe, it's a nightmare.

Drove into town and parked a couple of Sunday's ago and it was fine. Busy but moving.

The Canavans 43 service between Kilsyth & Cumbernauld is grim. I have the misfortune of using it to get to Croy station, but it's depressing.

In the morning, it's full of tramps who get forced to go to Cumbernauld college. At night, you get tinks who've been drinking up the Town Centre.

You generally welcome the better class of person when getting the choo, but Shitrail even it up with never being on time.

This is typical no bus thread then 2 come along at once.

I have been working in Liverpool for the past few weeks and the difference between the bus service there and in Glasgow is night and day. Liverpool busses are operated by Ariva and they are fast, clean and reliable. Even the drivers tend to be pleasant (which is no mean feat considering the city's large ned population). Oh, and the best bit - they give change too. :)

That said, there is no other way to get around the city by public transport (they've no tram or subway system and the rail service isn't as comprehensive as Glasgow's) so I suppose it has to be decent. I get the feeling that the bus is very much the poor relation of the Glasgow transport family!

Arriva buses were in Malta and were utterly, utterly shite. For such a wee island, they managed to fuk-it-up.

Subsidy of €25m but managed to lose €35m. And they were always jam-packed.

For an island of around 300k people where most people have a car... that's a phenomenal fukkkup.

Lothian Bus service is excellent. Very few places in Edinburgh that I can't get to fairly easily. Love the bus app for smart phones too, means I can maximise my time in the pub and avoid long waits at the bus stop.

I use the traveline scotland app for the bus. Like you say it allows you to see a real time countdown to your bus, and you can use the gps to select the stop you want to see the info for. I have a few stops set as favourites to get to and from work. Luckily I am pretty much door to door on one bus, although it does take 50 mins, but it's also the only time I get to read, as opposed to getting assaulted by 2 weans who want to dance and sing to Equestria Girls/my Little Pony etc all the time .

Train line app is superb as well. Buy tickets easily with a saved card and track live departures.

Rubbish! The clockwork orange is a gem. Admittedly, things can go downhill a bit depending on where you alight, but it is a fast, relatively inexpensive method of getting around the city (the inner section of it anyway). I actually think it his high time they expanded it.

On a side note, apparently Glasgow is one of the largest cities in Europe not to have some kind of integrated ticketing system for its public transport. I'd certainly hate to be a non-Weegie attempting to get around the city by bus. High time that was addressed too, IMO.

I've lived in and around Glasgow for years and I've no idea how to use the buses. The exact change thing just makes it seem like something that's closed to me as i very rarely carry much cash.

The top deck on a late winter afternoon going home would have its own dense micro climate of fag smoke. Bring back the 80's.

edit: were there not specialist bus gobbers who could hit a man on the street from out of one of those awkward top deck windows.

The average bus driver in Edinburgh is the worst type of unhelpful, torn-faced bastird that makes me want to rip one of their 'no one goes to work to be assaulted' pictures off the wall and smack it off their head (but not hard enough that they can't keep driving the bus to the destination). There will be some honorable exceptions, but the majority make me embarrassed the way they treat foreign visitors to the capital, out-of-towers, and anyone else who doesn't come on to the bus with the exact change and know exactly which stop they need to get off at.

The top deck on a late winter afternoon going home would have its own dense micro climate of fag smoke. Bring back the 80's.

edit: were there not specialist bus gobbers who could hit a man on the street from out of one of those awkward top deck windows.

That sounds like a school bus. Is that the last time you were on one?

The average bus driver in Edinburgh is the worst type of unhelpful, torn-faced bastird that makes me want to rip one of their 'no one goes to work to be assaulted' pictures off the wall and smack it off their head (but not hard enough that they can't keep driving the bus to the destination). There will be some honorable exceptions, but the majority make me embarrassed the way they treat foreign visitors to the capital, out-of-towers, and anyone else who doesn't come on to the bus with the exact change and know exactly which stop they need to get off at.

To be fair to the drivers, if you were planning to drive somewhere or walk somewhere, you would normally have some idea if where you were planning to go, before you set off. Why do folk get on a bus, and expect the driver to know where they want to go to.

People who don't know the area? Drivers are supposed to be there to help.

Not really. On multiple TA trips and holidays I have an idea, but rely on a map and the drivers to help out as they are foreign cities that I have never driven in.

Just about to stroll down to the bus stop at the end of our road, and will hop on a bus and be in the town centre within 10 minutes or so, and having a nice coffee a few minutes later. Wonderful thing is the bus.

I suspect you live in Edinburgh? I used to moan about the bus all the time, didn't realise how good a service it was until I move out west.