The Behavior Of Our National Team Captain - Page 4 - Football related - Discussion of non TA football - Tartan Army Message Board Jump to content

The Behavior Of Our National Team Captain

Picture of him on the Front Page of the Sun with the hood down shows him with a full head of hair (Celtic fans are saying this photo is up to two years old, as he has had a skin head since then and has very rarely let his hair grow out)

Thought you were going to say rarely let his hair down...

• Replies 229

none of them should be drinking/smoking at all

plenty of time for that when you're retired

unfortunately we don't think like that in this country...and it shows on the pitch

would andy murray be where he is if he occasionally got sparkled

none of them should be drinking/smoking at all

plenty of time for that when you're retired

unfortunately we don't think like that in this country...and it shows on the pitch

would andy murray be where he is if he occasionally got sparkled

What about Jocky Wilson? :cheers3:

Broony is on a night off and he's had a session with his pals.

Wow.

Has he been involved in any form of public order offences, breach of the peace, fighting etc ?

No. He's had a few too many and ate some bevvy scran.

Big deal. Too many people on here seem to forget that a number of us have and do get in states like this every match. We are supposedly ambassadors of Scotland yet some find it hilarious to expose themselves, put washing up liquid in fountains, urine/spew in the streets, boot a size 5 mitre delta around a square/street where people work/socialise etc !

Just because he is a professional footballer doesn't mean he can't have a session with his pals on his day off.

Edited by jock strap

What a complete non story. Should he be out drinking? maybe not but it's hardly the crime of the century.

Was he as pished as the sun photos and story would have you believe? Almost certainly not.

I'm sure he'll learn from it and avoid putting himself in a situation like this again but some of the moral hand wringing on here is laughable.

I'm not sure why ppl are comparing Scott brown with posters on this board! None of us are getting £20k per week to be a professional athlete.

I've always wondered why if Andy Murray can do it why can't others? That's not a dig at Scott brown - he's clearly just the high profile casualty in this instance. There have been others before him and there will be more after him.

Exactly. This type of behaviour is probably common place amongst Scottish footballers and we wonder why we struggle?

Just not smart enough or professional enough to really excel.

And that's not aimed just at Brown. There's been plenty done the same over the years.

It is comparable because he is human, just like the rest of us. Doesn't matter a buggery how much money you get paid. The point I'm making is that everyone on here all have responsibilities, some will have bigger responsibilities than Scott Brown will ever have and, yet, because he is a fitba player folk are wanting him hung because he got steaming whilst on a day off.

I've already said it was idiotic and most definitely not a good move getting in that condition. I highly doubt he gets like that very often though, or we would have heard a lot more about it now.

To say this is effecting his career (as some up the board have) is complete pish. He is like a man possessed when he plays just now. Scott Brown is at Celtic because that's his level, in terms of ability, not because he is ing himself with drink every weekend. Is anyone seriously questioning his fitness ? Any time I've seen him this season he has generally looked one of the fittest guys on the park.

I'll reiterate, it definitely wasn't a clever move and he looks like a jakey twat. Just don;t think it's too big a deal is all.

Edited by Angus_Young

Some people just don't get it.

Okay people on here have done the same - so what? We aren't professional footballers who are bestowed with the honour of captaining their country. Also it is not rocket science that junk food and booze bingeing is far from a professional thing to do. Also he is in a role model position to the whole of the Scotland squad of today and those to represent us in the future. What sort of a pathetic message does that send out to them?

There are suggestions floating around that eye-witnesses say this was after the match against Rangers.

Still an inadmirable state for a professional sportsman to get himself into, but not "days before a cup final".

It is immaterial when it was taken. He should not be getting into that state whilst he is a professional footballer representing Scotland and even worse this is the team captain who is supposedly in the role due to his leadership and responsibility. Those pictures show neither of those qualities.

Edited by Caledonian Craig

Can you imagine Darren Fletcher doing this?

Maybe thats why he has European Cup Medals and played for one of the worlds biggest teams.

Brown( and Ferguson a few years ago), are big fishes in a wee pond, they can do this and still be v good players here.

Not really their fault, but it is an example of how a lot in Scotland enjoy themselves.

ps I have been in that state myself as a younger man...

this is pure class:

If I'd even missed one session, I would have lined up with doubt and fear in my mind. What would happen if I lost the gold by one thousandth of a second, because there was a training session I skipped or didn't give my all to?

Instead, I lined up here knowing no-one had trained harder than me, and that gave me enormous confidence.

Do you not realise the damage junk food and alcohol in great amounts does to your body? His liver can't be benefitting. A liver not being looked after does not perform as well as one that is looked after which in turn takes an edge off physical performance.

However anyone wants to try to whitewash this it is damned unprofessional.

Why are folk comparing brown to individual sportsman? It's a different kettle of fish.

Aussie cricketers and new Zealand rugby players are out on the lash regulary but that doesn't stop them being the best in the world.

And England footballers mind ....

guys he is a professional athlete, the story starts and ends there.

go and read chris hoy's olympic blog, from 2008 i think, for how athletes prepare and look after themselves

I've read that book. He also talks about going to Vegas and getting completely blootered for 3 days.

Do you not realise the damage junk food and alcohol in great amounts does to your body?.

Great amounts? It's one night out! If he was doing this on a weekly basis it would be cause for concern. Once in a blue moon when he's got a day off? Hardly something to get worked up about.

All smacks of the sort of faux moral outrage that rags like the sun dine out on.

I've read that book. He also talks about going to Vegas and getting completely blootered for 3 days.

And with one fell swoop that argument was debunked. Excellent point made.

Professional athletes need to let off some steam on occasion. It's not unusual. The timing of brown's night out is questionable but some of the comments made in this thread are laughable. He had a bevy. On a night off. Front page news? Worthy of suspension or dropping? Get a grip.

Pics of him in the strippers where flying about on snapchat Wednesday night. How people can say he should be captain over fletcher baffles me further, how's his wife and kids feeling about him being seen outside the cheap strippers??

I know. Schoolboy error, always cover your tracks.