Sfa National Anthem Vote - Page 3 - TA specific - Tartan Army Message Board Jump to content

Sfa National Anthem Vote

@neaver82

yip.... FoS is a rebel song. "We can still rise now and be a nation again...." detested in the extreme by unionists. Until we are a nation we should continue to sing a song which shows our aspiration.

this smacks of a unionist wheeze - they'd much prefer some twee p!sh about purple heather and mountains

Aye. This is why I think Scotland the Brave will get a few votes from them. Suits there agenda. A nice wee song for a slave to entertain his master with.

I challenge anyone to sing this part out loud without throwing up:

"High in the misty Highlands,

Out by the purple islands,

Brave are the hearts that beat beneath Scottish skies.

Wild are the winds to meet you,

Staunch are the friends that greet you,

Kind as the love that shines from fair maidens' eyes.

Far off in sunlit places,

Sad are the Scottish faces,

Yearning to feel the kiss of sweet Scottish rain.

Where tropic skies are beaming,

Love sets the heart a-dreaming,

Longing and dreaming for the homeland again."

:crazy::crazy:

A lot of sickly, sentimental trash wrapped up in tartan ribbon. We'd be a bloody laughing stock singing that pish.

For me, what makes Flower of Scotland and Scots Wha Hae the only true contenders is their powerful and uplifting message of hope. They are about Scottish triumph against all odds.

Besides, why else are there hundreds of videos on Youtube taken by opposition fans of the TA singing Flower of Scotland ?

The in charge of that Holyrood committee (forget his name, represents Labour unsurprisingly) also came out with the age old "but it's anti-English" line. :rolleyes:

• Replies 91

There are various sets of lyrics, I prefer the ones below, though probably just chorus, verse chorus and not the whole lot.

Highland Cathedral

Words by Ben Kelly

Land of our fathers, we will always be

Faithful and loyal to our own country.

In times of danger, we will set you free,

Lead you to glory and to victory.

Hail, Caledonia, to our ancient prayer.

In this Highland Cathedral, let our standards bear.

Joining, together, with one dream to share.

God bless the people of this land so fair.

Chorus

Gone is the past, let us start anew.

Let this hope of peace, always remain.

Spirit of Scotia, be strong and true.

Then your children will smile again, again, again, again.

Rise, Caledonia, let your voices ring

In this Highland Cathedral of our God and King.

Whom joy and liberty to all will bring.

Come; let your heart with love and courage sing.

Chorus

Lonely the exile, o'er distant seas,

The home of their birth, gone from their eyes.

Bring back their souls o'er the ocean breeze

To the land where their fathers lie.

Repeat last verse

http://www.electricscotland.com/history/scotsman/anthem.htm

Im sure ive seen that but chorus is slightly different at the end, no god and king pish.

Think its,

Rise caledonia to our ancient prayer,

in this highland cathedral let our standards bear,

Joining together with one dream to share,

deep in my heart my bonnie scotland.

Something like that

B9uVtNzIcAAYNjk.jpg

From the SFA website: "Interestingly, there was a marked difference between SSC respondents and the social media view. While 65% of the 23,000 social media responses were in favour of official recognition, 60% of the 12,606 SSC respondents were not in favour."

I'll never sing FoS again.

Was in the Stade de France on Saturday night and sat down and completely ignored it when it was played. I can't wait for Twickenham and can't wait for the howls of (deserved) laughter from the English.

I'll go for a pish, rather than listen to some No voting Qhunt belt out 'to be a nation again'.

fukkin child

The SFA statement says there was notable mentions for God save the Queen...

Get it up ya unionists who tried to hijack the vote.

Glad FOS won.

Maybe it was a bunch of Sex Pistols fans?

And surely if they support the 'national team' we should refer to them as "Regionalists" rather than "Unionists"?

I do think GSTQ would likely intimidate opposing players though. Imagine seeing the home fans drown out the home anthem with booing.

Edited by Cove_Sheep

Some deid guy called Cliff Hanley is to blame for this twee, "och, what are we like !", garbage according to Wikipedia. :banghead:

Great guy, sadly missed. He might have enjoyed this thread going by the interview below (14 mins in):-

(Agree with you about most of his lyrics for STB BTW)

I voted for Flower of Scotland. I like the words and having experienced the 70,s following my National team it holds more meaning than any of the others suggested. Forget the shortbread tin songs that jingle along with lochs, glens and heather. If we are to be a Nation again then fekin shout it out.

Beware those that are driving this shite, before you know it we will all of a sudden be team GB and all singing along to "rebellious Scots to crush"

Scotland will flourish...