New Labour Leader - Page 5 - Anything Goes - Other topics not covered elsewhere - Tartan Army Message Board Jump to content

New Labour Leader

And therein lies my central issue. I've always been honest on here that I would have voted No if I felt the British road to socialism was still open. And I always maintained that I was only voting Yes because I believed that the SNP could be defeated in an Indy Scotland following the left wing narrative of the Yes campaign. Now we have people flooding to the SNP, actually believing that they are the vehicle, not only to independence, but equality... When the truth is they're off their nuts. It is historically provable that the SNP model for independence (and devolution) will result in Scotland being even more unequal than Britain is today, so for me it's now essential that the SNP membership use their influence to move their party from their suicidal economic plans before the independence question is asked again.

More unequal that Britain will become following the next round of austerity after the GE?

That would be the appropriate measure, I'd suggest.

• Replies 128

Talking to The Mail on Sunday, Murphy:

Said Salmond lacked courage, was simplistic and accused Sturgeon of ignoring Scots who voted to stay part of the UK.

Vowed to stand up for Scots who feel scunnered with being ruled by David Cameron.

My covers blown :lol:

I very much doubt the SNP will turn to the right

The 100,000 members would not allow it

Therefore i think Scunnered should give the SNP the benefit of the doubt in the short term

The SNP might not have been the party of the man in the street but they are close to being that more than any other party at the moment so at least give them a chance to really be it

And as stated - Independence is the key and they are the vehicle regardless

I very much doubt the SNP will turn to the right

The 100,000 members would not allow it

Therefore i think Scunnered should give the SNP the benefit of the doubt in the short term

The SNP might not have been the party of the man in the street but at least give them a chance to be

And as stated - Independence is the key and they are the vehicle regardless

They have a very right wing budget draft, if it passes, they'll be centre right. I'm not giving them benefit of the doubt, they vote down progressive policy, lie about the reasons to connect it to the independence debate, and then they draft a budget that if Labour came up with you'd be screaming 'red Tories'.

I've no doubt in their intentions.

Give us viable progressive policy ideas in the current restraints of devolution

The SNP claim to support the living wage, yet voted against Labours living wage bill, lied saying it would be against EU law without independence and this was refuted by the EU.

Flure has since offered a different reasoning saying that the councillors would not accept government interference on wages, but this was never SNP line.

I'm getting ready to head out to the wee ones nativity. I can expand later if you wish :)

The SNP claim to support the living wage, yet voted against Labours living wage bill, lied saying it would be against EU law without independence and this was refuted by the EU.

Flure has since offered a different reasoning saying that the councillors would not accept government interference on wages, but this was never SNP line.

I'm getting ready to head out to the wee ones nativity. I can expand later if you wish :)

I expanded when I stopped smoking. Still struggle.

Fair play tae ye scunnered, you're in good company. Plenty folk want a better society or what is the point of independence?

I am starting to wonder though, the way the referendum result made me feel, would I rather have my own right wing business chasing government, or Westminster's right wing business chasing government?

Tae better men than me that is not what this is about, but tae me, I am tempted. :worried:

Just had a Labour commissioned survey on voting intentions for GE, Scottish Elections and a future Referendum. Included a lengthy section on Jim Murphys effects on my views of labour... It was very enjoyable :lol:

Edited by Scunnered

Just watched first ministers question and tbh i was not that impressed with nicola, she seems to be trying to play the nice "guy" regardless of what any one says she couldnt lace the boots of salmond and this will become apparent as time goes on... I think murphy will be more than a match for her