Scotland : The Promised Land BBC2 - Anything Goes - Other topics not covered elsewhere - Tartan Army Message Board Jump to content

Scotland : The Promised Land BBC2

Fascinating programme. Stuck it on for 5 minutes and ended up watching the lot...

http://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/episode/b0755pt1/scotland-the-promised-land-1-the-birth-of-modern-scotland

Interesting to see the Daily Mail up to no good a century ago!

Will definitely watch the next one about the depopulation of the Highlands, might offer some more insight into why I was born in Ayrshire.

8 hours ago, Toepoke said:

might offer some more insight into why I was born in Ayrshire.

I'm no expert, but I imagine it's cos your dad nailed your mum and then 9 months later they were somewhere in or around the Irvine area.

Agreed was quite emotional thinking about how often my ancestors must've gone through similar experiences. For example my dad's paternal grandparents had nine kids, five of whom emigrated to Canada never to be seen again...

Edited by Toepoke

9 hours ago, Toepoke said:

Agreed was quite emotional thinking about how often my ancestors must've gone through similar experiences. For example my dad's paternal grandparents had nine kids, five of whom emigrated to Canada never to be seen again...

Did they lose all contact? It'd be an interesting job to try and dig their descendants out.

16 minutes ago, biffer said:

Did they lose all contact? It'd be an interesting job to try and dig their descendants out.

I know they are way out west in British Colombia but I've never met any of them.

My auntie who emigrated to Ontario decades later does know some of them I believe. Her late husband did a sterling job of assembling a family tree back in the pre-internet days...

It said on the commentary that the UK Government encouraged these Scots to emigrate due to the thinking of them maybe being trotskies, or words to that effect.