Irish Thinking They Will Have A Massive Support At Parkhead - Page 10 - Scotland Home Games - Tartan Army Message Board Jump to content

Irish Thinking They Will Have A Massive Support At Parkhead

andyg83

• Replies 1.4k

Do Celtic really have a big support in ROI? I know a lot of Irish, but they all support EPL teams. I remember sitting in a pub in Dublin watching an Auld Firm game a few years ago and it was turned over at half time for the locals to watch Arsenal v Blackburn.

I had a similar experience for a crunch OF game. Nobody Was interested in Dublin City centre.

Do Celtic really have a big support in ROI? I know a lot of Irish, but they all support EPL teams. I remember sitting in a pub in Dublin watching an Auld Firm game a few years ago and it was turned over at half time for the locals to watch Arsenal v Blackburn.

If you take both North and South they have the most supporters clubs - nowadays they attend specific pubs to watch games.

There's no denying the EPL is huge in Ireland and sadly it's mainly watched by hooray henrys nowadays because it's fashionable to have an English team and SKY Sports/BT Sport is everywhere.

I support my national team and a non league club called Blyth Spartans a friend used to play for them and they wear green and white, the great thing is you actually get to meet Northumbrians local people and have made good football friends.

There's people who travel over from Ireland to the UK every weekend for EPL games and they don't even meet or talk to locals sad really.

I don't really get excited about so called British teams not really sure if they are British anymore - was at a speech by Andy Walsh of FC United of Manchester recently and he gave an amazing speech about the EPL, you've got to wonder.

Not sure what pub you were in but if it was temple bar I wouldn't be surprised - I rarely go out in Dublin, it's a rip off.

ray houghton v england 1988 and david kelly v england 1995 you can have that

Indeed Helen. In future, when i take them to the fitba, i hope my 2 Irish daughters get the same feelings over who to support when Ireland play Scotland.

But their daughters... or theirs? Ehh, naw.

Never a truer word spoken on the TAMB.

Agree with that. However the 'plastics' that some of us are talking about do exist. It's not that they don't just not support Scotland, it's that they actively detest all expressions of Scottish patriotism, as well as the fitba team of course. I've known at least one of them.

They might be wee misguided Ned numpties, but i have to admit the ire i felt for them has diminished a bit since the referendum result.

:rollsmile:

"That there's some corner of a foreign field, that is forever Ireland"

Moan tae f*ck. You know yourself you and your team would have been more motivated if the match was held at Castle Greyskull,

As a St. Pat's fan i'm with you on that one :ok:

P.S. Time to get Keith Fahey back in the Ireland team FFS!

If it was at Castle Greyskull I'd want a police escort into the place, not sure I'd travel to be honest.

Loads of Irish have bought tickets for LL upper and lower so should make for a great occasion looking forward to drinking with the famous Tartan Army.

In my experience the Celtic support in Ireland is concentrated in the province of Ulster i.e. including Monaghan, Cavan and Donegal in the Republic - it's spread thinner elsewhere. As I say, my perception from my travels, could be wrong.

To be honest Charlie I live in a small rural town in the South East of the country and in the town there are two Celtic pubs and a supporters club who travel regularly.

People may have an English team but everybody supports Celtic it's in the blood. :-))

Rugby also gaining popularity due to success.

Munster Rugby have a great fanbase.

Why would you bother with celtic these days?

I'm sure their fan base has suffered due to the loss of the old firm tie and their disastrous results in Europe this season.

Yes Rugby is growing but it's very much a class sport supported by high society.

There is a hardcore support for Celtic across Ireland, but in most places the vast majority of people are far more interested in the EPL. Certainly, from when I lived in Dublin, just about anyone would say they 'liked' Celtic, in a not-really-bothered- that-much-if-at-all-really sort of a way, 99% would say they 'supported' an EPL team. In truth they would no more actively want to watch a Celtic game than I'd want to watch a game of tennis, which is to say, not at all. If Celtic were IN the EPL that may change, but they aren't.

Edited by Pool Q

There is a hardcore support for Celtic across Ireland, but in most places the vast majority of people are far more interested in the EPL. Certainly, from when I lived in Dublin, just about anyone would say they 'liked' Celtic, in a not-really-bothered- that-much-if-at-all-really sort of a way, 99% would say they 'supported' an EPL team. In truth they would no more actively want to watch a Celtic game than I'd want to watch a game of tennis, which is to say, not at all. If Celtic were IN the EPL that may change, but they aren't.

TBH if you want to watch Celtic in Eire your better off doing it in rural areas or specific suburbs of Dublin Tallaght,Crumlin,Drimnagh for example where the hardcore meet.

I'm originally from Tallaght and my brother was involved in the Paul McStayCSC in Tallaght - Naoimh Padraig would the biggest one in Dublin on the southside.

Nowadays you can come to Dublin and not even meet a Dub in the city centre.

But I take your point there's nothing worse then seeing a hooray henry purchasing a Chelsea shirt for his son - in the words of Lennon 'Strange Days Indeed...'

To be honest Charlie I live in a small rural town in the South East of the country and in the town there are two Celtic pubs and a supporters club who travel regularly.

People may have an English team but everybody supports Celtic it's in the blood. :-))

Fair enough, you're the man on the ground :ok:.

The bizarre thing about Dublin is that I've been there numerous times over the last 20 years and I've seen more Rangers tops than Celtic - admittedly the score is only one-nil (saw a wee boy in a Rangers top having a kick-about one Sunday morning in the '90s - I was very hungover and trying to find a pub that was open - it took me several takes to convince myself I wasn't seeing things!).

Edited by Charlie Endell

Charlie your winding me up Pal. :-))

You sure it wasn't a Dublin GAA shirt it's blue - must have been some session, did you inhale? :-))

Definitely not - it was the Nike one with the white collar and small badge - I even had someone with me who verified it! He must have been the hardest kid in the neighbourhood :lol: . Edited by Charlie Endell

Always thought Hibs should make more of an effort to market themselves in Ireland. after all we were the first to wear the green of Ireland.

Still not convinced. Admittedly we are talking over 10 years ago, but around where I lived (Kimmage) I can't really recall talking to anyone who actively described themselves as a Celtic supporter other than a couple of other Scottish guys I knew a bit. The pubs showed wall-to-wall EPL. Same applied to Galway and Roscommon (where my girlfriend was from) that we went to about every third weekend. I also used to go and see St Pats games through a guy at work (who was an Arsenal fan), and there were a few more interested in Scottish football that I got talking to at their games, but mainly it was in a 'it's not any better than ours' sort of a way than being particularly Celtic supporters.

Edited by Pool Q

Still not convinced. Admittedly we are talking over 10 years ago, but around where I lived (Kimmage) I can't really recall talking to anyone who actively described themselves as a Celtic supporter other than a couple of other Scottish guys I knew a bit. The pubs showed wall-to-wall EPL. Same applied to Galway and Roscommon (where my girlfriend was from) that we went to about every third weekend. I also used to go and see St Pats games through a guy at work (who was an Arsenal fan), and there were a few more interested in Scottish football that I got talking to at their games, but mainly it was in a 'it's not any better than ours' sort of a way than being particularly Celtic supporters.

Good man best looking women hail from the West.

Well we'll agree to disagree now more importantly as all the Irish have bought tickets in the home end they are worried they will be refused entry.

What do you chaps reckon?

Good man best looking women hail from the West.

Well we'll agree to disagree now more importantly as all the Irish have bought tickets in the home end they are worried they will be refused entry.

What do you chaps reckon?

If they try to get in wearing colours I would expect the Glasgow polis to turn them away.