Big Teams and Wee Teams - Page 3 - Football related - Discussion of non TA football - Tartan Army Message Board Jump to content

Big Teams and Wee Teams

3 hours ago, Mazziessc said:

Please :lol: Ayr's greatest achievement is winning the second tier of Scottish football.

Similarly to Dumbarton they lose a lot of what could be their fan base to the Old firm. Historically and currently Dumbarton are a bigger, better club.

Ayr have a bigger fanbase and have more recent success in terms of getting to National Cup Semis/Final.

For example, Ayr pulled 9-10,000 for a Semi Final against us at 1pm on a Saturday at Hampden. I doubt Dumbarton would pull 5k against anyone, anywhere.

• Replies 146

1 minute ago, Squirrelhumper said:

Ayr have a bigger fanbase and have more recent success in terms of getting to National Cup Semis/Final.

For example, Ayr pulled 9-10,000 for a Semi Final against us at 1pm on a Saturday at Hampden. I doubt Dumbarton would pull 5k against anyone, anywhere.

Did Ayr have that many fans at the semi ? Thought it was around the 6 or 7 mark 

20 minutes ago, Squirrelhumper said:

Impossible to tell how many they would attract. A cup semi pulls many folk out the woodwork for a day oot for there wee toon. Where's the 1000's of Ayr fans the rest of the time? Where were they on the first game of the cup run? 

My only gripe with Dumbarton is that they are at their peak in the bottom half of the Championship, and content to stay there.As bad as it sounds promotion could be a disaster to them should a miracle happen and they ever got up through the play off's.

Celtic and Rangers at the top, you could argue either one is bigger.

Huge daylight then Aberdeen and a small gap to Hearts.

Followed by Hibs and Dundee United at the same level.

dundee next. 

Then the likes of killie, motherwell, St mirren, maybe dunfermline (via history)

St.Johnstone, Falkirk, ICT, Ross

Hard to say after that.

1 hour ago, Mazziessc said:

I’d like to see them back up but I worry they could become like Falkirk as an example. (although UTD have a bigger fan base) Struggle in and around the play off's for a few season but never getting up. I don’t doubt that when they do get up they’ll stay there though.

It's quite possible.  Maybe more likely is that they'll be like Hibs, diddle around downstairs for a few years before finally getting their act together.

Worst case scenario - we end up like Dundee and are down for best part of a decade.  :yikes3:

Edited by adamntg

Is it just me that thinks Hearts are a bigger club with more potential than Aberdeen?  Based in a fairly major international city, 16,000 sold out season tickets every year, fans all over east central Scotland.  Not much in it, but if I were a Lithuanian oligarch I know whose wall I'd be spunking my money up against.

1 minute ago, adamntg said:

It's quite possible.  Maybe more likely is that they'll be like Hibs, diddle around downstairs for a few years before finally getting their act together.

Worst case scenario - we end up like Dundee and are down for best part of a decade.  :yikes3:

I personally hope Utd go up via the play off this season, preferably at the expense of Hamilton. That way St. Mirren's march to inevitable Championship title glory next season can go completely unobstructed.

N.B. - By "St. Mirren" I obviously mean Jack Ross's team assembled in January and who since then have clearly been the best team in the league. Not Alex Rae's bunch of duds from the first half of the season.

Impossible to tell how many they would attract. A cup semi pulls many folk out the woodwork for a day oot for there wee toon. Where's the 1000's of Ayr fans the rest of the time? Where were they on the first game of the cup run? 

Same with any team, they attract more for big games. Ayr have traditionally had a bigger support (in my lifetime anyway) and still do even though they're sh1te. I can remember Ayr averaging about 4k or so under Yogi Hughes so the fans are there. They've just been so p1sh for so many years that they've probably lost a lot of regulars.

It's all down to perception anyway. They've "won fcuk all and never will" as our song goes!

2 minutes ago, Squirrelhumper said:

Same with any team, they attract more for big games. Ayr have traditionally had a bigger support (in my lifetime anyway) and still do even though they're sh1te. I can remember Ayr averaging about 4k or so under Yogi Hughes so the fans are there. They've just been so p1sh for so many years that they've probably lost a lot of regulars.

It's all down to perception anyway. They've "won fcuk all and never will" as our song goes!

I take solace from the fact that Mazzie thinks Dumbarton are a bigger team than Ayr.

It assists in the rendering of his opinion that St. Mirren are not a big team, as even more ludicrous.

:wacko:

I've no real gripe with Hibs, I just think other than supporter numbers it's hard to put them on a level with Hearts, Dundee united or Aberdeen.

Size of support is the only thing that lifts Hibs above Motherwell, Killie etc. Killie and to a lesser extent Dundee and Dunfermline arguably have more illustrious history than likes of Motherwell. Motherwells main asset in this debate is consistency in the top flight.

38 minutes ago, sbcmfc said:

I've no real gripe with Hibs, I just think other than supporter numbers it's hard to put them on a level with Hearts, Dundee united or Aberdeen.

Size of support is the only thing that lifts Hibs above Motherwell, Killie etc. Killie and to a lesser extent Dundee and Dunfermline arguably have more illustrious history than likes of Motherwell. Motherwells main asset in this debate is consistency in the top flight.

Not that I like to talk up Hibs but I would say they are the 5th biggest club.

What are we measuring it on? size of support, honours won? they have 10 major honours while the clubs you have quoted have won either 4 or 5

Based on size of the clubs

1. Celtic

2. Rangers - assuming we are treating the current club as being the same as the one that was liquidated

3. Hearts

4. Hibs

5. Aberdeen

6. Dundee

7. Dundee Utd

8 lost interest now

7 minutes ago, dipped flake said:

1. Celtic

2. Rangers - assuming we are treating the current club as being the same as the one that was liquidated

3. Hearts

4. Hibs

5. Aberdeen

6. Dundee

7. Dundee Utd

8 lost interest now

interested to know what your criteria is for "size".

31 minutes ago, dipped flake said:

1. Celtic

3. Hearts

4. Hibs

5. Aberdeen

6. Dundee

7. Dundee Utd

8 lost interest now

3 minutes ago, adamntg said:

Achievements before 1974 presumably.

Major trophies won since 1962 - 1

Major trophies won since 1974 - 0

Number of finishes in the top half of the top league in the last 40 years - I'm guessing here, but surely no more than 3 or 4.

Seasons spent outside the top division in the last 40 years - hunners

Average attendance over the last 40 years - 5,000 max???

As per my original post, Dundee are at best one of the big wee teams.

Mibbi I'm blinded by the sons league finishes of late. We'll agree they are the same size :spin:

1 hour ago, Marky said:

I take solace from the fact that Mazzie thinks Dumbarton are a bigger team than Ayr.

It assists in the rendering of his opinion that St. Mirren are not a big team, as even more ludicrous.

:wacko:

Iv'e a feeling you wont like my opinion unless its ST Mirren are the greatest club in history  :lol:

They are not btw. 

Like I said earlier, they have found their level. It be a shame on them though if they ended up third tier next season.

League: see rangers include a shared title in their stars

Club Winners Runners-up Third Last win
Rangers[note 3] 54 30 18 2010–11
Celtic 48 31 17 2016–17
Aberdeen 4 15 9 1984–85
Heart of Midlothian 4 14 18 1959–60
Hibernian 4 6 13 1951–52
Dumbarton[note 3] 2 0 0 1891–92
Motherwell 1 7 8 1931–32
Kilmarnock 1 4 3 1964–65
Dundee 1 4 1 1961–62
Dundee United 1 0 8 1982–83
Third Lanark 1 0 2 1903–04
Airdrieonians (1878) 0 4 2
Falkirk 0 2 1
Morton[note 4] 0 1 4
Clyde 0 0 3
Partick Thistle 0 0 3
St Johnstone 0 0 3
Dunfermline Athletic 0 0 2
East Fife 0 0 2
St Mirren 0 0 2
Inverness Caledonian Thistle 0 0 1
Livingston 0 0 1
Raith Rovers 0 0 1
St Bernard's 0 0 1

scottish cup wins:

Club Wins Last win Runners-up Last final lost
Celtic 36 2013 18 2002
Rangers 33 2009 18 2016
Queen's Park 10 1893 2 1900
Heart of Midlothian 8 2012 6 1996
Aberdeen 7 1990 8 2000
Hibernian 3 2016 11 2013
Kilmarnock 3 1997 5 1960
Vale of Leven 3 1879 4 1890
Clyde 3 1958 3 1949
St Mirren 3 1987 3 1962
Dundee United 2 2010 8 2014
Motherwell 2 1991 5 2011
Third Lanark 2 1905 4 1936
Falkirk 2 1957 3 2015
Dunfermline Athletic 2 1968 3 2007
Renton 2 1888 3 1895
Dumbarton 1 1883 5 1897
Dundee 1 1910 4 2003
Airdrieonians (1878) 1 1924 3 1995
East Fife 1 1938 2 1950
Greenock Morton 1 1922 1 1948
Partick Thistle 1 1921 1 1930
St. Bernard's 1 1895
Inverness Caledonian Thistle 1 2015
St Johnstone 1 2014
Hamilton Academical 2 1935
Albion Rovers 1 1920
Cambuslang 1 1888
Clydesdale 1 1874
Gretna 1 2006
Queen of the South 1 2008
Raith Rovers 1 1913
Ross County 1 2010
Thornliebank 1 1880

the diddy cup:

Club Wins Last win Runners-up Last final lost
Rangers 27 2011 7 2009
Celtic 16 2016 15 2012
Aberdeen 6 2014 8 2016
Heart of Midlothian 4 1962 3 2013
Hibernian 3 2007 7 2016
Dundee 3 1973 3 1995
East Fife 3 1953
Dundee United 2 1980 5 2015
Kilmarnock 1 2012 5 2007
Partick Thistle 1 1971 3 1958
St Mirren 1 2013 2 2010
Motherwell 1 1950 2 2005
Raith Rovers 1 1994 1 1949
Ross County 1 2016
Livingston 1 2004
Dunfermline Athletic 3 2006
St Johnstone 2 1998
Inverness CT 1 2014
Ayr United 1 2002
Greenock Morton 1 1963
Third Lanark 1 1959
Falkirk 1

Mibbi I'm blinded by the sons league finishes of late. We'll agree they are the same size :spin:

Iv'e a feeling you wont like my opinion unless its ST Mirren are the greatest club in history  :lol:

They are not btw.

Like I said earlier, they have found their level. It be a shame on them though if they ended up third tier next season.

Don't worry Mazzie. That is not going to happen.

11 minutes ago, JasMc1973 said:

League: see rangers include a shared title in their stars

Club Winners Runners-up Third Last win
Rangers[note 3] 54 30 18 2010–11
Celtic 48 31 17 2016–17
Aberdeen 4 15 9 1984–85
Heart of Midlothian 4 14 18 1959–60
Hibernian 4 6 13 1951–52
Dumbarton[note 3] 2 0 0 1891–92
Motherwell 1 7 8 1931–32
Kilmarnock 1 4 3 1964–65
Dundee 1 4 1 1961–62