Night In Vienna? - Page 2 - Slovakia v Scotland - Tartan Army Message Board Jump to content

Night In Vienna?

slasher

• Replies 91

Was in Budapest and Vienna with the Mrs in August.
If you have the choice, go for Budapest. It is an excellent city, one of the best I have visited.

Vienna City centre is impressive but outwith the centre, it was very drab and quite run down. It is also a lot more expensive than Budapest.

Trains from both cities to Bratislava are very regular and cheap.

I am looking at booking flights to vienna does anyone know how far to the train station from the airport so we can get train to bratislava.

15-20 minutes on direct train to Center of Vienna IIRC then 45 minutes to Bratislava, but there is direct buses from the airport to Bratislava

8:30pm tonight on Channel 4 "travel Man: 48 hours in Vienna" for a little insight into Vienna.

Haha, I watched that. Didnt get much insight other than what a pair of cockwombles the two intrepid travellers were. Im sure Richard Ayoade thinks he's a funny guy in his own head!

Haha true.

Shame, as the one they did on Istanbul last year was actually quite good

I'm going to Vienna on the Sunday night. I arrive at 15:15 so toying with idea to stay in a new city I've never been to before or just make my way straight to Bratislava

Glasgow >>> Dublin 8:40 - 9:40 (Ryanair)

Dublin >>> Vienna 11:30 - 15:15 (Aer Lingus)

Aye we are doing a night in Vienna and then a wee cruise up the Danube on the Monday. We'll be sailing.....should be fun!