Playoffs - Page 9 - TA specific - Tartan Army Message Board Jump to content

Playoffs

albathebrave

8 minutes ago, ProudScot said:

Bang on it’s ridiculous really.

That said I’ll take it and hope we fluke through.

We won’t win that final though anyway. 

We’re not still in the tournament on merit, we’re still in the tournament due to a mix of a silly system that includes two undeserved places in the finals, and a really lucky draw, which put us in a three-team group with Albania and Israel.

That doesn’t sit well with me unfortunately, I’m all for teams/people earning things, not being handed then on a plate undeservedly!

3 minutes ago, dohadeer said:

We’re not still in the tournament on merit, we’re still in the tournament due to a mix of a silly system that includes two undeserved places in the finals, and a really lucky draw, which put us in a three-team group with Albania and Israel.

That doesn’t sit well with me unfortunately, I’m all for teams/people earning things, not being handed then on a plate undeservedly!

Everything you’ve said is true.

We are desperate though and so bad we can’t qualify even from relatively easy groups.

So I’ll happily take it if we do scrape into the tournament. 

Easy one first ; not a diddy pub side kazaktstan/sanmarino/cyprus/israeletc

complete perfomance would be a game weve actually controlled from start to finish against a non diddy side , played well, creating and converting chances,not getting arses ripped open,conceding stupid goals,cheaply surrendering possesion

i think back to ireland game at parkhead where it was a good result v a good team but was hard won very competitive game where they hit the bar so close game
am honestly struggling to think of a game since the ukraine one i mentioned

25 minutes ago, dohadeer said:

You do realise that we would be in the playoffs even if the Nations League was never invented? We are still in on merit. 

How does that sit with you?

21 minutes ago, ProudScot said:

Everything you’ve said is true.

We are desperate though and so bad we can’t qualify even from relatively easy groups.

So I’ll happily take it if we do scrape into the tournament. 

The downtrodden Charlies comin on wi' the doom & gloom comments, get yersels tae you know here, we're in to win, hard to call when & where to book but that's the challenge, stick or twist. Ah'm gonnae sit tight and maybe take a hit wi' flights but not missing a play-off final, 50 years watching the only country says so, one or two on here have their arses gone already. Man up young yins! 😘

10 minutes ago, Pocketrocketman1888 said:

Easy one first ; not a diddy pub side kazaktstan/sanmarino/cyprus/israeletc

complete perfomance would be a game weve actually controlled from start to finish against a non diddy side , played well, creating and converting chances,not getting arses ripped open,conceding stupid goals,cheaply surrendering possesion

i think back to ireland game at parkhead where it was a good result v a good team but was hard won very competitive game where they hit the bar so close game
am honestly struggling to think of a game since the ukraine one i mentioned

I don’t think there are many games where teams ‘control the game from start to finish’ in the manner you have suggested, apart from perhaps against the ‘diddy’ teams you have mentioned. 

Pretty unrealistic set of criteria you’ve put down there for matches against other international teams.

47 minutes ago, ProudScot said:

Bang on it’s ridiculous really.

That said I’ll take it and hope we fluke through.

We won’t win that final though anyway. 

It might be ridiculous if we hadn’t finished third in our group. We’d still be in the playoffs under the old system. 

1 minute ago, dohadeer said:

I don’t think there are many games where teams ‘control the game from start to finish’ in the manner you have suggested, apart from perhaps against the ‘diddy’ teams you have mentioned. 

Pretty unrealistic set of criteria you’ve put down there for matches against other international teams.

Dohadeer, like the stupid song, waste of space, bye bye 😩

1 minute ago, Texas Pete said:

It might be ridiculous if we hadn’t finished third in our group. We’d still be in the playoffs under the old system. 

9 minutes ago, Texas Pete said:

You do realise that we would be in the playoffs even if the Nations League was never invented? We are still in on merit. 

How does that sit with you?

How did you work out that we'd be in the playoffs without the Nations League's two sympathy places for League C and D?

1 minute ago, dohadeer said:

How did you work out that we'd be in the playoffs without the Nations League's two sympathy places for League C and D?

We would still be in the playoffs if the Nations League wasn’t invented because we finished third in our qualifying group. I mentioned that in one of the posts you quoted. That’s how the Euro 2016 playoff places were allocated so presumably they’d have done the same for Euro 2020 if they hadn’t used the Nations League. 

Ireland finished third in our group 4 years ago and won their playoff to qualify. 

Just now, Texas Pete said:

We would still be in the playoffs if the Nations League wasn’t invented because we finished third in our qualifying group. I mentioned that in one of the posts you quoted. That’s how the Euro 2016 playoff places were allocated so presumably they’d have done the same for Euro 2020 if they hadn’t used the Nations League. 

Ireland finished third in our group 4 years ago and won their playoff to qualify. 

How many teams go to the European Championship finals?

8 minutes ago, dohadeer said:

I'll take that as 24.

How many places are taken by the qualifying group winners and runners-up?

There wouldn’t have been 10 groups if there wasn’t a Nations League. There would likely have been 9 with 8 playoff spots available same as last time. 

In fairness, I haven’t looked to see if we were the worst third placed team or not. If we were then we wouldn’t have been in the playoffs but we likely would have been. 

In fact I can’t even remember if any third placed teams missed out on a playoff in the last European qualifiers, that may just have been the World Cup. My memory is not what it once was. 

Edited by Texas Pete

14 minutes ago, Texas Pete said:

There wouldn’t have been 10 groups if there wasn’t a Nations League. There would likely have been 9 with 8 playoff spots available same as last time. 

In fairness, I haven’t looked to see if we were the worst third placed team or not. If we were then we wouldn’t have been in the playoffs but we likely would have been. 

Firstly, how on Earth do you know what the structure would be without the Nations League?

It almost certainly wouldn’t be 9 groups, as there would be one group of 7, having to squeeze in 12 extra matches, and with an odd number of teams so not even able to play full rounds of matches. Unworkable, as there’s not enough international weekends. Also, the bottom team in Europe would be seeded on their own in pot 7, which would be a weird thing to do. Finally, you’d have three best third places going to the finals, and six remaining third places going into three playoffs.

I don’t know the structure without the Nations League either, but the most workable structure for 55 teams is the one they used, five groups of six and five groups of five. I’m not sure why the lack of Nations League would change that structure?

Yes, only the best 8 third places teams would be required in the playoffs, and as is fairly obvious from our dire campaign, three wins and five defeats from our matches against the rest of the top five in our group sees us with the ninth best record of third placed teams. Surprisingly we don’t have the worst record, but North Macedonia ended up with a point less than us in that regard.

Becoming a worrying pattern on this board, people posting things without bothering to fact check their claims first. I should be getting paid for the amount of fact checking I do on here.

Edited by dohadeer

Just now, dohadeer said:

Firstly, how on Earth do you know what the structure would be without the Nations League?

It almost certainly wouldn’t be 9 groups, as there would be one group of 7, having to squeeze in 12 extra matches, and with an odd number of teams so not even able to play full rounds of matches. Unworkable, as there’s not enough international weekends. Also, the bottom team in Europe would be seeded on their own in pot 7, which would be a weird thing to do. Finally, you’d have three best third places going to the finals, and six remaining third places going into three playoffs.

I don’t know the structure without the Nations League either, but the most workable structure for 55 teams is the one they used, five groups of six and five groups of five. I’m not sure why the lack of Nations League would change that structure?

Yes, only the best 8 third places teams would be required in the playoffs, and as is fairly obvious from our dire campaign, three wins and five defeats from our matches against the rest of the top five in our group sees us with the ninth best record of third placed teams. Surprisingly we don’t have the worst record, but Macedonia ended up with a point less than us in that regard.

Becoming a worrying pattern on this board, people posting things without bothering to fact check their claims first. I should be getting paid for the amount of fact checking I do on here.

I’m basing it on the previous European Championship qualifiers ffs. It would likely have been very similar to that. Obviously the extra 2-3 teams in the qualifiers would have changed things slightly and I didn’t take that into account but third place would’ve been more than likely enough for a playoff.

No need to be an arse about it. Now THAT is the worrying trend about this board. 

9 minutes ago, Texas Pete said:

I’m basing it on the previous European Championship qualifiers ffs. It would likely have been very similar to that. Obviously the extra 2-3 teams in the qualifiers would have changed things slightly and I didn’t take that into account but third place would’ve been more than likely enough for a playoff.

No need to be an arse about it. Now THAT is the worrying trend about this board. 

There were 53 teams in the last qualifying, France as hosts slipped in to one of the groups to play friendly matches, which made 54 teams, which is obviously a perfect 9 groups of 6.

There were 23 qualifying places up for grabs, which fits nicely into top 2, best third place and four playoffs between the rest of the third placed teams.

As soon as Kosovo join, making it 55, then obviously the most sensible structure is the five groups of six and five groups of five. Eight best third places would be needed in the playoffs. Nations League existing or not existing doesn't change that.

As I said, our dire record of three wins from eight matches wouldn't get us into the playoffs. Pointing out your mistake doesn't make me an 'arse.' Would you rather I left the incorrect information out there, unchallenged? Surely you'd rather I corrected you?

Edited by dohadeer

8 minutes ago, Texas Pete said:

There were 53 teams in the last qualifying, France as hosts slipped in to one of the groups to play friendly matches, which made 54 teams, which is obviously a perfect 9 groups of 6.

There were 23 qualifying places up for grabs, which fits nicely into top 2, best third place and four playoffs between the rest of the third placed teams.

As soon as Kosovo join, making it 55, then obviously the most sensible structure is the five groups of six and five groups of five. Eight best third places would be needed in the playoffs. Nations League existing or not existing doesn't change that.

As I said, our dire record of three wins from eight matches wouldn't get us into the playoffs. Pointing out your mistake doesn't make me an 'arse.' Would you rather I left the incorrect information out there, unchallenged? Surely you'd rather I corrected you?

I'm not being an arse about anything. If people are going to go to all the trouble of write things, and parade them as facts, I think it's just a waste of time. Time to stop tricking people.

2 minutes ago, dohadeer said:

There were 53 teams in the last qualifying, France as hosts slipped in to one of the groups to play friendly matches, which made 54 teams, which is obviously a perfect 9 groups of 6.

Yes, you are quite correct. What I should’ve stated was we would have been in the playoffs under the previous system. It was a genuine mistake on my part

Correcting me wasn’t why I called you an arse. I did it because you were acting all superior by claiming you’re the fact checker in chief and also asking questions to try and prove me wrong instead of just stating your opinion. 

6 minutes ago, DannyOz said:

There were 53 teams in the last qualifying, France as hosts slipped in to one of the groups to play friendly matches, which made 54 teams, which is obviously a perfect 9 groups of 6.

I'm not being an arse about anything. If people are going to go to all the trouble of write things, and parade them as facts, I think it's just a waste of time. Time to stop tricking people.

How many profiles have you got? I smell a Chripper. 

4 minutes ago, DannyOz said:

We're talking football here, not all this scientific shite, if you think we don't deserve to be at Euro 2020, f*ck off and don't go near the semis at Hampden or any final. Stand up the real supporters ….

1 minute ago, Texas Pete said:

Yes, you are quite correct. What I should’ve stated was we would have been in the playoffs under the previous system. It was a genuine mistake on my part

Correcting me wasn’t why I called you an arse. I did it because you were acting all superior by claiming you’re the fact checker in chief and also asking questions to try and prove me wrong instead of just stating your opinion. 

That doesn't make sense though, 'would have been in the playoffs under the previous system.'

The groups would have been totally different, because there were 9 groups rather than 8. So the 9 groups would be slightly trickier on average. We wouldn't be in the group with the six teams we were, because the seedings would be all different. So, now you're trying to say if Kosovo hadn't joined UEFA, we'd be in the playoffs?! Who knows what draw we'd have got, let alone where we'd have finished in our group, impossible to say.

I think you maybe want to stop trying to wriggle out of this hole, and say 'sorry, I thought we would have been in the playoffs, if they were based on the qualifying groups, but I made a mistake, we wouldn't have been in the playoffs.' No shame in making a mistake and apologising, the shame is in being unable to admit that!