How To Convince A Lefty Unionist - Anything Goes - Other topics not covered elsewhere - Tartan Army Message Board Jump to content

How To Convince A Lefty Unionist

A guy at my work (2 weans) who I've always had down as a total No as he's an 'internationalist' said to me today he's a 4 ( on the where are you from No 1 to yes 10 scale). I was amazed. I asked him why and he said the better together campaign was awful.I asked him if he'd heard of Bella, Nationalcollective, things like that and he's very amiable to the transformative left. But Naw. Not read a single thing.

He hates Salmond and and Sturgeon, wouldn't trust them at all.His main worry in his mind is, - it's going to cost a lot to set up a new set of institutions that an independent country would need.

BUT, he asked me to send him stuff. Websites, blogs, etc. I've not been keeping enough of a check of 'info for the undecideds' so if anyone has a group of links to pass on that would be snice. I've got a list of wings, bella, weegingerdug (sniff), derekbateman etc. but I think he'll see them as nationalists sites and that's bad. He IS for turning.

Bear in mind, the only way his mind is going to be swung is by the Left (UK wide) benefiting. Any links appreciated.

I know two "internationalists" and it's very difficult to convince them to vote YES, even though it probably conforms to their views fundamentally.

They see borders as a bad thing, which to an extent they probably are.

Try and push forward Scotland's membership of the EU (rUK's referendum on leaving? more borders/separation?) and UN as engagement/solidarity in wider world issues.

As much as I find it patronising, there is also the issue of how we'll show the wider UK how to bring about a more socialist state (true NHS, free higher education, wealth distribution?).

The other thing may be to bring up the point that drawing a border between Scotland and Ni/Wales/England is no different to that of drawing borders with Holland/Azerbaijan/Venezuela etc, which already exist. Drawing another border is no different than what we already have.

If we have solidarity between the workers in the British Isles, then surely we can have solidarity in the wider world.

Make the point that British nationalism, which NO is pedalling to an extent, is no different from any other type of nationalism.

What we're voting for is democracy, not nationalism!

The only link I can provide is the socialist worker - http://socialistworker.co.uk/

Taking on dogma like "internationalism" was better done by men born 150 years ago, with better beards than I have.

For internationalists, what about the Green angle?

The Greens are internationalists concerned not just with 'these islands' but the whole planet. This includes social justice, etc, at a global scale. Not sure what all their policies are but often to the left of labour.

The Greens are an international movement, and the Scottish greens have comrades in the rest of the UK who will remain comrades after independence.

Remember in that debate, Patrick Harvie said clearly "I am not a nationalist".

In my, admittedly limited, experience internationalists have tended to be closet British nationalists or pretentious fuds. Or both.

If this guy is genuine ask him if he would rather be part of the most insular, xenophobic country in Europe, (soon to be out of Europe), or join in and help make a new, progressive, outward-looking Scotland.

Get him to look up National Collective and RIC.

A guy at my work (2 weans) who I've always had down as a total No as he's an 'internationalist' said to me today he's a 4 ( on the where are you from No 1 to yes 10 scale). I was amazed. I asked him why and he said the better together campaign was awful.I asked him if he'd heard of Bella, Nationalcollective, things like that and he's very amiable to the transformative left. But Naw. Not read a single thing.

He hates Salmond and and Sturgeon, wouldn't trust them at all.His main worry in his mind is, - it's going to cost a lot to set up a new set of institutions that an independent country would need.

BUT, he asked me to send him stuff. Websites, blogs, etc. I've not been keeping enough of a check of 'info for the undecideds' so if anyone has a group of links to pass on that would be snice. I've got a list of wings, bella, weegingerdug (sniff), derekbateman etc. but I think he'll see them as nationalists sites and that's bad. He IS for turning.

Bear in mind, the only way his mind is going to be swung is by the Left (UK wide) benefiting. Any links appreciated.

Get him to google Labour for Independence, he needs to hear from like minded individuals not Labour politicians who would sell their own people down the drain for a dip in the London gravy train.

The estimated start up cost are what £200 million? Even if you doubled that it's easily negated by taking out our share of trident, the 3 billion ( again you can mibbe double that cost) cost of westminsters refurbishment, our share of the hs2 rail link, our share of propping up the House of Lords etc.... How lefty is he that he doesn't instantly want to scrap trident and the House of Lords before worrying about start up costs?

In my view, a No vote passively endorses what the ConDems are doing. There is no way the rest of the UK can benefit from that. On the other hand, if we vote Yes it is possible that people elsewhere in the UK, including those feeling the strain of Westminster's boot, will think 'good for them' and start asking questions of their own. The UK establishment badly needs a shake-up if true parity for ordinary people is to be achieved.

Billy Bragg certainly believes that a Yes vote this coming Thursday might give the English left jolt: http://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2014/apr/23/scotland-vote-yes-set-english-free-independence-devolution

As regards start-up costs, Neilly is right. A lot of state apparatus is in place already and others can be easily negotiated. The only slightly tricky things I can think of off the top of my head are the armed forces and foreign consulates (I am pretty sure the Wee Blue Book covers all that though).

I do wonder, though, if your pal really is an internationalist then why is only concerned about the UK? After all, socialism knows no borders. By the same token, I can't think of a genuine radical left-winger who has argued against his own country's independence; think Connolly and MacLean. And as someone once famously asked Alistair Darling recently, if we really would be better together by voting No, then why aren't we better together already?

Thanks folks for all your replies, I've sent him an email with all the decent links.

I do wonder, though, if your pal really is an internationalist then why is only concerned about the UK? After all, socialism knows no borders.

Scotlad, I agree. There's something quite acerbic about self proclaimed 'internationalists' that when they hear the word 'nationalism' they react instinctively against it, without looking at what's actually going on. There's a natural reaction against it. No matter how clever they are, they have constructed a bubble around themselves to exclude emotional feelings, to think of passion as just rambling rhetoric. There is a valid point to that but on both sides of the debate these people exist.

To me this head and heart argument is junk. If you can't vote with your head, vote with your heart. Every time. Your head will soon catch up and justify the heart. ;)