Pmq's Cancelled, Cameron, Clegg And Milliband All Heading To Scotland Tomorrow - Page 3 - Anything Goes - Other topics not covered elsewhere - Tartan Army Message Board Jump to content

Pmq's Cancelled, Cameron, Clegg And Milliband All Heading To Scotland Tomorrow

My mate is a firm no now after that. Trying to highlight it, also the SFE meeting at Baillie Gifford suggested 140k job losses in the Financial sector this morning i'm informed.

How many jobs went either Edinburgh and/or London during the crash ? And is that 140,000 just in Scotland (surely not) ?

• Replies 82

My mate is a firm no now after that. Trying to highlight it, also the SFE meeting at Baillie Gifford suggested 140k job losses in the Financial sector this morning i'm informed.

When did we start trusting anything that these bloody bankers have to say? It's scaremongering, they are all in it together, Credit Suisse are not impartial, none of them are. They know in a free Scotland they wont get their big fat bonuses, but they will stay where there is money to be made, and we will be richer than the UK. Buy your mate a beer and tell him to stop believing everything the establishment tells him, to strap a pair on, and be a real Scot!!!!

Well he's(my mate) in the book of Scotlands top most influential people in finance and he was a yes supporter, but basically came out of loads of meetings today and saying it was a no-go. I doubt buying him a beer and telling him to be a real scot would have much use.

I suppose if someone said you were going to lose your job then that would make you upset. My cousin runs an agricultural repair business right on the border. There is a chance he could lose trade in the short term (although I doubt it). He was a No, for purely that reason, but he now knows all the positive things of independence far outweigh that, so now he's a Yes.

I assume your mate works in Edinburgh. Every city that becomes a capital creates many new jobs in all sectors, including finance.

Fuxake phart. Any chance you can take a break from posting for the next week or so? :P

why? I suspect it's being exaggerated , for example BP and Wood Group have invested in shale fracking and they need the UK to stay together as they've bribed the UK so they can Shale oil it up, the power is not a devolved one. The Weir group are probably ran by the security services or have close ties. With Lord George Robertson on the board and they were illegally dealing with Saddam Hussein during the oil for food programme, having illegal monies taken back by the high court. Standard lifes board is replete with establishment or security service type figures.

No one else has really came out. They can say what they want in meetings to panic folk, it's not in the press yet either so it isn't really on record and will have been couched with enough maybe;s to leave wiggle room.

Jesus Christ sir calm doon :wink2:

p.s. i'm still voting yes

also i know folk dont believe in my behavioural things, but here's a good one for you guys.

Referendum: Study finds those with more info are more likely to vote yes
Research finds that when undecided voters are presented with balanced arguments, support for independence increases

No-Thanks-and-Yes-signs-011.jpg

http://www.theguardian.com/politics/2014/sep/07/scottish-independence-referendum-research-more-information-likely-vote-yes

I suppose if someone said you were going to lose your job then that would make you upset. My cousin runs an agricultural repair business right on the border. There is a chance he could lose trade in the short term (although I doubt it). He was a No, for purely that reason, but he now knows all the positive things of independence far outweigh that, so now he's a Yes.

I assume your mate works in Edinburgh. Every city that becomes a capital creates many new jobs in all sectors, including finance.

Yeah his whole business depends on the financial sector, he's already stated if this wasn't going to hit him he would be voting yes, but has a young family etc.

Hard to blame him he;s voting no for the reasons a lot of folk are voting yes.

How many jobs went either Edinburgh and/or London during the crash ? And is that 140,000 just in Scotland (surely not) ?

32,000 estate agent jobs went in the UK i know that

over a million i would say were lost in crash in total jobs, some figures i see have it as high as 1.3 million. over the UK, i'm going to play world of warcraft soon so i dont have time to check the break downs at the moment.

According to the Treasury's own documentation, 80,000 are directly employed in financial services in Scotland, with 100,000 indirectly employed.

https://www.gov.uk/government/uploads/system/uploads/attachment_data/file/200491/scotland_analysis_financial_services_and_banking_200513.pdf

The financial services sector remains one of the most important industries in Scotland and the rest of the UK. Financial services contributed £8.8 billion to the Scottish economy in 2010 – more than eight per cent of Scottish onshore economic activity.
The sector directly employs 85,000 people in Scotland and a further 100,000 indirectly – around seven per cent of total Scottish employment.
The UK is widely recognised as a global leader in financial services. Scotland’s vibrant financial sector is an important contributor to this strong UK position, and also benefits from its global reputation.
Edited by Auld_Reekie

According to the Treasury's own documentation, 80,000 are directly employed in financial services in Scotland, with 100,000 indirectly employed.

https://www.gov.uk/government/uploads/system/uploads/attachment_data/file/200491/scotland_analysis_financial_services_and_banking_200513.pdf

So we're all going to lose our jobs then? Better tell my team at work tomorrow.

Companies are going nowhere - it's ridiculous. Some of these guys said the same during the devolution debate and are still here. The costs of relocation, creating new premises, hiring new staff, maintaining existing contacts is not done on the basis of what MIGHT happen after independence. Firms don't like change but deal with it when it happens,

Sounds like there will be no financial services sector at all in an independent Scotland. Nothing. Nada. Zilch. That's a pretty hefty logistics operation to carry that off. Impressive. ;)

Yeah hence my skepticism, there is also a huge core of highly specialised skills in scotland as well, thousands of folk you can't replace without years of training etc

So all these 140k jobs go to London where premises plentiful and affordable, wages are cheaper , houses more affordable etc.. utter pish.

NB : not shooting the messenger Phart.

i know mate, i don't believe it myself, just my mate on facebook was saying it. He was pretty sure yes vote then all this stuff broke and it turned him. anyway have to go almost late for a raid on world of warcraft

So William Hague outlines that the "new powers" are a load of pish and purely speculation.

From Hansard (the document of the Houses of Parliament)

Mr Christopher Chope (Christchurch) (Con):

Since 2012, my right hon. Friend and I have been supporting the policy of the Government not to offer so-called devo-max as a consolation prize in the event of a no vote in the Scottish referendum. If this is no longer the policy of the Government, when and why did it change, and what opportunity has there been for this House to express its view?

Mr Hague:

It has been the policy of the Government for some time to be open to further devolutionI gave examples of what we have done in Wales, for instance, during the lifetime of this Government. The statements by the party leaders made on this in the last few days are statements by party leaders in a campaignnot a statement of Government policy today, but a statement of commitment from the three main political parties, akin to statements by party leaders in a general election campaign of what they intend to do afterwards. It is on that basis that they have made those statements.

Have Auntie Beeb reported that?