Ally Bongo Posted August 5, 2018 Share Posted August 5, 2018 (edited) Plane crash in Switzerland leaves 20 dead https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-europe-45076060 As Where Eagles Dare is one of my all time favourite movies my senses piqued when i heard it was a JU-52 and yes i believe it is the same plane used in the making of the film in 1968 - nobody has picked up on this yet ! I know this wont interest anyone but i thought i would share it Edited August 5, 2018 by Ally Bongo Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
dan cake Posted August 5, 2018 Share Posted August 5, 2018 Richard Burton was only in his early 40s when the film was made, not a good advert for smoking and drinking Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
bonzo Posted August 5, 2018 Share Posted August 5, 2018 I used to work in Hamburg and there was a JU52 that did tours over the city. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ally Bongo Posted August 5, 2018 Author Share Posted August 5, 2018 I remember reading about them as a wee boy - possibly in The Warlord (Iron Annie) - and learned that they were notoriously difficult planes to not so much fly but to manage They had little idiosyncrasies from other planes and you needed to be well used to flying them So the fact that some folk wanted to have a whirl in an 85 year old plane is one thing but flying over the Swiss mountains with one with that reputation is another Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ally Bongo Posted August 5, 2018 Author Share Posted August 5, 2018 The Wikipedia page for Where Eagles Dare has been updated today presumably after reading the TAMB Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
bonzo Posted August 5, 2018 Share Posted August 5, 2018 Surprised naebody has posted this. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toepoke Posted August 5, 2018 Share Posted August 5, 2018 Classic plane but I wouldn't go up in one if you paid me. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
giblet Posted August 5, 2018 Share Posted August 5, 2018 Always confuse this film with the eagle has landed. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ally Bongo Posted August 5, 2018 Author Share Posted August 5, 2018 11 minutes ago, giblet said: Always confuse this film with the eagle has landed. Philistine Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Kimba Posted August 6, 2018 Share Posted August 6, 2018 13 hours ago, Ally Bongo said: Plane crash in Switzerland leaves 20 dead https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/world-europe-45076060 As Where Eagles Dare is one of my all time favourite movies my senses piqued when i heard it was a JU-52 and yes i believe it is the same plane used in the making of the film in 1968 - nobody has picked up on this yet ! I know this wont interest anyone but i thought i would share it "Of the 20 people on the flight, 11 were men and nine were women, police spokeswoman Anita Senti said at a news conference." Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Marky Posted August 14, 2018 Share Posted August 14, 2018 'Twas a fine film indeed. Always hated yon big German wi the blond hair who tried to chat up the tidy burd, before sussing her oot coz she didnae ken where the toon hall was in Düsseldorf. Schoolgirl error on her part. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ally Bongo Posted August 14, 2018 Author Share Posted August 14, 2018 15 minutes ago, Marky said: 'Twas a fine film indeed. Always hated yon big German wi the blond hair who tried to chat up the tidy burd, before sussing her oot coz she didnae ken where the toon hall was in Düsseldorf. Schoolgirl error on her part. Derren Nesbitt - born in London Was great at playing baddies in the 60s and 70s and still alive Some interviews with him on Youtube where he discusses the film and his associations with Burton, Eastwood and Mary Ure Mary Ure was born in Glasgow, married John Osborne then Robert Shaw Took an overdose and killed herself in 1975 at the age of 42 I used to prefer Ingrid Pitt of the two girls in the film but now i prefer her - she really was lovely Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Marky Posted August 14, 2018 Share Posted August 14, 2018 4 minutes ago, Ally Bongo said: Derren Nesbitt - born in London Was great at playing baddies in the 60s and 70s and still alive Some interviews with him on Youtube where he discusses the film and his associations with Burton, Eastwood and Mary Ure Mary Ure was born in Glasgow, married John Osborne then Robert Shaw Took an overdose and killed herself in 1975 at the age of 42 I used to prefer Ingrid Pitt of the two girls in the film but now i prefer her - she really was lovely That’s the chap. Horrible big fecker. Aye both girls in the film were very tidy. Ingrid Pitt in Countess Dracula tho. 😍 Bloody nice for a bloodsucking demon of the night. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Marky Posted August 14, 2018 Share Posted August 14, 2018 17 minutes ago, Ally Bongo said: Derren Nesbitt - born in London Was great at playing baddies in the 60s and 70s and still alive Some interviews with him on Youtube where he discusses the film and his associations with Burton, Eastwood and Mary Ure Mary Ure was born in Glasgow, married John Osborne then Robert Shaw Took an overdose and killed herself in 1975 at the age of 42 I used to prefer Ingrid Pitt of the two girls in the film but now i prefer her - she really was lovely I reckon that’s the youngest I’ve ever seen Robert Shaw in that picture above. He’s one of those actors who always seemed to look old to me. Reckon the first film I ever saw him in was the Sting and he still looked quite old in that. He couldn’t have lasted much longer than Mary then? Say he definitely died in the 70s. He was class in Jaws too. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ally Bongo Posted August 14, 2018 Author Share Posted August 14, 2018 (edited) 14 minutes ago, Marky said: I reckon that’s the youngest I’ve ever seen Robert Shaw in that picture above. He’s one of those actors who always seemed to look old to me. Reckon the first film I ever saw him in was the Sting and he still looked quite old in that. He couldn’t have lasted much longer than Mary then? Say he definitely died in the 70s. He was class in Jaws too. Yep - he passed in 1978 only 51 He suffered from alcoholism and so did Mary Ure - presumably after she married him There was a lot of make up in his roles (The Sting and Jaws) but there is a remarkable change from 71-78 More to do with letting himself go and the effects of the booze This is 71 His make up for Jaws in 1975 Force 10 from Navarone 1978 Looks like he had to resort to a hairpiece Edited August 14, 2018 by Ally Bongo Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Marky Posted August 14, 2018 Share Posted August 14, 2018 (edited) 10 minutes ago, Ally Bongo said: Yep - he passed in 1978 only 51 He suffered from alcoholism and so did Mary Ure - presumably after she married him There was a lot of make up in his roles (The Sting and Jaws) but there is a remarkable change from 71-78 More to do with letting himself go and the effects of the booze This is 71 His make up for Jaws in 1975 Force 10 from Navarone 1978 Looks like he had to resort to a hairpiece That doesn’t look like Quint at all. He was much more grey than that in the actual film. Edited August 14, 2018 by Marky Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ally Bongo Posted August 14, 2018 Author Share Posted August 14, 2018 dye Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Marky Posted August 14, 2018 Share Posted August 14, 2018 9 minutes ago, Ally Bongo said: dye Aye dye. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toepoke Posted August 15, 2018 Share Posted August 15, 2018 1 hour ago, Marky said: I reckon that’s the youngest I’ve ever seen Robert Shaw in that picture above. He’s one of those actors who always seemed to look old to me. Reckon the first film I ever saw him in was the Sting and he still looked quite old in that. He's in one of the early Bond's with bleached blonde hair. Mind the scene with him fighting oor Tam on a train. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Marky Posted August 15, 2018 Share Posted August 15, 2018 21 hours ago, Toepoke said: He's in one of the early Bond's with bleached blonde hair. Mind the scene with him fighting oor Tam on a train. Thought ah was well up on ma Bond films, but ah don't remember Boaby Shaw huvin a square go wi big Tam. Whit film? Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Ally Bongo Posted August 15, 2018 Author Share Posted August 15, 2018 (edited) From Russia with Love Edited August 15, 2018 by Ally Bongo Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Duncan Blackheart Posted August 16, 2018 Share Posted August 16, 2018 I’ve been up that cable car. The jump is fecking impossible. Also, the top bit is not like in the film, and the “Schloß Adler” is a wee drive away over the border into Austria. However, there is a wee walk and a decent bar at the top selling Toerring Bier. Beautiful neck of the woods. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Duncan Blackheart Posted August 16, 2018 Share Posted August 16, 2018 Actually, the cable car may also be in Austria, just near the border. Unsurprisingly I can’t remember after drinking at altitude! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
bonzo Posted August 16, 2018 Share Posted August 16, 2018 On 8/15/2018 at 11:19 PM, Ally Bongo said: From Russia with Love Jist punch him in the baws ffs. Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...
Toepoke Posted August 17, 2018 Share Posted August 17, 2018 Had a look at Robert Shaw's wiki page, here he is on tv in the 50s... Didn't realise he went to school in the Orkneys! Quote Link to comment Share on other sites More sharing options...