Dentist - Page 2 - Anything Goes - Other topics not covered elsewhere - Tartan Army Message Board Jump to content

I got my front 2 booted out years ago. I don't know what the hell the guy did -they're false, but permanent (if that makes sense).

you mean a bridge then ? or did you get like titanium implants ?

some folk actually get given gold implants by NHS but dont get told this

you mean a bridge then ? or did you get like titanium implants ?

some folk actually get given gold implants by NHS but dont get told this

They must be implants. The pain and agony I was going through, I never took on-board fit he was saying. Actually, a cracking job. Never get into fights in Glasgow, Euan!!

Implants are definitely not done on the NHS and will cost a minimum 1500 but likely more.

Gold crowns are done on the NHS but dentists find themselves in an awkward position and therefore don't offer them. A dentist is paid around £110 under the NHS to provide a gold crown but the dental labs that make them typically charge £85+ to make them, essentially meaning after a dentist pays for materials etc they are running close to break even or even at a loss to provide them.

Edited by dezmondo

From another thread but between this and one below I snorted tea then few minutes later ginger beer out my nose.

(think only one of you were serious though!)

Classic Flora.

10/10 for holding back, especially for such a grump.

Do you have one of those pub multi drinks dispensers for a nose?

You are correct my question was serious. Flora was obviously at it.

The title of that other thread was "Minutes silence......". It didn't specify how many "minutes". Is it a minute for every person? A minute for every British person? A minute for every Scottish person? Or just a minute for each of them that you actually knew.

If it is just a minute total, then that is barely 2 seconds per person - hardly worth bothering about. That would be a wee bit like giving a waitress a 5p tip. But I suppose it's the thought that counts.

Do you have one of those pub multi drinks dispensers for a nose?

You are correct my question was serious. Flora was obviously at it.

The title of that other thread was "Minutes silence......". It didn't specify how many "minutes". Is it a minute for every person? A minute for every British person? A minute for every Scottish person? Or just a minute for each of them that you actually knew.

If it is just a minute total, then that is barely 2 seconds per person - hardly worth bothering about. That would be a wee bit like giving a waitress a 5p tip. But I suppose it's the thought that counts.

I used to work in a casino and some ladies thought waving 2 pence pieces would entice us to serve them. Didn't matter how rude we were and how much time we made them wait, next night there they were, waving those fecking 2p pieces!

I would say do what you feel like doing. If I'm alone at the time I'll think of everyone fu cked over by governments and behind the scenes men the whole world over. If I'm in company who are observing it, then I too will observe it and think same thoughts. But that's another thread. How's yir teeth?

I got my front 2 booted out years ago. I don't know what the hell the guy did -they're false, but permanent (if that makes sense).

Yeah I have one of those. Was awake for the surgery getting the bit of metal put in. Never again was horrible.

And not cheap either.

That's the one. They stick a rod of metal up your gum. Torture isn't even close to describing it.

Aye horrific feeling when they were ripping the gum to pull the bone out. My face was swolen to for about a week after too. And because my mouth is tiny I need to ggo back every so often and get the gluey stuff redone as I keep loosening the ####er. Still better than having a denture though.

Is that private or NHS though? I'm still with the NHS (been with the same dental practice from about 8 years of age) and recently had the first filling in years which was less than £20. It's shite though compared to my old fillings - feels like it's been packed full with concrete.

NHS. The fillings are the white kind that aren't noticeable.

Having never had fillings before I wasn't sure if that was reasonable or not. My dentist recently took over the practice and I reckon he's a wee bit sleekit - every time I have a check up, which is free, I need to have a scale and polish, which isn't. Funny that.

NHS. The fillings are the white kind that aren't noticeable.

Having never had fillings before I wasn't sure if that was reasonable or not. My dentist recently took over the practice and I reckon he's a wee bit sleekit - every time I have a check up, which is free, I need to have a scale and polish, which isn't. Funny that.

My dental practice has a hygienist (possibly more than one) and I get a scale and polish every three months (it was bi-monthly for a spell) - it has now gone up to 40 quid a pop (having neglected my Hampsteads a bit in my youth I don't actually mind paying this - I'd hate to have a set of wallies).

They'd end up in your Guinness.