Current Position - Page 2 - TA specific - Tartan Army Message Board Jump to content

Current Position

jock strap

I have no idea who the guy is but that was a classy finish for their goal on Friday. If you have somebody up front with that level of skill you are always in with a chance. Sure, you can argue that he should have been closed down quicker and not allowed so much time but we have nobody with that level of ability. It is now our biggest weakness. I wonder if he has got a wee brother and a Scottish granny?

Ireland will beat Georgia comfortably. Ireland's style of play under o'Neil and Trappatoni before him churns out victories home and away against teams lower ranked than them. Loads of shots, loads of crosses, loads of set-plays - not pretty but seems to do the business against lower ranked teams.

Ireland don't lose many games at home but they do draw quite a few that they would normally expect to win. Including against us, I suppose.

If that's the case, if Ireland lose v Germany and away to Poland, we would only need a draw v Poland or Germany to finish 3rd, providing of course we beat Gibraltar!

Aye, to get a play off spot, we need to get 1 more point than Ireland in the last 3 games. Ireland have two big advantages though.

1. They already have that one point more than us.
  2. They play Germany after we do, and they play Poland after we do, so they will know exactly what they need to do to stay ahead of us. Doesn't they will manage to do it though.

Aye, to get a play off spot, we need to get 1 more point than Ireland in the last 3 games. Ireland have two big advantages though.

• They already have that one point more than us.
  • They play Germany after we do, and they play Poland after we do, so they will know exactly what they need to do to stay ahead of us. Doesn't they will manage to do it though.
Tomorrow is a huge game for Ireland as they will know failure to win will mean they would need to beat one of Germany or Poland given they know we will beat Gibraltar.

Personally I think they will win tomorrow but only get a maximum of 1 more point in the other games meaning 2 wins or 2 draws and one win would be enough for us to get 3rd. It would be nice if for once someone did us a favor and made it a bit easier ie Georgia drawing with them (unlikely) or both Germany and Poland beating them (decent chance). The latter would mean we only require a draw in one of the two games against Germany/Poland to get 3rd.

Edited by Hendricks

All this who needs what and this will happen so we should be fine but didna win in Georgia and Broony is to blame cos Strachan got it wrong but Fletcher canna score cos Hutton canna cross but we did draw in Poland but they lost in Germany so Ireland winna qualify as they only scored six which is five more than Gibraltar scored against us cos Hansen retired but Gemmil scored in Argentina and Ferguson gave us the finger as Johnstone rowed the boat whilst Baxter did keepy ups and Jordan handled the baw but Bale is ugly is confusing the life oot me !

Edited by jock strap

Looking for Ireland to mess up need at least a draw tonight or its curtains just wished we had a go on Friday night off night was had just cant do that at international level :blush:

As long as Ireland don't beat Germany in Dublin we would be ahead of them (at least on head to head if they get a point from Germany), then we would be in play off by beating Poland and Gibraltar.

All this who needs what and this will happen so we should be fine but didna win in Georgia and Broony is to blame cos Strachan got it wrong but Fletcher canna score cos Hutton canna cross but we did draw in Poland but they lost in Germany so Ireland winna qualify as they only scored six which is five more than Gibraltar scored against us cos Hansen retired but Gemmil scored in Argentina and Ferguson gave us the finger as Johnstone rowed the boat whilst Baxter did keepy ups and Jordan handled the baw but Bale is ugly is confusing the life oot me !

Have you tried switching yourself aff and switching yourself on again?