Celtic v Monchengladbach - Football related - Discussion of non TA football - Tartan Army Message Board Jump to content

Celtic v Monchengladbach

19 minutes ago, sbcmfc said:

Panning a camera round the Celtic support pre-kick off was a bit of a minefield for the camera man.

A scarf about "the Huns" and a message from the green brigade which I'm presuming has some undertone to it.

Any 'dummies' hanging from the tier above, or are they all standing below in the 'safe whinging section?'

Edited by Redz

Aaaaaah well! You need to bring your best clobber to the top table but we left ours in the changing room. Second best all over the pitch, looks like oor teas oot for this campaign. Just need to try and enjoy the rest of it and have a wee go.

1 hour ago, Rossy said:

If Tierney could actually defend, he might be as half as good as Celtic fans think he is. 

Being targeted by the Germans as the weak link at the moment.

He's too good for Aberdeen. Don't gies yer pish ya big bullying bassa.

He's 19 years old and one of Scotland's biggest prospects. 

You're an old ham shanker with a message board to spend your life on and an 80's Aberdeen scarf to spunk into when you think of Willie Miller. 

5 minutes ago, OLAS said:

You're an old ham shanker with a message board to spend your life on and an 80's Aberdeen scarf to spunk into when you think of Willie Miller. 

:lol::lol::lol:

4 hours ago, OLAS said:

The baton has been passed to Rossy! :lol:

8 hours ago, OLAS said:

9 hours ago, OLAS said:

?

I only watched the first half, but to be fair to Rossy, the Germans did seem to be targeting Tierney, or at least the left hand side of Celtic's defence. Hartson singled out Sviatchenko rather than Tierney for criticism at H-T rather than Tierney though. Gladbach rather stole Celtic's thunder by pressing even more than his teams set out to do (which worked so well against Man City who seemed to get caught by surprise by that) and Celtic's players just couldn't deal with it. 

Broon again shown up.

The Germans had some quality players and if they played in our league would win it by a street. The difference in quality is stark compared to what we face at home and we are nowhere near that quality.

Still it's pleasing to see certain folk on this board sat with the chopper in hand on CL nights praying for a Celtic defeat. 

9 hours ago, OLAS said:

:lol::lol::spin:

19 minutes ago, macy37 said:

Broon again shown up.

The Germans had some quality players and if they played in our league would win it by a street. The difference in quality is stark compared to what we face at home and we are nowhere near that quality.

Still it's pleasing to see certain folk on this board sat with the chopper in hand on CL nights praying for a Celtic defeat. 

The majority of teams playing in the CL have to step up there performance's from there domestic league , unfortunately for Celtic the step up from the domestic league is to big , putting aside the performance against Man City , Celtic have been totally played off the park in the other two games.

On sunday Celtic will most probably put 4 or 5 past the blue noses and confirm the gulf in class between Scotland and the rest of Europe !! 

2 minutes ago, wellyman said:

The majority of teams playing in the CL have to step up there performance's from there domestic league , unfortunately for Celtic the step up from the domestic league is to big , putting aside the performance against Man City , Celtic have been totally played off the park in the other two games.

On sunday Celtic will most probably put 4 or 5 past the blue noses and confirm the gulf in class between Scotland and the rest of Europe !! 

100% agree. Not sure about the last bit however but I still think we will win. I was impressed by the Germans but having attended a fair few Bundasliga matches I am aware of the quality of football over there. They'll give city a decent game over there. Their 17/10 price was too inviting for me to ignore fortunately so every cloud has a silver lining!

11 minutes ago, Mox said:

Best team won. As for Tierney he again done very well considering Sinclairs back tracking was non existent. 

Agree, I do not get all these formations, go with a basic 4-4-2 , allows the fullbacks to work with the midfielder in front of them and thus defend together and attack together.  Sinclair left Tierney out to dry in the same way Snodgrass did for Scotland earlier in the month.

I think a lot of folk were lured into thinking this was the easy game.

Bayern Munich don't dominate German football because the other teams are rubbish with a fraction of their budget. They are World Class (although they do have more money too).